We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointment Plus” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Rosemary House Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pittsboro
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rosemary House Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Rosemary House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
76 West Street, Pittsboro, NC 27312   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Pittsboro B&B and Inns
vienna, virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Disappointment Plus”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2009

We traveled extensively during a recent 2-week period, staying at several Bed & Breakfasts. This was by far the most overpriced and least pleasing. Although both staff members that we met were extremely pleasant, there was a decided lack in accommodating travelers needs...i.e. no small glasses to be had. Breakfast was a bit of a disaster, too. Waffles were like lead and when we asked for a bit of toast it was served burnt. While the accommodations were adequate, the amenities were not. For example, there was wireless but no place to put the computer.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    11
    9
    4
    0
See reviews for
11
45
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, NC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2009

A great gathering place for graduation families.....It was very nice to have all the family under one roof and to relax in the sitting room in the evening - comfortable beds, however the house had gurgling problems with the plumbing in the night -some of the rooms are quite nicely decorated, larger rooms facing front could really do with re decorating although their bathrooms had been updated.
Cobwebs in bedrooms - breakfast which happened to be Mother's Day was awful.....we were led to believe we would have eggs benedict, quiche etc (which they advertise as their normal breakfast not just for Mother's Day!) - Just wish they could have made more of an effort as it was Mother's Day - we were given grits, a muffin and overcooked scrambled egg which looked very blah and very unappetizing - they did however happily supply fresh fruit and yogurt when asked if there was anything else - The Inn Keeper addressed the issue promptly and courteously and we had a nicer breakfast this morning. All in all, comfortable but a little run down..........

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salamanca
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2009

My husband and I stayed in the Retreat bedroom on a getaway weekend from the kids---we wanted somewhere close (it's 30 minutes from Chapel Hill). The room was fine (an enormous bathroom, if you like that). The four-poster bed is rather high off the ground, so if you are not in shape to hoist yourself up and in, don't take this room (I think the others have beds at a normal height). There is a gas fireplace and a small 2-seater couch in the room. The room looks out onto a street that is Highway 65, the main drag in Pittsboro. I am very fussy about noise, so I was dismayed that there was noticeable traffic noise, with occasional rumbling trucks till about 11 pm on Friday, but I slept fine (it died down later). On Saturday there wasn't much street noise. Some rooms look out onto a back yard, though. The living room was very nice and comfortable, breakfast was good and there was always hot water to make yourself tea or coffee, with a can of cookies as well. Everything was clean and neat.

Across the street there is the General Store Cafe, which has OK food, and original decor. It also has music (we heard bluegrass) Fridays and Saturdays---we paid $5 cover. The center of Pittsboro is nice to stroll in although very small. We went to Siler City, about 30 minutes away and walked around looking at galleries and then went to a cafe. The town is a bit dingy, but gentrifying, with a developing artists community. It was interesting to talk to people in galleries and the cafe.

Jordan Lake is also about 30 minutes from this B & B, and it has trails. We didn't get to go because it rained, but it was a possibility.

I would recommend this as a nice place to go if you want a low-key relaxed weekend.

Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY NY
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2009

We stayed here after following the wrong directions in our gps. We wanted hendersonville, and keyed in henderson by mistake. We ended up on the wrong side of North Carolina.

The hotel is located on a quiet street opposite a church and cemetary. The room was a decent size and clean. It would have been better if it was a little larger, but it was ok.

There were cookies and tea and books to read. The innkeepers were extremely friendly, helpful and courteous.

Breakfast was large, delicious and filling.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raleigh,nc
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2008

My sister gave me a GC to the Rosemary house and I used it for my Husbands 30th. The rooms are quaint like you would expect in a old B&B. We loved that the location was close to Ferrington village which is the site of NC's (only as I last heard) 5 star dining, which I also would recommend. Also my Husband has a thing with eggs and the host at RH made a special Birthday waffle for him with fresh strawberries...YUM! BTW her quiche was terrific also!
All in all we had a relaxing time at the Rosemary House

  • Liked — proximity to Ferrington Village
  • Disliked — The TV in room was old and didn't work well
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2005

My "in-laws" from Israel recently stayed at the Rosemary House B&B. They were in town for graduation weekend at UNC. Pittsboro is just a 20 minute drive from Chapel Hill. Even though this wasn't the most convenient location considering the festivities of the weekend, they LOVED their stay. It was peaceful and quiet and the food was excellent.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rosemary House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosemary House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 76 West Street, Pittsboro, NC 27312
Location: United States > North Carolina > Pittsboro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Pittsboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in historic charming Pittsboro, Rosemary House is a 1912 Colonial Revival home with five guest bedrooms, each with private bath. Two rooms have two-person airjet tubs and fireplaces. Free wifi, cable TV, air conditioning, ceiling fans, bottomless cookie jar, and full breakfast are included. Sit down in a rocker on our enormous front porch, shaded by sugar maples, and relax. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rosemary House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.