We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Fearrington House Restaurant

The Fearrington House Restaurant
2000 Fearrington Village, Pittsboro, NC 27312
919-542-2121
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Fearrington House Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 40 restaurants in Pittsboro
Price range: $69 - $95
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Village Way
Description: The intimate dining rooms within the white-columned Fearrington House, a member of Relais & Chateaux, have welcomed guests for thirty years. It’s here that Executive Chef Colin Bedford continues a commitment to exceptional regional cuisine.
Chapel Hill NC
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The Best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

It took several years after we moved here to finally get to Fearrington House. Coming from the Northeast, I couldn't believe that this area could have a restaurant as good as people said. I figured they just had no point of comparison. I was so wrong! Fearrington House Restaurant rates among the top restaurants we've been to and we love to eat at fine restaurants. The food is always perfectly prepared, the service is impeccable, it is quiet and gracious, without being stuffy. We have also stayed at the Inn and the total experience, including a fabulous breakfast, was perfect in every detail. This is our go-to special occasion restaurant. It is pricey so we don't get there often.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    78
    27
    12
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“An excellent dinner experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We were given a gift certificate for a four course dinner with wine. at the Fearington Restaurant as an anniversary gift. The food was excellent and the presentation was appealing. We could choose whatever kind of wine we wanted. The service was attentive.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We had dinner at the Fearrington House Restaurant recently and it was extremely enjoyable. We happened to have reservations right before our daughters birthday.
Food: We arrived although they had a table ready for us to be seated, we decided to have a drink at the cozy bar. They first served my daughter a juice martini, much to het joy, before they got our orders. The small bites they served were wonderful. We transferred to our table when ready. We got 3 course meals. Every course was excellent, well prepared, fresh and extremely nicely presented. Every course was flavorful and the ingredients, textures and colors were great. I got the wine pairing, it is expensive, but they do not skimp on the wine and the bottkles are expensive. They have invested a lot in making sure the wines are well paired and compliment the food. You get all the extra stuff, the amuse bouche, the pre-dessert to name a few.
Ambiance: Not as stuffy as I expected. Very traditional, but great displays, tables have good distance between them and the mood is fun and casual.
Service: This department is where they stand out! Everyone was professional, polite and exceptionally good. They take care of every detail, bring your drinks from the bar to the table, making sure that you have everything you need, checking in frequently for water, wine and anything else. They took great care of our daughter, a private tour of the kitchen, her own juice martini (on the house) and every detail.
Overall, we will be back. I suggest you splurge, often, this restaurant is worth every penny in every way.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Classy Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

When you walk into the restaurant you feel "special" - the restaurant has a sophisticated look, the tables and bar are appealing. Food is good too! Very worthwhile visiting.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, Florida
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Good food but they're trying too hard”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Located in a wealthy neighborhood this restaurant serves good looking and good tasting food. However, they are trying, it feels almost like pretending, to be more than they are. From the overly staid uniforms, the pretentious atmosphere, to the servers reciting course ingredients they simply are trying too hard to be something they are not. No matter how upscale your location you have to earn your grades; you can't just claim them.

All that said I will go back again in the coming months to see if they have improved.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fearrington House Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Fearrington House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fearrington House Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.