We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Bella Donna

Bella Donna
87 Thompson St., Pittsboro, NC
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 42 Restaurants in Pittsboro
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
pittsboro
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very disappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Looked forward to trying Donnas Sunday brunch. We were seated quickly. There weren't many customers there. Got coffee and placed our order We drank our coffee and waited for our waitress to refill our cups. Finally we had to get up and ask for refills. It took forever to get our meals about 20 minutes. I ordered eggs over easy, sausage and wanted just a small amount of home fries, not a lot as menu stated. Eggs were over hard, home fries was mostly burnt bits and I didn't get my sausage. As I finished my breakfast our waitress stated she was going to check if my sausage was ready! I told her to forget it. Price for a hand full of home fries was over $2.50.
Our waitress was very nice but she was not waitress material. Also noticed one of the tables with 6 people were not getting their meals at the same time-more than15 minutes apart.
Sadly we won't be back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    9
    11
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsboro, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“not good at all”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Stopped in for take out during the first week of opening. Service was slow. Staff appeared unsure of what to do. but the worse was the food. I ordered chicken fettuccine alfredo . The absolute worst I had ever had. It was literrally inedible.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsboro, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“cold”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Atmosphere;
Not bad, except for the staff chattering away, which can be heard through the entire small dining area
.
Price Point;
One of the highest in the area. If an eatery is going to charge a certain price, there is a certain level of quality expected. (like paying for Kona coffe and getting Kona "blend")
.
Serving Staff;
Unknowledgeable (both of menu and of food in general), forgetful, slow, but friendly
.
Food;
COLD (all the tables meals), if the sauce was not kept hot because of health code standards, the entirety of all the tables plates would have been cold.
.
Pre-assembled/prepared items (reheated, like eating leftovers)
.
Homemade pasta, and "some" decent quality ingredients.
.
Low grade olive oil, ham, and coffee. Just because something is "Imported" does not make it good, or of good quality
.
Out of items
.
No espresso bar
.
So close, but so far.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsboro, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

We visited on Saturday evening. The service was very slow. When we placed are drink order the waitress said they had run out of our first choice for a bottle of wine....they didn't have our second choice either. The waitress explained they were REALLY busy the night before AND they were going to be closed 7/1-7/5 and they didn't want to order any additional wine?!?!? The food was rather blah.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chapel hill
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“below average”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

If you enjoy dining in a renovated Pizza Hut, sitting in chairs that you have to reach UP to the table, experiencing very loud live music and noise from other diners, waiting an extremely long time for your food to arrive, and when it does find out it was not worth the wait, then this is the place for you! This restaurant is extremely loud (low ceilings). Very slow service. My entree (chicken piccata) was pretty bad. It was almost cold when it arrived, the chicken was dry and hard, and the pasta was dried out on top. Will not eat here again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bella Donna also viewed

 

Been to Bella Donna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bella Donna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.