We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nature's water park! FRIGID water!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sliding Rock

Sliding Rock
Pisgah Forest, NC
Improve this listing
Type: Geologic Formations, Waterfalls, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Waterfall slide, sending 11,000 gallons of water down a huge rock each minute.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nature's water park! FRIGID water!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Wear denim shorts so that you don't rip your swimsuit. The water is not cool, not cold, it is frigid!! On a hot day, it is more than refreshing, it will invigorate you! Water shoes are a good idea so you don't slip climbing up, we saw many people take spills that just looked painful. They have lifeguards but once they leave, it is as I imagine as it once was, families out exploring and having "unsupervised" fun. Bathrooms and changing rooms are provided as well. Old time locals say the place has become "too civilized" what with the guide bar, the lifeguards, bathrooms, etc. I don't mind a little safety and convenience though.
A definite must see / participate experience.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    48
    7
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Anderson, South Carolina
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Fun even in the off season...beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Visiting Sliding Rock in December and while it was not warm enough by any stretch to ride down the rock, it was still very beautiful area to see and take a little walk to. There are several little places along the way to pull off and walk to the rushing waters. Lots of photo opportunities.
Lovely area to take a day trip from the Greenville area. Will definitely go back in the summer to check out the real slide on the rock....in the water this time.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A must do”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

This is a must do for all out-of-towners. A once in a lifetime experience that is worth it.

The water was very cold, but the plus of going later in the summer (after Labor day) is that there are far less people.

The fee is $1 to enter the area, but you can slide as much as you want. They have bathrooms for changing right at the location, so it is very convenient.

While we were there, there were several kids that were having a blast. A kid-friendly adventure!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Working on my "list."”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I visited Brevard, NC, last weekend (September 29, 2013) to attend the college football game. I'd planned to make the trip down Sliding Rock, since I didn't do it last year. What a rush! Yes, the water was cold. I knew that going in, but I went down three times. There were about 10 people there, but nobody else went in. The first trip down was over the rock with shallow, slow moving water. My hair didn't even get wet, so I knew that I'd have to hit repeat. The next two trips I went down the faster side and it was much more fun! At 59 years old, I hope to encourage my younger friends to join me next time!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Cold, but Great Fun for the Young!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

The charge is $1.00 per car, a nice little walk to the rock. There are lifeguards during the busy, hot, no school months... The water is not chilly, it is Cold! This is absolutely a must for your list of places to go see! Such a "memory maker" especially if you go down the rock! Such great FUN!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sliding Rock also viewed

 

Been to Sliding Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sliding Rock, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.