We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Land of Waterfalls Must-See!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Looking Glass Falls

Looking Glass Falls
Hwy 276, Pisgah Forest, NC
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Frederick, Maryland
Top Contributor
382 reviews 382 reviews
127 attraction reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
“Land of Waterfalls Must-See!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

The first waterfall you come to after entering the Pisgah National Forest from Brevard is this one, Looking Glass Falls. It's easily accessible in that you can see it from the side of the road. There's no hike in front of you here, only a short walk. There's a ramp leading down to a lower viewing area or you can keep going all the way to the base where Looking Glass Creek is located. While down at the creek base, keep an eye out for butterflies flying around and landing in mud puddles. They were all over the place when we were there.

This is a good waterfall to bring kids to, your dog, and even grandmom. There's something for everyone and it's the one to visit if you're short on time and energy. Swimming is allowed in the plunge pool at the base.

Allow yourself about 30 minutes to enjoy nature's gifts here.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    46
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Picturesque”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

I wish we had longer to spend at this Falls, They were beautiful and we took lovely pics, but would have loved to have spent some time sploshing in the river!!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelbyville, Indiana
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The falls were great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stopped to take a closer look at the falls and glad we did, Looking Glass Waterfall was breath taking! Took lots of pictures and worth the stop.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Easily reachable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

It was easily reachable and do not need to walk a lot... but the view was good and you can even get inside the water if you like, it was a great experience to climb on the rocks and get in the water...

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsport, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Looking Glass Falls”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

After hiking up Looking Glass Rock I thought it would be crazy not to drive just a mile (or less) to Looking Glass Falls and see what I have heard so much about. As others have said, this falls is right beside the road and you just have to park right there at it without having to hike any distance to see a spectacular waterfall. If you are in the Brevard, North Carolina area be sure and stop to see this magnificent falls. I have hiked miles in the past to see falls that weren't nearly as impressive as this.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Looking Glass Falls also viewed

 

Been to Looking Glass Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Looking Glass Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.