We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite go-to to get away.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pisgah National Forest

Pisgah National Forest
Pisgah Forest, NC
828-877-3350
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Camping, Hiking, Fishing, Viewing foliage
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A park within easy driving distance from Hendersonville that offers hiking, camping and fishing.
Bluffton, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“My favorite go-to to get away.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

It's difficult to write a review for Pisgah National Forest. Words just don't seem to do justice to the natural majesty of the park's hundreds of waterfalls or the winding country roads hugging the mountain's edge. Policies are very liberal and it's not hard to find a spot to pitch camp. I have been to Pisgah perhaps ten times, and I never fail to find something new to marvel at. Pisgah National Forest's proximity to the Blue Ridge Parkway allows visitors to experience one of America's most picturesque drives, and the nearby town of Brevard plays host to some very quaint mom-and-pop style restaurants. Whether you are camping for extended periods or just need a memorable low-budget getaway, Pisgah National Forest cannot be beat.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    29
    4
    0
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A Real American Treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We visited the Pisgah National Forest during our vacation in August 2013. It was very beautiful and serene. We especially enjoyed tubing. We rented our tubes next to Dolly's (see my upcoming review). I highly recommend a visit to this beautiful place. If you want to get away from a highly commercial vacation, I am certain your family would enjoy a visit to the real deal. It made me leave wanting to support the state of NC to help preserve and promote this location.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lots to see and do in Pisgah National Forest”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We visited a waterfall right off the main road. There were stairs to go down, but the view was great from the top as well. Then we went to Sliding Rock to watch our grand kids and our children slide down the rock into the chilly water. Fun day in Pisgah!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Love it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

I really like the variety of falls to be seen, some have stair access from the main road, but we liked hiking to a destination. We saw many tent camps, stream side.
Restrooms are only at the visitor station.
Dolly's ice cream and Hog Wild BarBQ are located just before entering the forest.
A Walmart is around the corner for supplies.
We go every year.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great View of the Mountains!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

I would like to say how very much I recently enjoyed visiting the Pisgah Inn Restaurant located on the Blueridge Parkway outside of Asheville. My daughter had found this wonderful place during a previous visit and knew I would love it. We were seated right by the window overlooking the picturesque Appalachian Mountains. The food we ordered was absolutely delicious and very southern. After lunch, we went out on the balcony to take some awesome pictures...and then down to the rocking chairs located on the lawn overlooking the mountains. I couldn't have asked for a nicer place to relax and enjoy the view!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pisgah National Forest also viewed

 
Asheville, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Pisgah National Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pisgah National Forest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.