We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Late lunck after golf in Pinehurst” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nina's Classic Cuisine

Nina's Classic Cuisine
111 Central Park Ave, Olmsted Village, Pinehurst, NC 28374
910-235-4600
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 42 Restaurants in Pinehurst
Price range: $6 - $22
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Doing business, Romantic, Entertaining clients, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Fine dining, casual atmosphere
Sanford, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Late lunck after golf in Pinehurst”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Our group of four couples arrived 45 minutes late for our 1:15 PM reservation but the proprietor welcomed us past their 2:00 PM mid-day closing. They reopen at 5:30 for dinner. Beverages were provided quickly to quench the thirst developed during 18 holes of golf nearby and water glasses were kept full. The menu offered a large choice of sandwiches, salads, lunch sized entrees, and four specials. Everyone ordered something different and not one was disappointed; several raved, "best crab cake I've ever had" or "Nina's Bisque is understandably a favorite". We were the only customers so the prompt service was no surprise, but I'm guessing that their service is usually superior. I had the sausage/pepper/onion sandwich on a grilled bun and look forward to having another soon. I learned later from the chef that the sausage is of their own making, freshly created each week. My wife had the cobb salad, something she regularly orders wherever we eat. She declared it "excellent". In addition to tasty sweet tea and other 'soft' beverages they offer a good selection of wines by the glass and a choice of beers, but none on draft. The owner provided a quick history of this family enterprise now in its third location in the Pinehurst area, where restaurant choices are more than plentiful and the competition very intense. If you are looking for a relaxing, upscale dining experience you'll not go wrong with Nina's. Located in a small shopping center, the place has an unpretentious façade that could easily be missed in dismay. When in Pinehurst put Nina's on your MUST list.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    20
    6
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pinehurst, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“You can't go wrong at Nina's, consistently good quality. Have the rack of lamb!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

We live in Pinehurst. Nina's is always great. Steady friendly service, good food consistently, local go-to favorite. Never disappointed.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Intimacy mingles with excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

This is a relatively small establishment located in the Olmstead Village area of Pinehurst, but a large part of it's charm, is it's intimacy. The wine list is varied and affordable. If you really enjoy veal, then the veal Marsala is a must! It is among the best I have ever tasted.
This is not a restaurant that I would bring small children to. It is excellent for a cozy evening out, or in the company of another couple. On the weekends, you will definitely require a reservation, as the seating is limited, and very well attended. This speaks to the quality of the food, and service.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinehurst, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Just OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This restaurant seems to be a favorite of seniors, but the food is just ok. Service is good, atmosphere is pleasant and prices are reasonable. I ordered Veal Marsala, which had no evidence of any Marsala wine in it. The veal was cooked in some sort of thick, egg batter coating. A breadcrumb coating would have been lighter and preferable if they insisted on coating it....but there shouldn't have been anything but a light dusting of flour on the veal for a Marsala dish. The side veggies were a bit overcooked and heavily salted. They were also out of spaghetti. I won't go again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinehurst, North Carolina
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Waiter”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

My wife & I ate there on Saturday 03/23/2013. Food was good but something I notice do not set well with me. A young man who is on the staff, I witnessed him do a couple of things which I found to be very disturbing. First I witnessed him scratch his head and not wash his hands. But the most disturbing thing he did was to rub his running nose and continue to place silverware on the tables. No hand washing at all. Not acceptable at all. If I do go back may carry my own silverware.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nina's Classic Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Nina's Classic Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nina's Classic Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.