We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pinehurst Course Number 2

Pinehurst Course Number 2
1 Carolina Vista Drive, Pinehurst, NC
919-265-6811
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 16 Attractions in Pinehurst
Type: Golf Courses, Sports
Activities: Golfing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Stretching 7,020 yards at Par 72, this championship golf course is very green and relatively flat, with tall pines on every hole.
cashiers
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Not often you putt off a green how about two greens simply awesome. Faster than Augusta National can't wait for 2014 US OPEN

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    18
    5
    6
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
MARYVILLE
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lives up to it's ranking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Use a caddy. The Walk is what it's about. The Main Clubhouse is full of History. Take your time walking in the hall and read as much as possible. Practice facility is excellent.
Putting green is awesome. Their are several.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Caddies helped us steal a golf cart (legally)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Our husbands were playing this course last month and we went over to watch them coming off 18. A couple caddies drove past us, always speaking and greeting us, we stopped one and asked if we were in the right place to see them come off 18 and he looked up our guys and told us they teed off 10 and would be finishing on 9...then he told us to grab a golf cart and follow him and he'd take us to them. We walked down to the carts, acted like we knew what we were doing, and drove off to the tee! Our husbands were super happy when we showed up and surprised them on their last hole. ;) thanks to the caddies for handling us wives so well!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Dream come true”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I got to play #2 with my father and our caddie, Will. He knew all the history of the course and gave us great advice on the course. It was a fantastic walk and extremely challenging. The greens are very unforgiving as well as the waste areas, so you better take your A game. I hope I get to go back someday.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Pinehurst # 2 course”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Visited the Pinehurst Resort April 2-4, 2013. Bucket list trip. Three of us. Stayed at Carolina Hotel on premise. Three to a huge room. Played course 8 first. Played 27 holes in 5 hours. No one else on the course. Played Pinehurst # 2 on the morning of the 3rd. Had two caddies. Greg carried doubles and Willie McRae rode in his cart and caddied singles. I love playing with caddies ! They add character to any round. Willie is 80 years old and has been caddied for 70 years ! Lots of great stories. Greg is the 'rookie' only having been at PInehurst 15 years. Knew the course inside and out. I played all 18 holes with the same ball. Not typical ! Course designed so that if you get in trouble you can find your ball amidst the pines, sand, etc. Greens are ridiculously tough. Finished in four hours walking. Hotel was nice, food was good and surprisingly reasonably priced. Didn't need a rental car from the airport. Take the PInehurst shuttle and then take the shuttle everywhere once at the resort. We should have heeded the advice 'don't play another course the day you play # 2.' We did play again and I shot the worse round in years. Courses 2, 4, 8 were great. Course 5 not. April is too iffy weather-wise. Go in May-June or Sept-Oct.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pinehurst Course Number 2 also viewed

 

Been to Pinehurst Course Number 2? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pinehurst Course Number 2, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.