We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pinehurst at it's Best!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Pine Crest Inn

The Pine Crest Inn
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pinehurst
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Pine Crest Inn
Save
You added The Pine Crest Inn to your Saves list
Dogwood Road, P.O. Box 879, Pinehurst, NC 28370   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Pinehurst
TyGreene
1 review
“Pinehurst at it's Best!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2010

Having lived in Pinehurst for close to 20 years, I have always put my friends up in this wonderful place. There is no friendlier bar staff on the east coast, for an after work libation or a night of fun. For ladies considering a place for a girl's weekend you will be treated like a lady by all of the staff, and there will be no shortage of conversation in Mr. B's lounge. Food is always good. And all the Pinehurst shops are just a block away. Don't stay anywhere else. If you truly want to experience Pinehurst, and the wonderful people who live there, you have chosen the right place!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    17
    6
    3
    4
See reviews for
4
20
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ocean Isle Beach, North Carolina
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2009

This is the second year in a row that our group of four couples have come to the Pine Crest Inn for a golf vacation. This year was again a fine stay and we will definitely be back again!

We found the front desk staff to be quite helpful. the guest rooms to be perfectly fine (note: these are old rooms-large and clean, but please don't expect it to be the Marriott!), and the meals in the dining room to be wonderful-great food and very attentive, helpful servers. The golf in Pinehurst is great. and we couldn't wait to get back to the Inn, and have a drink on the verandah followed by a delicious dinner!

And we love the location right in the adorable town of Pinehurst. It is a fun place to stay!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2009

have been here many times. if you want a 5-star room, go down the street and pay 4 times as much. if your on a budget, and want a "golfers atmosphere", come here. home many hotels are you gonna stay in that were once onwned by donald ross and bob barrett?

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2009

Despite its great location, we ended up finding the Pine Crest Inn really overrated. The one bright spot in our stay was the food. The dinner was really well prepared and inventive. However, everything else-- our corner room with a shower that wouldn't work, the seeming constant irritability of staff on the phone and at the front desk, the general condition of the hotel-- does not meet the standard of a hotel at this price.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erie, pa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2008

The locals always know their area best and the locals turn out every night in mass to eat and drink at the PineCrest Inn. The bar is always busy with locals and visitors laughing and exchanging information mostly about golf. The huge Southern porch is a treat. The food is excellent, although there is more than you could eat at the four course servings. The rooms are huge. The staff is the best part, Linda Tufts, Sea Dog, Bridget, Amy Hoffman, Carl, Scotty, Brenda, and of course the proprietors, Peter and Susan Barrett, are willing to meet your every need in a friendly down-home Southern way. They are great for planning your golf at the more than 50 courses. I have taken a group to Pinehurst twice a year for the past ten years. I belong to the Country Club of North Carolina, own 5 homes, and am a retired doctor. I have traveled to more than 68 countries. If you like people and like to laugh, this is your place.

Stayed May 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte , NC
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2008

Went with 12 other members of my country club and looking forward to the excellent restaurant and bar. We rented the "frat style house" across the street which is also their property. The entire place has charm but in a run-down sort of way. After a long day of golf and junk food grabbed at the turn we were looking forward to a great meal. The food was above average but the two hour wait both nights ruined any desire to return. Pretty obvious that everyone else was being fed around us but for some unexplain reason we were left waiting for over two hours both nights - maybe due to being in a larger group. I would suggest other places to stay and maybe visit this location for an afternoon cocktail out on the porch. By the way I emailed their site asking some to contact me before writing this and received no response. Been on Myrtle Beach golf junkets before and treated poorly, but did not expect to be burned and churned at the Pine Crest.

  • Liked — Food and charm
  • Disliked — Service was the worst 2 hour wait for food each night
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricmond, VA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2008

If you like character this place is for you. If you like new, sterile hotels - don't bother. Rooms were nice and well kept. Front porch is a delight. Food was excellent.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Pine Crest Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pine Crest Inn

Address: Dogwood Road, P.O. Box 879, Pinehurst, NC 28370
Location: United States > North Carolina > Pinehurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Pinehurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 40
Also Known As:
The Pine Crest Hotel Pinehurst

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pine Crest Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.