We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amenities abound!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pilot Knob Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pilot Mountain
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pilot Knob Inn
Save
You added Pilot Knob Inn to your Saves list
361 New Pilot Knob Lane, P.O. Box 1280, Pilot Mountain, NC 27041   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Amenities abound!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012 via mobile

On our return from OBX we were looking for a place with some personality to wrap up our vacation...searching online as we drove I stumbled onto this amazing little hideaway. There's not much we can say that hasn't been said already. We were in #1--great view of Pilot Knob, awesome rocking chairs on front porch, lots of privacy, a very clean jacuzzi tub (ahhh!) and awesome shower, super comfy bed...our only regrets were that we didn't have time for the pool, lake, or fabulous breakfast we've read so much about. Next time!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    19
    4
    8
    1
See reviews for
1
172
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

I wish we could have stayed longer! My husband and I had tickets to the Willie Nelson concert recently held at Jomeokee Park and were lucky enough to get a cabin at the Inn for one night over a weekend. Jenn was so accommodating. The cabins are so unique. Everything was clean and tidy and I particularly love the little balcony off the bedroom. The property is quiet and fantastic for just strolling around. If we had had time I would have loved to paddle around the lake, take off on a hike up Pilot Mountain, or lounge by the pool. I hope that we can go back for another visit before too long!

Room Tip: I can't speak to any of the rooms in the main building of the inn, but the Tobacco Cabins are re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Wayne, IN
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

We stayed at the Pilot Knob Inn instead of a hotel on our way to our vacation destination. It was the best decision we could have made. We stayed in cabin #4, the cabin was decorated very nice, there is an area with a small table, refrigerator and microwave. The furniture is comfortable. We were able to walk the trails and enjoy the wild life after hours in the car. I had packed a picnic for dinner so we sat in the very comfortable rockers on the front porch and watched the deer while we ate. There is a Jacuzzi tub in the cabin and it was perfect to help relax before going to bed. The bedroom was large and the bed was very comfortable. The whole experience was very romantic. The breakfast was delicious. It was more than we had expected. There is also a pool and a sauna, we did not have a chance to take advantage of but looked very inviting. Jennifer is so friendly and makes you feel like you’ve known her forever. I can’t wait to go back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpha Ohio
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

The Pilot Knob Inn Bed and Breakfast is special/unique and has a charm that would be hard to match. The two ladies who prepare breakfast are attentive and efficient and the food is way better than what you get as the usual "free breakfast." This B&B is on the grounds of the Pilot Knob State Park and the setting is the definition of rustic. We stayed in 100+ year old tobacco shack #5... having stayed in #4 two years ago. #4 was better in that the bed was bigger.

Pilot Knob, (the Mount Pilot of the Andy Griffith Show) is a mountain of sorts that can be seen for 50 miles in every direction... except from the Pilot Knob Inn. They have not trimmed the trees on the property and so the view of Pilot Knob from the Pilot Knob Inn is obliterated... rather like going to Niagara Falls and finding out the river had dried up. The excuse offered was that the trees were not trimmed because there were snakes in the trees and the owner was afraid of them.... which sounded like baloney at the time and still does. NOTE to the B&B management...Trim the trees next winter when the snakes are dormant.. and don't take your clientel and reputation for granted.

Room Tip: The tobacco shacks differ, are dark inside, and not really secure. We were fine in #4 two years ago...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Pilot Knob Inn, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
Dear Pastor McLean,
I was quite surprised to read your review. When you mentioned trimming the trees, I honestly thought you were joking. As you can see in the previous review, posted seven days prior to yours, the mountain is very much still in view. We do cut the trees back every winter, but try not to cut in excess to preserve the forest. You are correct, I did mention we did it in the winter, because of the snakes, bees, and other wildlife which use the trees for homes. We never take any of our customers for granted, and are truly grateful for the wonderful business we have. Again as you can see in the previous review, and countless others, the mountain is still very much visible.
Best Wishes!
Jennifer Allen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

My husband & I were going on a driving vacation. We visited St. Louis, Nashville and then needed somewhere to relax and unwind AND BOY DID WE FIND IT!

Being a travel agent for 10 years, I do alot of research before I choose a place to stay. This was our first bed & breakfast so we did not know what to expect.We arrived to find that we were staying in the Southwest Honeymoon suite. From the second you enter your cabin, you feel at home.This cabin had a kitchenet, a dining area, a big bedroom and a bathroon with a big jacuzzi. Jennifer the owner, gives you a welcoming smile and a How y'all doing and Kathy could not be more helpful and sweet. It is a family run business and they truly work hard at making you feel comfortable. The cabins are decorated in different styles and they have something for everyone.
AND THE FOOD! Breakfast is amazing, anything you want and I mean anything. The smells from the kitchen and their warm personalities start the day off right.

There are jacuzzi tubs which feel great after a day of hiking and a beautiful swimming pool out back for just lying in the sun.
But the best part for us were the rocking chairs on the front porch. We sat there for hours and read, did word puzzles and just talked.

If you are looking for a break from the rat race you need give the Pilot Knob Bed & Breakfast a try. YOU WON'T BE SORRY!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, OH
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

We stayed here a few weeks ago celebrating my wife's birthday. She had never been to a B&B before and was excited. We stayed in the Pilot Knob Suite which is one of the honeymoon suites attached to the main building.

The room was very nice, the bed was comfortable and it was great having our own little private hot tub. Breakfast was quick with a wide variety of choices and we were very satisfied with it.

I think we will go back and try one of the cabins sometime.

Two reasons for not giving it a "5" The reservation process get messed up and they did not get our request for the package with snacks and cheesecake. After we arrived I asked about it and they would have brought it but by then we decided to venture out and get dessert on our own.

Someone else had complained about the noise in this suite and they are right. It sounded like the TV in the room next to ours was in our bedroom and could hear the people sneeze and cough. I know you get noise in B&Bs but this was quite distracting. Luckily we turned on the soundmachine app on our phone and it drowned out the TV.

Otherwise, it was a perfect night

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
352 reviews 352 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
189 helpful votes 189 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

We stayed at the Pilot Knob Inn right after the River House Country Inn. Originally my husband and I planned to stay at the Augustus T Zeverly Inn in Old Salem but it was completely booked for that Friday night. Turned out to be a good thing because the Pilot Knob Inn was definitely a better choice – even though it was an extra 60 miles of driving roundtrip (as we were on our way from W-S to Raleigh), but it had really good reviews and we were taking a road trip and didn’t have any time or distance constraints anyway. It was situated at the foot of the Pilot Mountain (of which we had a scenic view on Highway 52 from W-S – see separate review). We got there just before dark and caught the owners just before they were leaving to go somewhere for a party (wouldn’t have been a problem even if they had left as they already had all the info and directions we needed pinned on the office door) so Jennifer showed us to our room, #7 Heavenly Hideaway. I booked this room because I didn’t particularly want to be in a cabin this time, which was the type of most of the accommodation at the Pilot Knob. The room was very attractively decorated and quite spacious, hardwood floors, TV, fridge, a walk in closet and a large Jacuzzi tub. There was also Wi-Fi in the room. The four-poster bed was very comfortable. It’s a short drive up from the office, in a building which housed several guest rooms as well as the dining room. Two things to note about this room: One there was no actual window, the only natural light you’d get would be either from the glass door (with blinds you won’t open anyway), or the glass brick wall next to it. It didn’t bother me that much but it wasn’t something I had expected. Second things was that because it was back to back with the kitchen and the dining room, there would be noise early in the morning when breakfast was being prepared. So if you plan to sleep in you might not be able to after 6 am. For these reasons maybe a free standing cabin (some of them are very far apart from each other) would be more preferable. But we had a good stay nevertheless (it really doesn’t matter if you are only staying one night). Breakfast was in a large, bright and airy dining room – eggs made to order, probably waffles and pancakes as well although we didn’t have those, and various kinds of breakfast meats. I had a mushroom omelet (canned mushrooms this time), and sausage patties (they were so good – lean, salty and spicy - I had seconds). There was also a buffet table with fruit, cakes and other desserts. Jennifer and her helper Kathy kept coming by to refill the juice, coffee and tea – we could take forever with this breakfast! The inn was set completely in the woods, quiet and peaceful, with a view of the Pilot Mountain through the tall trees. There was also a small swimming pool on a patio right outside the breakfast room, but of course it wasn’t open yet. It’s another one of these places that you can just hang out forever. Be sure to go up the Pilot Mountain as well – great view from the top!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pilot Knob Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pilot Knob Inn

Address: 361 New Pilot Knob Lane, P.O. Box 1280, Pilot Mountain, NC 27041
Location: United States > North Carolina > Pilot Mountain
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Pilot Mountain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the tobacco barn cabins featured on HGTV and in Southern Living and Our State Magazine, on 100 acres with a lake with boating and fishing. Cabins offer real wood burning fireplaces, and whirlpools for two. Luxurious honeymoon suites with whirlpools or hot tubs with gas logs. All cabins and suites come with full breakfast. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pilot Knob Hotel Pilot Mountain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pilot Knob Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.