We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for a free night” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge to your Saves list
Econo Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   711 S Key Street, Pilot Mountain, NC 27041   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pilot Mountain
Mount Vernon, Ohio
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Ok for a free night”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

I used my free choice rewards night as a stop over on my way to Myrtle Beach. Motel was just OK. Check in was efficient, but not very friendly. Room appeared fairly clean and bedding was good. Older TV needs replaced...volume kept changing constantly. Thin walls, easy to hear the neighbors. Shower head needs replaced. Mold in the bath tub around the grout and soap dishes. Breakfast was free, but limited. Did have waffles but no non stick spray to keep the waffle from sticking to the waffle iron. Coffee was horrid. Some woman carrying a bag came in with bare feet and disheveled and took almost all the donuts and pastries and left (hotel guest or homeless???). Night clerk was friendly, as I checked out before he left.

Room Tip: No elevator, ask for 1st floor or accessible if you cannot climb stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    9
    8
    11
    17
See reviews for
16
9
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Myrtle Beach
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Truck Stop type bathroom & disgraceful shower stall. Carpet was very dirty need replacing. Wall paper peeling. But excellant bedding! Reception and check out was not professional. Breakfast was good, But I would have liked to see some hard boiled eggs added.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012 via mobile

This has to be one of the worst hotels I've visited in years. I would not recommend it even for just an overnight. The exterior looked reasonable from a distance but once there a disaster. The pool was green with algae bloom. Bathroom had rubber mat in the tub with mold beneath it. Exterior door bottom so high that salamanders and ? crawl in. Wall paper falling off the wall as well as curtain rods. It is a shame that Choice Hotels supports this type of establishment.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orrville, Ohio, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

When we got to our rm. the door to the ajoining rm, was open. we were told this was our "suite" wThe motel is in need of a lot of repairs, however the room was clean and the bed comfortable. The breakfast was bad! no silver weak cofee not much food. The landscaping was unkept. Had to walk through weeds to get from our rm. to the office. Would we stay here again NO!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Ohio
Top Contributor
276 reviews 276 reviews
276 hotel reviews
Reviews in 213 cities Reviews in 213 cities
220 helpful votes 220 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

it appears the owners dont take much pride here...grass was very high ( lawn tractor sitting beside motel) I would have prob went with a poor rating but the people seemed nice and the bed was really comfy..outside appearance was not the best with very high grass and weeds ..people seemed nice , price was pretty good also, went in room temp was about 90 luckily A/C worked good cooled room down in about an hour, bed was really comfy, the rest of the room looked old and tired but clean...the bathroom ceiling tiles were all brown stained from water, cob webs in all corners the bathroom was not very clean and in need of complete remodel...this place was ok for a 10 hour break since the price was cheap...not a good place to spend a weekend out with the family..

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolivar, Ohio
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We were traveling to the Outer Banks of North Carolina from northeast Ohio.
This was about halfway, and was a good stopping point for the night.
The room was spacious and clean, the bed and pillows comfortable.
The landscaping was neglected and the ice machines did not work,
but the breakfast was plentiful and free.
The price was about 75 dollars.
Overall, a good place for an overnight rest.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita Falls, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

I found this place to be clean, unlike other reviewers. there was no fridge in my room at check in, but they moved one in for me. The pool was great, parking lot has room for a couple big rigs or motor homes. The staff was wonderful. You can't ask for much more than that.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 711 S Key Street, Pilot Mountain, NC 27041
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Pilot Mountain
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pilot Mountain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn And Suites
Quality Hotel Pilot Mountain
Quality Inn Pilot Mountain
Pilot Mountain Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.