We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food and pleasant surroundings” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tiel Restaurant & bar

Tiel Restaurant & bar
Main Street, Auchtertool KY2 5XW, Scotland
01592 780381
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Nestled in the rich farming hamlet of Auchtertool, this cosy restaurant has been refurbished recently to create an eclectic mix of old and new. Roaring log fires create a relaxed and informal atmosphere in winter.The philosophy behind the food is purely to use the produce of some Fife farmers, growers and producers, so that our food will never have to travel far to reach your table. As an independent free house it is our aim to serve a good quality, ever-changing selection of local and regional cask ales, along with delicious, but inexpensive house red and white wines, up to champagnes to help you celebrate in style
australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Good Food and pleasant surroundings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Have been here twice in the past month so perhaps that says it all. Delicious food served piping hot. Sweets that cause me to salivate just thinking about them. Only disappointment I did have was being offered a table at 6.15pm on a Saturday night........the place was empty until we were about to leave!
So, the only reason I have entered poor for atmosphere was because the place was empty.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    17
    5
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Night Out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

If you are looking for a very good quality meal at a reasonable price then try this restaurant. It is a little out of the way for some but the location didn't seem to deter visitors and it was fully booked the night we went. The menu is nicely balanced with something for everyone but be warned, if you want quick service, give this one a miss. This is no criticism; just that this is not what this place is about. This is about top quality food, well prepared and presented at competitive prices which you are free to enjoy in the relaxed and friendly atmosphere with no pressure to vacate your table to accommodate the next party. The food is prepared and cooked to order by the owner/chef who clearly loves cooking. For those of more advanced years, you may be interested in the lunchtime special (3 courses for £10). Very good in every respect and we will most certainly be going again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“did i go to the same place”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

very poor service ok if you are a regular they will come in latter and be served before you.Be aware when ordering the side s ii.e chips coast extra even when the water asks do you want chips or potato Long wait for food .

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“"Excellent Food and great value"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

We visited the Tiel Restaurant today in Auchtertool for lunch, wow! What a surprise, the food was excellent and well presented too, waiting staff were very polite and informative! It's been there for 3 years, how did we miss this hidden gem? We have eaten at many Michelin star restaurants so we do appreciate good food. We spoke to the owner who was lovely. Excellent value for money! We will certainly be back soon! :-) :-)

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“ONE OF THE BEST”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

Party of 4 on Sat 7th June 2014. Had to book, but well worth the wait. Cosy inviting setting and friendly staff. From starters to desserts everyone happy with their meals and all very well presented. To be honest, not the quickest service but we were not in a rush and will definitely try to book again. I highly recommend this restaurant to everyone.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tiel Restaurant & bar also viewed

 

Been to Tiel Restaurant & bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tiel Restaurant & bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.