We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly service, worst meals in Oriental” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Shanty

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Sea Shanty
802 Broad Street, Oriental, NC 28571
(252) 249-1110
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 11 Restaurants in Oriental
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Friendly service, worst meals in Oriental”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

The waitress was very friendly but the fish in the fish tacos was smelly and had bones in it. The shrimp in the gumbo tasted like chlorine. Will never go back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    6
    2
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Morehead City, North Carolina
1 review
“great food and great atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I can honestly say that I have had just about everything on the menu and have enjoyed everything I have eaten. The fish is brought in fresh each day and almost everything is made homemade in house right down to the Bloody Mary mix. My favorite is the Blackened fish because it is truly blackened! NOT JUST A BLACKENING SEASONING it is really blackened in a hot skillet! also on Mondays they have $1 draft and if your are a local they have a little something special for you all week long go in and ask about it!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great seafood, full bar, fun location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

If you remember Scoot's in Oriental--this restaurant is in that old location. BIG improvement! The seafood was fresh and perfectly prepared--the fried shrimp was really delicious. Friendly staff and great service. We had a great time and will definitely return. Now that the Steamer is gone....this is our new favorite.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, North Carolina
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Friendly People, Good Food, Reasonable Prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We're always looking for a place in Oriental to have a quick lunch. We had not been here when it was another restaurant, but Sea Shanty is nice. We each had a sandwich from the lunch menu with a beer from the tap. Everything was fresh and tasty; beers were cold and refreshing! Overall, it was good value for money and we'll definitely be back!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oriental, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent service, food and prices !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Stopped in and found this place to be a great find. Excellent service from start to finish. The prices were very good and the portion sizes large. Make sure you save room for the Homemade Brownie Sundae - homemade and it was only $2.75 - Wow, where do you get that anymore?? If you find yourself in Oriental, you should find yourself in the Sea Shanty.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sea Shanty also viewed

Oriental, North Carolina Coast
Oriental, North Carolina Coast
 
Oriental, North Carolina Coast
Oriental, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Sea Shanty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Shanty, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.