We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Went in for a "light" snack” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Silos

The Silos
1111 Broad Street, Oriental, NC 28571
2522491050
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 11 Restaurants in Oriental
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian
Restaurant details
Charlottesville, Virginia, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Went in for a "light" snack”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Food was great and our light snack was more like a wonderful meal!! I only wish we had been hungrier so we could have had a "real" meal. The service was great as well. What a great way to repurpose old silos!

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    22
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Mount Pleasant SC
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Very cool surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Silos far exceeded our expectations. The atmosphere is very low-key, and the interior is decorated with classic album covers and musical instruments. Even though tonight was open mic night and the place was jammed, we were seated right away and had great service. Lots of folks around us ordering pizza, which looked and smelled great. We had the special trio, pasta with meatballs, baked eggplant, and salad, ample for the 2 of us with an additional side salad. The pasta sauce was exceptional. We opted to pay our tab and stand by the bar, as there were several folks waiting for a table. While enjoying the open mic performers, we met the owner Chris, who started the musical set and allowed the other performers to use his mics and amps. Chris is the owner, chef, head musician, and even cleared tables and sat folks. All in all,a very enjoyable experience that all visiting this area should not miss.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilson, North Carolina
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Just ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

After looking at the reviews of this place we got kinda excited but the excitement ended when we got our dinner. I had the Kobe burger but its not Kobe beef its Angus. Ordered it medium but it was well done and dry. It was a sub par burger. My better half started with some chilli but it was served cold. The antipasto salad was OK she said. Prob won't go back. The service was good though.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great pizza, and a lively atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Silo's is fun. They offer good pizza, good beer, and a fun atmosphere. I've also had an excellent lunch steak there, and the burgers look awesome. Buy-one-get-one-free pizza night on Tuesdays is a great deal.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, North Carolina
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Music Festival”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We had lunch on three different occasions at this restaurant and enjoyed the food. The restaurant sponsored a musical festival in May and it was great. Great bands, good music and the weather we supper. The restaurant had their regular lunch and made available pizza to be eaten outside where the music was being played. You need to being your own lawn chair or whatever and sit outside and enjoy. Beer and other drinks were available outside as well to make it a very fun day.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Silos also viewed

Oriental, North Carolina Coast
Oriental, North Carolina Coast
 
Oriental, North Carolina Coast
Oriental, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to The Silos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Silos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.