We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but good and informative” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain Gateway Museum

Mountain Gateway Museum
Old Fort, NC
828-668-9259
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 9 things to do in Old Fort
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The museum contains many items that relate to mountain life.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
256 reviews 256 reviews
138 attraction reviews
Reviews in 153 cities Reviews in 153 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
“Small but good and informative”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Small but good and informative. Displays on top and bottom floors. They have two mountain home next to the museum to look at also. They were having their pioneer day festival the day we were there. Many crafts and food vendor. The museum is next to the creek so got some hot dogs and drinks and sat next to the creek and listened to some blue grass. Very nice. The museum has rest rooms inside also. The Railroad Museum is just down the street so take in both while you are in town.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    5
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Interesting Little Museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

There are alot of interesting artifacts and information in this museum. Beautiful areas surrounding it for walks or picnics. Nice little stop along the way.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Mountain Gateway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

While not a large museum, it has lots of items of Americana and mountain culture. Of the attractions in Old Fort, this one has the most to see. I could find no fault with it, but did not rate it excellent since I save that for larger and more unique attractions.
Old Fort is a good side trip from Black Mountain or Asheville.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice stop along the road”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

The museum grounds are well maintained, right next to the river, and several historic cabins. The staff was very pleasant, and even demonstrated spinning alpaca fur into yarn. The old civil war pics are interesting, and they even have a still in the museum. A pleasant stop for our mountain visit.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Worth a short detour off I40”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

My husband and I stopped here on our way to Asheville. We visited about one hour - this place is a small gem. The curator spent time telling us stories from her family history that added a personal touch to what was in the exhibits. There are also two log cabins on site that give an idea of what early life in the area was like. Would definitely recommend.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mountain Gateway Museum also viewed

Old Fort, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Old Fort, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 
Old Fort, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
Old Fort, North Carolina Smoky Mountains
 

Been to Mountain Gateway Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain Gateway Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.