We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Flying Melon

Flying Melon
181 Back Road, Ocracoke, NC
+1 252-928-2533
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 29 Restaurants in Ocracoke
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Reservations
Suffolk, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We elected to eat at the Flying Melon prior to the Molasses Creek show in early June based on the recommendation of our B&B proprietor Pam, and we were very, very pleased. We started with a Pimm's Cup for me (hard to find), and La Crema chardonnay for DH. The salads were served with a rice wine vinaigrette and hot bread and butter. For entrees, I had the drum and roasted carrots which a loved (be warned the blackened fish is, indeed, spicy as stated) and my husband had the cobia, with collard greens which he said was excellent. (who knew collards were so good with fish?) He also got the blackberry-mango cobbler with ice cream, which he enjoyed until he was scraping the paint off the bowl. Our waiter was very professional and prompt, but not pushy, and knew the menu, the specials and the drinks very well. Our water glasses were always kept full, which we truly appreciated after a dehydrating day at the beach.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    198
    82
    31
    5
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Number One on Ocracoke”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Very nice restaurant with excellent food. The Ciopinno was the best! My husband said it was the best meal he had in a year. I had the Shrimp Creole and it was delicious also. Very nice decor and a very attentive wait staff made our dining experience the best one of our week stay on Ocracoke. We will definitely eat here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayden, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Very tasty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Was 6 of us and not one plate was a disappointment, every thing was outstanding. From the Spanish mackerel to the red curry. The price is a little high but it's not out of line for that style of place

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Relaxing brunch and awesome food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Stopped here for a lunch with our two young children. Coloring on the paper table loathes was fun for kids and allowed us to relax. Decor was beach chic, prices were great, service friendly and fast. Crab cake sandwich and fish po boy was best we've had all week in the area. Portions were on the small but most likely right on for a suggested serving size. Go here. You will love it.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Pennsylvania, Usa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“The Best Fish You'll Ever Eat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Ocracoke Island has several good options that make it almost a foodie destination, but among those, the Flying Melon reigns supreme. The variety of fish on their menu is always amazing. Where else can you choose from Sheepshead and Cobia, along with the traditional favorites of Drum, Flounder, and Bluefish? The menu is electic and interesting--the wine list is small but carefully selected. This restaurant's new quarters are elegant and inviting, and it is amazing what they are able to do in this rather isolated location where all their supplies must arrive by ferry. If you go to Ocracoke and can only have ONE nice dinner or brunch out, this is the place to choose.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flying Melon also viewed

 
Ocracoke, Outer Banks
 

Been to Flying Melon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flying Melon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.