We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top restaurant on the Island” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Flying Melon

Flying Melon
181 Back Road, Ocracoke, NC
+1 252-928-2533
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 29 Restaurants in Ocracoke
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Dessert
Fairfax, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Top restaurant on the Island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

We live in DC and regularly 'eat around' in DC, NYC and Amsterdam. The Melon is operated by veteran and renowned New Orleans restauranteurs. The food and service compare with nearly any $50 a plate restaurants in any of the above and Chef Micheal does a superior with the local seafood with a New Orleans flare. And given you are on an island that focus on seafood should be expected, yet the steak and filets are superior as well. Now in their new location the facility is arguable the best on the island to boot. The decor is a mix of French country side and New Orleans and Michael's wife Paula is the expert who has choreographed the facility. Son Nat has upped the wine list with the focus on value per bottle not price. All in all I highly recommend the Melon, and if you are lucky enough to meet Micheal as about the unique name. While the below rating system dictates a $$$ price you are going to be getting $$$$ food and service for a $$ price. Oh and I should add one of the BEST brunches available anywhere.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    81
    31
    5
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
mpls
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great family restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

I enjoyed our nice breakfast at the Flying melon. The atmosphere was very warm and inviting. I liked seeing families with happy children eating there. Every table had a little bowl of crayons for the children!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooresville
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Great new location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

Excellent Service, great food, amazing design of new building. Highly recommended. Nice menu not too narrow but not trying to serve everything

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Wonderful surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

An O'coke resident suggested Flying Melon so I went with high expectations and was not disappointed. Probably the BEST flounder I have ever had. I had it blackened but you could request other ways. So fresh, perhaps caught that day. The bread served was hot and fresh too. Nothing in O'coke is real fancy but this place was pretty nice to Ocracoke standards. White table cloths and all. But everyone was dressed very casually. Service was amazing. When I asked to take home the remainder of the small loaf of bread that comes with the meal, they brought me a foil wrapped full loaf!

This was a solo visit and usually I will get carryout but this one night I got a table and felt very comfortable doing that at this restaurant. Flying Melon will be on my return list the next time I am here!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morehead City, North Carolina
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“New facility is great!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

This is an excellent restaurant for any meal. We have had great breakfast, lunch, and dinners. A good choice.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flying Melon also viewed

 
Ocracoke, Outer Banks
 

Been to Flying Melon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flying Melon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.