We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute B&B, Fantastic Get-Away” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Cove Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ocracoke
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Cove Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added The Cove Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
21 Loop Road, P.O. Box 1300, Ocracoke, NC 27960-1300   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 Ocracoke B&B and Inns
raleigh
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Cute B&B, Fantastic Get-Away”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2008

We escaped to Ocracoke Island for a 3 day weekend and to celebrate a birthday. The Cove was a sweet escape on the island - great location, right near the lighthouse and on a private 1 way street. The innkeepers are kind, the food average, and the accommodations well kept. The Cove has little touches that make this B&B unique - bicycles to use, towels and chairs for the beach, and private decks for each room. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and plan to go back to either the Cove or a full rental condo for a longer trip. Ocracoke is a must on the Outer Banks and The Cove is an excellent treat to enjoy the village and relax.

  • Liked — bicycles to ride around the village
  • Disliked — pillows, linens
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    39
    12
    7
    0
See reviews for
7
176
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2008

We just got back from a two night mini vacation on Ocracoke where we stayed at the Cove, mostly based on the positive reviews on this site. We were not disappointed. Great location, great food. Really great hosts, Erin and Chad, who made you feel more like family than company or guests. A really special part of the experience is the daily wine reception at 5:30. It was a nice way to meet the other "family members" who were sharing this home. In addition to wine they had some cheese and crackers one night and the next, clams casino, with clams that Erin and Chad brought back after "clamming" that morning! What a treat. I highly recommend this B&B for anyone who wants a fun, relaxing vacation with great hosts. (Also, be sure and not miss the highly rated beach on Ocracoke...bring your sunscreen, a good book and an umbrella and enjoy!)

  • Liked — great hosts, great location
  • Disliked — Not a thing!
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsboro, NC
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2008

Loved this B&B! The location was a wonderful retreat during a busy holiday weekend when locations closer to town can be crowded. We booked the Portsmouth Suite (Sunset side) and would highly recommend it for size and the fantastic sunset view from the large, private deck.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, NC
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2008

We have just returned from a romantic birthday weekend at The Cove. The room was great w/a very comfy queensize bed and a sunset view every night. A beach picnic was purchased as a part of my beach package but due to rain we improvised and had a "back porch" picnic which turned out just as romantic but with less bugs and sand. The picnic had a bottle of wine, fruit, cheese and crackers, a nice sandwich (of our choice) and the most marvelous brownie I have ever tasted. Each and every morning our breakfast was divine! Chad and Erin were wonderful hosts. I would not recommend this B&B if you intend to bring children. We ended our weekend with a delightful dinner at the Back Porch Restaurant and make sure you get dessert first!

  • Liked — small and quiet
  • Disliked — mosquitos
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida, Usa
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2008

There isn't anything overly special about the rooms, but they are clean and nice. The best part is the location. You can walk across the street and catch an amazing sunset from the point. The hosts will talk wine all day if your not careful. Have a quick glass and then escape.

  • Liked — The location
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ocrakate, Innkeeper at The Cove Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 13, 2008
The Cove is indeed a wonderful place from which to view a sunset, and is the closest lodging to the Springer's Point Nature Preserve, which offers a lovely walk to a soundside beach and an even more spectacular sunset view.

John does occassionally wax eloquent about wine - especially NC wine - to guests who express even the slightest hint of interest in the topic!

Thanks for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SD
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2008

We stayed at the Cove for 1 night and enjoyed very much. Had the Lighthouse room, very comfortable and clean. Our friends stayed in the Dolphin room, they too enjoyed it very much. The four of us recommend the Cove highly. Russ, Spearfish, SD

Stayed March 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2008

We celebrated our 29th wedding anniversary here. It is an amazing bed and breakfast. John and Kati are such nice people and you never know they are there. The views from the inn are beautiful. Next time we go back - we hope more restaurants and businesses are open. We rode the bikes around the island and enjoyed the sites. Thanks John for bringing Barry's Bible to us as we were waiting on the ferry. Kathy and Barry

  • Liked — relaxing
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Cove Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cove Bed and Breakfast

Address: 21 Loop Road, P.O. Box 1300, Ocracoke, NC 27960-1300
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Ocracoke
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Ocracoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After an hour ferry ride you'll find yourself really able to unwind. Four rooms and three suites, a scrumptious full breakfast (such as Eggs Benedict, stuffed French toast, pumpkin pancakes and others) can make lunch optional. You'll love our fig preserves, our very own figs. Our complimentary evening wine and light hors d'oeuvres reception and bikes, together with water and sunset vistas like none before will embrace you. 14 Miles of undeveloped beach, charter fishing, charming shopping or just doin' nothin' will have you coming back! See you soon? ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Cove Hotel Ocracoke
The Cove b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cove Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.