We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B on Ocracoke Island!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cove Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ocracoke
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Cove Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added The Cove Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
21 Loop Road, P.O. Box 1300, Ocracoke, NC 27960-1300   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 9 Ocracoke B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Martinsburg, West Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great B&B on Ocracoke Island!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

This was our 2nd week-long stay at The Cove, which we absolutely love! Erin and Chad are warm and hospitable hosts, and her breakfasts are delicious and a great way to get the day started.
Our suite was quite large and made a pleasant headquarters for our week. Watching the colors of the sunset from our balcony on our last night was fantastic. The Cove is a great location to stay on the island. You are only a 5-10 minute walk from Pamlico Sound through Springer's Point, which overlooks Teaches Hole, named after the famed pirate Blackbeard.
We love the afternoon wine/cheese/dip/crackers "happy hour" as a great way to meet other guests. We have met wonderful travelers from as far away as England and Canada on our stays at The Cove.
We will definitely be back and give a big "two thumbs up" to The Cove.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    40
    12
    7
    0
See reviews for
7
178
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pickering, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Erin and Chad are very dedicated and attentive hosts. Our room was very spacious and comfortable, with a private balcony facing Pamlico Sound. Erin's breakfasts were delectable and very satisfying, and her Eggs Benedict were absolutely the best. Our best memories of The Cove is the cocktail hour, with complimentary wine and snacks - it was great fun socializing with the other guests, sharing laughs and stories! The Cove is the perfect place to stay and relax in Ocracoke, ideally located within walking or biking distance of all the restaurants and shops. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: The Cedar room is very spacious and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012


I can't say enough about The Cove B&B.
A warm, inviting & relaxing place owned by two of the most gracious, down to Earth people I've ever met.
Great breakfasts start your day.. The delicious aromas waft up to your room each morning..kinda like when you were
a kid waking up to mom's pancakes..
Same goes for the available bikes.. Old school..Winding you down the beach roads to shops, the beach..wherever. You make your own experience.. there are no rules..& there's plenty of privacy if that's your thing.
Thanks Erin & Chad for a memorable
stay!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, North Carolina, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Our first stay at a B&B and it was great. It's wonderful to wake up to a fantastic breakfast and cheerful people. We enjoyed trading experiences with the other guests. Erin and Chad were great help in choosing places to go for kayaking and beach combing. Would definitely recommend The Cove to anyone wanting a fun getaway that is close enough to downtown but far enough away to relax.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, North Carolina, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

My husband has been to Ocracoke many times to fish, but I had never been. My expectations were really high because it was our anniversary weekend and also our first time staying at a B & B. Well, my expectations were exceeded! The Cove is a beautiful location. The building was really pretty, clean and beautifully decorated. Our room, The Portsmouth Suite, was huge, beautiful, and so comfy. The view from the awesome whirlpool tub, of the light house, was breath taking. The other view, from the balcony, was amazing at sunset.
I didn't know what to expect at breakfast, but each day was so yummy. Both Erin and Chad are talented cooks. My favorite was the pumpkin pancakes, but the Eggs Benedict is a close second!
Although we didn't use them, it was really cool that The Cove has a ton of bicycles available for you to use free of charge. Most other locations charge. Another great perk.
But, the BEST part of our stay were Erin and Chad themselves. They are so friendly, helpful and kind. They made our weekend super special. Thanks guys!

Room Tip: The Portsmouth was fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh NC
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Erin and Chad showed us such a warm welcome and really took good care of us. Our highlight was sitting on the screened in porch (bugs are pretty bad at Ocracoke) reading, eating and relaxing. The rooms were clean, nicely decorated, have A/C, and the beds were VERY comfortable. Wine and snacks each day, and the breakfasts were DELICIOUS! Thanks for a great time.

Room Tip: At least one room has it's own screened in porch which would be nice, and the top room on the 3r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We spent 7 nights at The CoveBed & Breakfast - it was Awesome! This was our first time ever staying at a B&B. Erin & Chad made it a wonderful experience! Being greeted every morning by Erin's bright smile,  hot coffee and fantastic breakfast creations made it hard to sleep in! Not sure how she and Chad pulled off a different - delicious breakfast for 7 days straight, but they did! Erin's friendly service and insight to the island made it comfortable to plan our day. The house is spacious, the rooms are clean, the bed is comfy and the Cove is QUIET! Something to be said for the "no kids under 15 rule"! We will tell all our friends & family to visit. Erin & Chad, thank you for making our vacation relaxing and enjoyable! ~ Greg & Christine Proffitt

Room Tip: The Plover Suite is on first floor and has private entrance!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Cove Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cove Bed and Breakfast

Address: 21 Loop Road, P.O. Box 1300, Ocracoke, NC 27960-1300
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Ocracoke
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Ocracoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After an hour ferry ride you'll find yourself really able to unwind. Four rooms and three suites, a scrumptious full breakfast (such as Eggs Benedict, stuffed French toast, pumpkin pancakes and others) can make lunch optional. You'll love our fig preserves, made with our very own figs. Our complimentary evening wine and light hors d'oeuvres reception and bikes, together with water and sunset vistas like none before will embrace you. 14 Miles of undeveloped beach, charter fishing, charming shopping or just doin' nothin' will have you coming back! See you soon? ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Cove Hotel Ocracoke
The Cove b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cove Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.