We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, clean 1930's era hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blackbeard's Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ocracoke
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blackbeard's Lodge
Save
You added Blackbeard's Lodge to your Saves list
111 Back Road, Ocracoke, NC 27960   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Ocracoke
Williamsburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Good, clean 1930's era hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2008

We stayed here for one night. It is a 1930's hotel with character. Lots of flowers, interesting pictures fill the lobby and front porch. We stayed in a king room and found the bed comfortable and the room very clean (no carpet - all hardwood floors). The air conditioning unit was not on when we got to the room but the desk person escorted us up and turned it on for us. It took a while to cool down the large room but otherwise, the room was very nice. The curtains were not "black out" curtains so the room was bright from lights and from the sun in the morning but we were not bothered by that. The bathroom was updated and very clean. The staff was pleasant and accommodating - both of the restaurants they recommended were good.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and location
  • Disliked — Would have liked internet in the rooms instead of just the lobby
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    37
    16
    13
    16
See reviews for
38
45
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2008

Things I liked:
Check in & staff are very friendly and helpful
The room (room #9) was a good size and suitable for 2 with an infant with crib
The bathroom was clean and updated
The location is great. You walk or bike to most places.
The atmosphere is older, but quaint and rustic
The price was great for Memorial Day Weekend. I didn't want to pay $200+ a night, so we chose the Blackbeard ($120)

Things I didn't like:
Since each room is different, there isn't a uniform feeling of room decor, amenitites, location, etc. like you get at a chain (but this can be a good thing for people)
And the mosquitos... there are tons of mosquitos in May.
BRING BUG SPRAY!

Overall, we would stay here again... unless we found something cheaper elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2008

I read about this place in a Let's Go! travel guide and thought I'd try it out. After visiting the website and looking at the rooms (yes, there are photos of every individual room), we decided to give it a go.

I was pleasantly surprised from start to finish, once I got over the fact that they don't have online booking capability. The staff was helpful during booking, when we called to let them know we'd be arriving late, and during our stay. The lodge was very clean, the beds were *extremely* comfortable, and it was in a nice, quiet location right in the center of Ocracoke Village. It's close to the ferry to go to the mainland, a cinch to get to, and close to the beach as well. There's a cute coffee shop just about a half a block away that we also loved. Anyway, we were surprised to find that besides our room being nice, the lodge also has a nice lobby area, game room with a pool table etc., and a nice outdoor pool. Oh, and it's reasonably priced too! I highly recommend checking it out.

We loved this place and if we get the chance to return to Ocracoke, we will certainly stay here again!

  • Liked — It was just... cute. I liked everything about it.
  • Disliked — Never found out whether or not they had internet access; forgot to ask, there was nothing about it in the room.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, NC
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2007

This is a quaint, clean and friendly place to stay. We stayed here in June of 2006. I booked the trip at the last minute and had to take what I could get as far as accommodations. The staff is friendly and the rooms are clean, but very small. They do have larger rooms and apartments and I cannot speak about those. We stayed in “Room 20” which had a queen bed, desk, TV, small refrigerator, nightstand and the bathroom sink all in one room (the only room besides other than the small bathroom with the tub/shower and toilet). The AC was a window unit (mounted in the wall) and worked well. The biggest problem here was the size of the room. It worked for a couple nights, but I would not recommend it for long. The price was reasonable and what I would expect for this type of accommodation. The hotel also has a game room, porch and a nice pool. In a nutshell: This is a nice hotel that was built in the 30’s. It’s a “quaint” setting for a short stay. Don’t expect spacious rooms or a view. There are no “oceanfront” accommodations on Ocracoke, but there are “lake front” on the harbor. If you really want a nice place to stay, see my review on Captain’s Landing!

  • Liked — Clean, Friendly, Value
  • Disliked — Size of room
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2007

I was a little apprehensive about staying at this Inn because of the negative reviews. But, a friend of mine had stayed at Blackbeards' about a month prior, and she really loved it.

We were booked in Room 3 (Honeymoon, Anniversary Suite). They usually save this room for couples. We had our own private porch (on the 3d floor), and nice Adirondack chairs and end tables. I had heeded warnings, and brought insect repellant, and an insect repellent candle. Having taken care of the mesquito issue, we enjoyed wonderful evenings out on the porch, drinking wine, and watching the stars and people go by.

You're not going to experience a Ritz Carlton or even Hilton type room. Our room was comfy and clean. The quilted bedspread provided a nice touch. The room was paneled, and there was a mini-fridge in the room, which was nice, as I had brought a cooler stocked w/liquid refreshments. The bathroom was small, but we had a nice sized jacuzzi.

The Inn also has a heated outdoor pool. The first night, I went down and took a dip. It was so wonderful floating on my back and looking at the stars. During the day, we made use of the pool, and we were allowed to bring our coolers w/cocktails down to the pool. We mingled with other guests, who were very friendly.

I liked the fact that there were not a lot of kids or teenagers there. There were some kids, but the environment was more adult oriented, and we liked that.

One of the best things, is that the Back Porch Restaurant is right across the street. Fantastic food. I had the seafood platter (their fish is wonderful), and my husband had the filet mignon, which he said was probably the best he'd ever had.

I think the negative reviews appear because people have certain expectations, they may be too rigid, and they are not prepared to completely relax and unwind, and go with the flow. Our room did not have a phone or a clock, and we liked that. Our time at Blackbeard Inn really gave us an opportunity to unwind and relax.

I would highly recommend this establishment.

  • Liked — The heated pool and location
  • Disliked — Wished it would have a bar or lounge
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2007

Our family of four stayed at Blackbeard's Lodge Aug. 17th for one night. We knew from previous reviews that this wasn't a "new facility" so we were expecting to take some things with a grain of salt. The check-in was smooth - the downstairs area was beautiful and what you would expect at "the beach". Our room was small - but as promised had two beds, AC and a bathroom.
The downside to the room was the loud AC unit (you could see daylight from around the unit), the drain in the bathtub was rusted and wouldn't hold water, the furniture in the room was banged up. The upside to the room - the beds were very comfortable (and clean) - cable TV - AC unit kept the room cool.
The pool area was very nice as well. When making reservations - you should ask about parking - we had to carry our luggage a long way in respect to where our room was located.

The staff was very friendly as were all of the other guests and local shop owners. Would we return again? I'm not sure. If you've never been to Ocracoke - give this place a try and decide for yourself.

  • Liked — The pool area
  • Disliked — The facility needs some remodeling / updating
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2007

We recently stayed at Blackbeards Lodge for a couple nights during our short vacation. This is not a five-star hotel, but that's okay, we can't afford a five-star place anyway. It is reasonably priced, especially for this time of year and in relation to some of the other options available on the island, it is a great deal. We spent less than one hundred a night ( most other places we looked into were well over this price) and had a good room with a small fridge and a double bed. The room was not large but was adequate for sleeping and preparing for our day trips. The air conditioning worked great and Joe ( a genuinely nice guy ) fixed the remote for our tv without any delay. They have bikes for rent at the lodge and we found that is really the best way to get around the island. The bikes had locks provided and detachable baskets so that after hitting a few spots for tourist trinkets we could carry the basket into the next shop or restaurant and not have to worry about our trinkets disappearing. I would recommend this hotel for folks that do not have an unlimited budget and are not afraid of bath fixtures that have been around for a few years.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Blackbeard's Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackbeard's Lodge

Address: 111 Back Road, Ocracoke, NC 27960
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Ocracoke
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Ocracoke
Number of rooms: 36
Also Known As:
Blackbeard`s Hotel Ocracoke
Blackbeards Hotel Ocracoke

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blackbeard's Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.