We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth it” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Teeter's Campground

Teeter's Campground
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ocracoke
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Teeter's Campground
Save
You added Teeter's Campground to your Saves list
200 British Cemetery Road, Ocracoke, NC 27960   |  
Hotel amenities
A TripAdvisor Member
“Not worth it”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2006

Teeter's Campground is not for everyone -- especially people who are looking to "relax," as one person wrote. The noise bothered everyone in my family, and the site itself was a disgrace. I agree with the first poster -- there is a MUCH better, cleaner, nicer, quieter campground down the road. This place isn't worth the small amount we payed to stay there. yuck.

Stayed July 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    9
    2
    0
    4
See reviews for
4
8
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2005

I have stayed at Teeters many times now over the years and have enjoyed all trips there. The facilities are ok, and it's real close to town center and lots of stores. I have read a review bashing this site, if people making noise at night bother you, you should probably keep your RV or Tent at home and camp in your back yard, If your camping your there to have fun and relax on your vacation and that usually does not involve nap time at 12:30 and going to bed at 8pm. (And PS the confederate flag is at the site, there are several thousand confederate memorials all over the south, it is not a sign of racism, just a rememberance of our nations history)

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, AR
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2005

Teeters Campground is one of the few places to camp on the island and has hookups. It is owned by a family that has lived on the island for many years. The family is friendly and helpful. The campground could be a little bit cleaner, but otherwise we loved it. It is close to the town center and we had a great time walking and biking around.

  • Stayed June 2003
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2005

i like teeters it cheep and it just a simple way to stay i mean most of the time your not going to be there. man give me a tent some sleeping bags and extra cloths and im there boy!!

  • Stayed August 2004
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2004

We arrived at Teeter's Campground with reservations for a weekend stay on July 31. We were greeted by a Confederate flag on the flagpole and a cigarette smoking, dirty and torn tee-shirt wearing Teeter, who took our $40 in cash and waved us to a campsite across the potholed, gravel drive from his "house". The campground is basically the trashed yard of Teeter's home. After clearing away dog droppings and sweeping aside hundreds of cigarette butts littering the tent site, we set up camp under the watchful eyes of beer-swilling neighbors. All night long, those same camper-neighbors talked loudly, smoked, and revved engines in their trucks as we tried to sleep. At 4 a.m. they left to retrieve more beer, but soon returned to continue their revelries. Teeter never even poked his head out of the door to quiet them. The showers consist of a block building the size of a large closet. They were dirty and in very poor repair. The screened windows had gaping holes and the floors were slimy and filthy. The area reserved for RV's did seem slightly nicer, but not by much. I recommend campers steer clear of Teeter's and continue down Highway 12 to the National Park campground that offers much nicer facilities for the same fee. We left after the first night even though we paid for two nights. I will never stay at Teeter's again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Teeter's Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Teeter's Campground

Address: 200 British Cemetery Road, Ocracoke, NC 27960
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Ocracoke
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Ocracoke
Also Known As:
Teeter`s Campground Hotel Ocracoke

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Teeter's Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.