We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Steamy goodness!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Captain Puddle Ducks' Seafood Steamer Pots

Captain Puddle Ducks' Seafood Steamer Pots
322 Lighthouse Road, Ocracoke, NC (Formerly Captain puddle ducks')
+1 252-588-0107
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 29 Restaurants in Ocracoke
Price range: $8 - $19
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery
Plymouth, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Steamy goodness!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Our pot came within half an hour of us calling to order it. We had everything we needed for a feast at our cottage. Directions were easy, and the fresh seafood was delicious. For a family of five, it was a great bargain, much less expensive than going to a restaurant, with zero hassle.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    3
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Not local seafood”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

When I come to the beach, I want local, fresh seafood. That's what makes it good and special. I can get frozen snow card and west coast dungeness crab at home.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heatheroneal, Owner at Captain Puddle Ducks' Seafood Steamer Pots, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Your generalization "not local seafood" is false. At Captain Puddle Ducks we offer fresh shrimp, clams, blue crabs, stone crab claws and oysters in season; all harvested right here in the Pamlico Sound by local fishermen. We also offer other popular options including lobster, mussels, the snow crab and dungeness crab you mentioned, andouille sausage, corn and potatoes in our steamer pots. We offer several different options on our menu featuring our most popular combinations of these selections. Custom pots are also available. We work closely with each customer to plan a seafood steamer pot specifically tailored to their tastes and preferences. If we cannot provide what our customers request, we are more than happy to refer them to a local seafood dealer or restaurant that may be able to provide what they have requested. We are sorry that you did not voice your wishes or concerns during your stay in our village. We would have gladly helped you find what you were searching for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Food Wherever You Want to Eat It”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

This was a great experience, and this business has thought of everything to make a meal fun and easy. We ordered a steamed pot around 3:30 for delivery to our boat at 6:00pm. The food came right to the dock and made all of our neighbors jealous. It had seemed a little expensive, but when we got everything, we realized it was a good value. Aside from the freshly steamed seafood, they provided everything we needed for a meal. There were quartered fresh lemons, more cocktail sauce and butter than we could need, crackers, and hand wipes. We had been looking for a nutcracker to eat our seafood with, but the steamer pot came with one. They really thought of everything. Overall, this is the perfect meal for when you want really high quality seafood, ready to eat wherever you want to enjoy it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A tradition is born.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

There are several restaurants on the island that we look forward to every year. We just added a new one and put it at the top of the list. By far the best seafood on Ocracoke.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heatheroneal, Owner at Captain Puddle Ducks' Seafood Steamer Pots, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
We are a family business and are so honored that you plan to make Captain Puddle Ducks' an Ocracoke vacation tradition! Thank you for your review. We look forward to a long, happy future with you and your family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The best food on the island.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Puddleducks was, by far, the best food we ate during our stay on Ocracoke. We ordered a steamer for four and an hour later our food arrived at our door hot, fresh and delicious. What a feast. Definitely something we will order again and again!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captain Puddle Ducks' Seafood Steamer Pots also viewed

 
Hatteras Island, Outer Banks
 

Been to Captain Puddle Ducks' Seafood Steamer Pots? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Captain Puddle Ducks' Seafood Steamer Pots, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.