We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Captain's Landing Waterfront Hotel Suites

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ocracoke
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Captain's Landing Waterfront Hotel Suites
Save
You added Captain's Landing Waterfront Hotel Suites to your Saves list
324 Hwy 12, P O Box 1150, Ocracoke, NC 27960   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Ocracoke
Logan, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Can you believe the owner helped carry our bags up to our room? We were upgraded to a nicer suite on the 2nd floor also. These folks are #1 in my book.

I must also report that right on the street in front of this is one of the very best decoy shops I've seen.

We greatly enjoyed eduardo's taco stand, backporch/dijio's restaurants & maybe 1.25 miles out of town is a great beach. Bring sunscreen! I didn't.

We took the free ferry from Hatteras which is about an hour trip now, and left on the Swan's Quarter ferry $15/2.25 hours and this for us was a quicker way back to Ohio.

Stayed 4 days at Captain's Landing and really enjoyed our stay. Would go back in a minute.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    11
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
19
74
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We were initially thinking of the new red hotel you can see as you arrive in the harbor but when we got there, it was more like a Holiday Inn - so we stumbled on Capt's Landing and loved it. And it is right across the street from the best restaurant on island. We had cocktails out on the dock and watched the birds and boats - it was beautiful and so tranquil. And a nice add was having two bathrooms. Highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We knew nothing of the Outer Banks when we left Australia to drive from Washington down to Savannah and then north to Asheville, Nashville, Memphis and St Louis. It was really just an afterthough - a decision we don't regret.
What a beautiful part of the US! From Newport News to Nag's Head, Ocracoke and then back to the mainland, this was a memorable drive and stay. We hadn't booked ahead but, fortunately, we able to get an upstairs rooms at The Captain's Landing.
The room was spacious, the bed comfy but, best of all, the sunset over the sound was unforgettable on a balmy evening. he only bugbear were the people next door smoking on their balcony. A minor quibble.
We drove to a nearby beach via a dirt road and its white sands and great surf were remiscent of home in Australia.
We were also in awe of the timbers homes on the beaches and how they must be so resilient against storms.
Such a glorious area - thankyou!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I've lived in NC for almost 12 years now and never visited OBX. I took a chance on Captain's Landing since we weren't familiar with the area, and we were HAPPY, HAPPY, HAPPY!! From calling for reservations and talking with Karen, to meeting the owners George and Betty and getting a personal tour of the grounds and rooms, to meeting Jorge and his wife we couldn't have been more pleasantly surprised and we can't wait to plan our next trip! The pictures on the website don't deviate from exactly what you get in each room. George and Betty made us feel like we were staying in their own home. Clean, clean, clean rooms, which are almost nonexistent these days. One part of the room we loved was there was 1 1/2 bathrooms! The rooms had a full kitchen and was equipped with almost everything you need for a vacation, minus the food, which they provided excellent suggestions and had menu's for local restaurants. The deck was incredible, huge and well appointed with chairs, lounges and tables for enjoying the views of the water. Every room comes with a oversized personal parking space and they even have a DVD collection in the office where you can check out several movies at a time for free!! It was a rainy, windy night when we first arrived so the movies and take-out were much appreciated. Thank you George, Betty, Karen, Jorge and his wife for making our first trip to Ocracoke our best trip yet! WE WILL BE BACK!

Room Tip: All rooms were excellent choices
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Very nice staff and owners, super helpful and friendly. Rooms are large, clean and well maintained. It's right on the water so remember that means things are effected by the salt and may stick a little. Easy to maintain temperature, it was cold outside when I was there and very comfortable in the room. They have free bikes and newer bikes to rent, also golf carts to rent. It is right on the Ocracoke bay called Silver Lake, so it is right in the heart of town. During my stay it was very quiet; but the owners said it is jumping during the summer. Town is spread out, covering about 1 square mile. So if you are a walker or hiker, it is easy to walk the entire town in a day. Great restaurant across the street. All rooms have kitchens. Since most of Ocracoke is Park Service, you have to drive to the ocean beaches and they are secluded and beautiful. Also since Ocracoke is an island you must get there by ferry from North and South, so you already have a car or bicycle. I suppose someone could be walking only, but then that is a special person and has different perspective from mine. I truly loved my stay here and plan to return. Prices radically change during tourist season, I heard.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

My girlfriend and I decided to stay at Captain's Landing (CL) for a long weekend over President's Day. Although there's not much hustle and bustle on Ocracoke this time of year (which is precicely why we went in February), the off-season lodging savings are incredible and places such as CL offer very reasonable nightly rates. All rooms at CL overlook beautiful Silver Lake Harbor and are very well lit with natural light. The room I stayed in had a full kitchen (well-stocked with cooking implements, plates, glasses, and silverware), 1.5 bathrooms, a very comfortable bed, and a living area with a couch, chairs, and satellite television. The room also had a porch with outdoor furniture and tables (accessed by either the bedroom or living area) looking out on the water. The room was very clean and comfortable, the bathwater was warm, and the staff was extremely friendly and helpful (especially in food recommendations, which is important as many of the Island's food offering were seasonally closed). I highly recommend CL for your next stay on Ocracoke Island and bring a bike; it's all you'll need!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

During the winter your hotel options are greatly curtailed on Ocracoke. That said, this hotel was hardly a booby prize! My room was clean and comfortable, if a little unorthodox in its layout. I had a beautiful ocean view from my balcony and all the solitude I cared for. The location is perfect being right near the ferry and fishing boat docks. You are within easy walking distance of anything you would care to do on the island. Also, the owners were cordial, helpful and pleasant to talk with. Now, would I stay here during the summer? For the price they are asking, likely not. However, if money is not a limiter for you, then you've found a great lodging option!

Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Captain's Landing Waterfront Hotel Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain's Landing Waterfront Hotel Suites

Address: 324 Hwy 12, P O Box 1150, Ocracoke, NC 27960
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Ocracoke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Ocracoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Captain`s Landing Waterfront Hotel Ocracoke
Captains Landing Waterfront Hotel
Captains Landing Waterfront Ocracoke

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Captain's Landing Waterfront Hotel Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.