We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place in Ocracoke” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Captain's Landing Waterfront Hotel Suites

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ocracoke
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Captain's Landing Waterfront Hotel Suites
Save Saved
You added Captain's Landing Waterfront Hotel Suites to your Saves list
324 Hwy 12, P O Box 1150, Ocracoke, NC 27960   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Ocracoke
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great place in Ocracoke”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Very nice staff and owners, super helpful and friendly. Rooms are large, clean and well maintained. It's right on the water so remember that means things are effected by the salt and may stick a little. Easy to maintain temperature, it was cold outside when I was there and very comfortable in the room. They have free bikes and newer bikes to rent, also golf carts to rent. It is right on the Ocracoke bay called Silver Lake, so it is right in the heart of town. During my stay it was very quiet; but the owners said it is jumping during the summer. Town is spread out, covering about 1 square mile. So if you are a walker or hiker, it is easy to walk the entire town in a day. Great restaurant across the street. All rooms have kitchens. Since most of Ocracoke is Park Service, you have to drive to the ocean beaches and they are secluded and beautiful. Also since Ocracoke is an island you must get there by ferry from North and South, so you already have a car or bicycle. I suppose someone could be walking only, but then that is a special person and has different perspective from mine. I truly loved my stay here and plan to return. Prices radically change during tourist season, I heard.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    10
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
19
69
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, North Carolina, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

My girlfriend and I decided to stay at Captain's Landing (CL) for a long weekend over President's Day. Although there's not much hustle and bustle on Ocracoke this time of year (which is precicely why we went in February), the off-season lodging savings are incredible and places such as CL offer very reasonable nightly rates. All rooms at CL overlook beautiful Silver Lake Harbor and are very well lit with natural light. The room I stayed in had a full kitchen (well-stocked with cooking implements, plates, glasses, and silverware), 1.5 bathrooms, a very comfortable bed, and a living area with a couch, chairs, and satellite television. The room also had a porch with outdoor furniture and tables (accessed by either the bedroom or living area) looking out on the water. The room was very clean and comfortable, the bathwater was warm, and the staff was extremely friendly and helpful (especially in food recommendations, which is important as many of the Island's food offering were seasonally closed). I highly recommend CL for your next stay on Ocracoke Island and bring a bike; it's all you'll need!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

During the winter your hotel options are greatly curtailed on Ocracoke. That said, this hotel was hardly a booby prize! My room was clean and comfortable, if a little unorthodox in its layout. I had a beautiful ocean view from my balcony and all the solitude I cared for. The location is perfect being right near the ferry and fishing boat docks. You are within easy walking distance of anything you would care to do on the island. Also, the owners were cordial, helpful and pleasant to talk with. Now, would I stay here during the summer? For the price they are asking, likely not. However, if money is not a limiter for you, then you've found a great lodging option!

Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey, USA
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

My wife and I have been staying at Captains Landing for about 10 years. We love the arrangement - comfortable apartments with all the amenities you could ask for. Much nicer than hotel rooms. And they are kept spotlessly clean. The views of Silver Lake make my blood pressure drop significantly - charming, peaceful and, with a good sunset, spectacular! George and Betty run a first class establishment. This trip has been slightly marred by the current dredging in Silver Lake. I'm sure it won't last too much longer, but I'd check before coming.

Room Tip: We always prefer the second floor rooms - less noise and better view. The penthouse is just wonderf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

So many good things to write about this place---service is EXCELLENT! This is my #1 criteria in choosing a place. Staff were very friendly,helpful and knowledgeable. Great view of Silver Lake, fresh linens daily, they'll even do your dishes for you! I love that they have a nice selection of movies for free--we had to stay in (1) day when it was just pouring all day---still have a nice view, good movie and full kitchen made it a nice day to just cuddle and relax, while seafood steaming in kitchen. The only thing I would probably ask to be improved is the spotty wi-fi in hotel, but if you're out all day it probably doesn't matter. So overall, I will stay here again---worth the $$$$!

Room Tip: 201 is the best!---can listen to music from Jolly Rogers Pub from your balcony (best seat in the hou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We stayed at Captains Landing this summer (July). We had stayed there a couple of years ago off season and liked it OK., but most of the island was shut down due to it being off season.
We wanted to see what it was like in season so we went for four nights in July.
The hotel is well kept and very clean. We were in room 102. The rooms while not luxurious are spacious and have a full kitchen. It was very comfortable, although the sofa could use freshening and the noise from adjacent rooms was very noticeable. The staff couldn't have been more pleasant and accommodating. There are large patios with a great view of the harbor and sunsets.
If you do stay at Ocracoke, I would suggest you be sure to book a place with a kitchen. The restaurants are all overpriced for mediocre food at best. There are several variety stores where you can purchase grocery's and prepare much better meals than you would get at any of the restaurants there. Another plus for a Captains Landing room with a kitchen.
There is plenty to do on the island if you are not looking for night life. You can fish, kayak, para-sail or do countless other activities. The beaches are beautiful and if you have four wheel drive you can ride along the beaches and find solitude if you desire. They have however, implemented a permit system for driving on the beach. As of this year you need to purchase a weekly permit for 50.00 and attend a short class to be allowed to drive on the beach.
Overall we had a good time and may return eventually.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

First - the good: The front desk staff, housekeeping, and the friendly handyman were very helpful. Having a full kitchen was a huge benefit, the views were simply lovely, and the location was excellent. As for the bad - having to make reservations through a rental company rather than the Inn, was a huge pain. All monies have to be paid in advance of your stay. By the time that several contracts were signed, we felt as though we'd gone through a complicated courtcase. We also were not happy that a significant number of people had access to our credit card information. Lastly, I would urge the Inn to put window coverings up rather than just white blinds. The aluminum blinds were broken or bent. While we liked the Inn itself, if fellow travelers are reserving there, take along some large pashimas and a few clothes pins - these will cover at least the bedroom blinds.

Room Tip: Choose the second floor and ask for a quiet room in the middle for the best view. Chose a suite wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Captain's Landing Waterfront Hotel Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain's Landing Waterfront Hotel Suites

Address: 324 Hwy 12, P O Box 1150, Ocracoke, NC 27960
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Ocracoke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Ocracoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Captain`s Landing Waterfront Hotel Ocracoke
Captains Landing Waterfront Hotel
Captains Landing Waterfront Ocracoke

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Captain's Landing Waterfront Hotel Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.