We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Edwards of Ocracoke

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ocracoke
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Edwards of Ocracoke
Save
You added Edwards of Ocracoke to your Saves list
226 Old Beach Road, Ocracoke, NC 27960   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Ocracoke
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We booked our bungalow room via internet and a confirmation phone call shortly before our arrival. Although we arrived after closing (6pm), a note with instructions had been left for us. When we entered the room, our immediate reaction was "we are soooo returning here". The room was clean and welcoming. Four windows enabled us to enjoy the cross breeze. The bathroom contained toilet, sink and shower which was sufficient for our needs. The owners/staff were friendly and helpful, going out of their way to make our stay enjoyable.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    29
    8
    3
    3
See reviews for
31
80
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wewahitchka, Florida
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Amazing little place,, off the main drag,, nice staff & atmosphere,, coffee shop 1 block away,, downtown shops about 1/4 mile walk,, ferry ride to Cedar Island is 2.5 hours,, was great for first hour,, then boring, bring a book, deck of cards, coloring book, fingernail clippers, rod & reel, jogging shorts, just something to occupy your time,,,,,,,, will definitely stay again and bring motorcycle buddies !!!!

Room Tip: need to book in advance in summer & weekends
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garner, NC
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We love Edwards of Ocracoke. The owners and staff were both friendly and helpful. Our most recent vist was over the Thanksgiving holiday. My son's single room was clean and very cozy with a surprisingly large bathroom. Our efficiency room was also clean and spacious, and it had everything we needed to prepare family meals (full size stove/oven, fridge, and table). We really love the 50s decor (lamps, clocks, melmak mixing bowls), the screened porchs, and the courtyard area with fantastic seating under live oaks and Carolina jasmine to toast the days end. The beds are firm enough for a great nights sleep. Edwards' location is off the main highway, so it's quiet and away from the ferry traffic. And the price is RIGHT compared to other places on the island. We have been coming to Ocracoke for holidays and family vacations for more than 40 years - camping and staying in a variety of the older motels. Now we have found our home away from home at Edwards of Ocracoke.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We took the ferry from Hatteras and arrived late. I hadn't called to tell them but they had a note for us with our room keys! It is not a fancy hotel but a family run place with small cottages. We were told in Nags Head that there would be no cell phone service or wifi at the hotel but that wasn't true. We had great signal for both!

Shopping and restaurants are close by. Well, it's a small island! Lol

I also went for a 10 mile run in the morning and felt very safe.

Great place to stay! Our friends stayed in a cottage near us and they had a small kitchen which was convenient. I'd definitely recommend staying here! You won't be disappointed!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Stayed two nights. Was like a motel from the 60s. Clean. Owners were nice and helpful. Mattresses were firm giving a good nights sleep. Will definitely stay here again. Direct TV. WiFi. Screened porch. Three beds in our room. Refrigerator.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty Hawk, North Carolina
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Again...clean room, friendly welcoming service! Simple...we look to get away from it all and it's so easy to slip into island as soon as walk in to the office at check-in. We LOVE Edwards! Wont stay anywhere else in Ocracoke!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope Mills, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Edwards of Ocracoke is a Motel that takes you back to the 1950' & 1960's with updated rooms. The motel has a good location one street back from the harbor and is in easy biking distance to all Ocracoke activities. We have stayed at Edward's four times and every time the rooms have been clean and the furniture has been in good condition. The rooms are "upbeat" not having the depressing feeling that an all cedar wood room has, that are common in this area. The room cost is very reasonable compared to other motels in the area. It is one street back from the harbor that may account for some of the price reduction. The Bungalow room is our favorite, but note some only have a shower. Very nice motel that we recommend.

One note: We made a reservation to stay on the Oct-26/27 weekend and paid one night's deposit. We understood that if we cancelled we would lose our one night's room deposit. A tropical storm headed up the coast and Edward's issued an e-mail message warning us that the storm was approaching and that we should have a Ferry reservation, we appreciated the head's up. As it turned out, the storm was going to be pretty bad and the island may be isolated for a couple of days, so we canceled our reservation and lost our deposit. Trip insurance may have covered this situation so you should consider the trip insurance in future stays. But a note to remember, my sister was also staying on the island but at the Harborside Motel. The Harborside sent her an e-mail that requested her not to visit this weekend because of the weather and refunded her deposit even though she did not have trip insurance. They also allowed her to make a one night's reservation instead of the two night's reservation that Edward's required. The Harborside just asked her to return to their motel on her next stay. This is more like the family owned motels that we are used to on the outer banks. Just one thing to consider when scheduling your next visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Edwards of Ocracoke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edwards of Ocracoke

Address: 226 Old Beach Road, Ocracoke, NC 27960
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Ocracoke
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Ocracoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edwards of Ocracoke offers a classic island facility located in the heart of Ocracoke Village and is convenient to shops, restaurants and Silver Lake Harbor, on a quiet, less traveled street. The accommodations are modern, exceptionally clean and very reasonably priced, while retaining the original charm and ambiance of the quaint fishing village atmosphere. Edwards offers a variety of options for vacationers and travelers: single rooms, double rooms, apartments and cottages which can accommodate couples and families. The facility is family-owned and operated and provides charming accommodations in a tranquil setting. It's like going back in time - you can relax and enjoy life like you're suppose to. We welcome you to our vintage facility and hope that you discover the charm. Our guests like to walk and bike to shops and restaurants or gather outside in the courtyard to visit, grill, barbecue or clean their fish catch. Many of the guests return annually to their favorite units and often bring others to share in their vacation tradition with us at Edwards of Ocracoke. The facilities consist of 8 motel rooms, 3 efficiency rooms, 6 cottage apartments and 2 private cottages. Most have private screened porches while others offer open porches and decks, providing a room outdoors as a part of the relaxed atmosphere that is offered at Edwards. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Edwards Of Ocracoke Hotel Ocracoke
Edwards Hotel Ocracoke
Edwards Motel Ocracoke

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Edwards of Ocracoke, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.