We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luv this place!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sand Dollar Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ocracoke
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sand Dollar Motel
Save
You added Sand Dollar Motel to your Saves list
70 Sand Dollar Rd., Ocracoke, NC 27960   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Ocracoke
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Luv this place!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

You can't beat the price for an Island hotel with a great pool clean rooms friendly & helpful staff! We luv Roger at the front & always remembers us when we get there every time! We have stayed other places out there & we now always call Roger 1st when making a trip that way!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Darnmanley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Level Contributor
72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

My sister, my nephew and I headed down to the island for a last minute trip. I have never stayed at this motel was very pleased. We were greeted by a super friendly manager who continued to wave to us each time he saw us throughout the trip. The room was like all other hotels I have stayed at on the island, a bit rustic but clean and served it's purpose. The only thing that stunk was the water pressure in the shower, it was very low. We didn't say anything to the staff to they may have been able to fix it if we had. The pool was really clean. It was located on a very quiet street but still close enough to walk or run all around the village. The price was nice too. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank YummyTravelsX2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville
Level Contributor
132 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

This is a nice bare-bones motel; perfect if you are on a budget but still want a clean, tidy, nice place to stay. We don't spend much time in the room and really just wanted a comfortable place to sleep.

Pros-
-parking
-within walking distance of everything
-friendly staff
-a nice pool area
-the air conditioning works
-little fridge in the rooms

Cons-
-No view
-The WiFi is spotty, so I ended up doing most of my work nearby at the coffee shop.

We would definitely stay here again, but if money were no issue we'd probably splurge for a hotel on the water.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Cville12369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garner, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

I've been coming to Ocracoke at least once a year for many, many years now. The Sand Dollar is, by far, my favorite place to stay. It doesn't matter if it is your first visit or you are a veteran guest...Roger and Linda treat you like you are a guest in their home! My husband and I usually fly in to the air strip and call for a ride to the motel....They are always there within a few minutes and catch us up on local events, island growth, etc. The motel is immaculately clean without exception! The grounds and pool area are equally clean, well maintained and welcoming. I simply can't say enough about the comfort, cleanliness and hospitality!

My daughter was talking about Ocracoke today and I told her about my recent visit....we fondly remembered the time when, years ago, she left her beloved "puppy" (the stuffed animal that will be around forever) behind at the Sand Dollar following a summer visit. She was distraught! I called Roger and explained, asking him to please mail "Puppy" to us and I would gladly pay for shipping. As it happened, he was going to be making a visit to our hometown the following day and delivered Puppy to a local merchant for me.

I gladly recommend the Sand Dollar for a couples, solo, or family visit...it is truly a little slice of Heaven.

Room Tip: The queen suite is my favorite due to the privacy (enclosed patio) and the convenience of a kitchene...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macungie, PA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

We had 4 days reserved at the Sand Dollar in April but had major weather issues and the ferries weren't running! We ended up 2 days late, which the wonderful Roger (manager) didn't charge us for. THEN, we got stuck ON the island with the SAME weather issues. Roger was kind enough to let us check out (and back in when the ferries weren't running) on a daily basis. We'd pack up when the ferries were running and get there and they'd shut down! Our unit 9, with 3 double beds and 2 bathrooms was perfect for us and immaculately clean. Roger was really wonderful to talk too and I've never felt so welcome at any other motel or hotel. Would love to return.

Room Tip: I was traveling with my mother and son so having three beds was fantastic (and really rare!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BLMMacungie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrells Inlet, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

My husband and I decided to spend our vacation (4/7/14 - 4/11/14) doing a road trip of the OBX. We found this cute little motel in a brochure. What a jewel!! It was cute as a button and neat as a pin! Office staff was so friendly, room was spotless, beds were comfy, price was right! Would most definitely stay there again!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LuLu_n_SC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

We stayed in the 2 BR "Keepin' Time" cottage and it was exactly what we needed. The cottage was recently redone, spotlessly clean with linens provided, had a full kitchen and all the necessary conveniences to include a small front yard and rocking chairs on the screened front porch. Check in and out was a breeze. I give it 5 stars not because it was luxurious or fancy but bacause it was very reasonably priced and met our needs, for a perfect getaway to a beautiful, quiet island in March and bacause Tommy, the owner, is perhaps the friendliest and most helpful person I've ever come in contact with. We will return!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Goneagain914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocracoke
17.6 mi away
The Breakwater Inn
The Breakwater Inn
#5 of 13 in Hatteras Island
4.0 of 5 stars 114 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blackbeard's Lodge
Blackbeard's Lodge
#7 of 9 in Ocracoke
3.5 of 5 stars 148 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Burrus House Inn
The Burrus House Inn
#5 of 10 in Manteo
4.5 of 5 stars 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sand Dollar Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sand Dollar Motel

Address: 70 Sand Dollar Rd., Ocracoke, NC 27960
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Ocracoke
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Ocracoke
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Sand Dollar Hotel Ocracoke

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing