We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean, comfortable we loved it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sand Dollar Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ocracoke
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sand Dollar Motel
Save
You added Sand Dollar Motel to your Saves list
70 Sand Dollar Rd., Ocracoke, NC 27960   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Ocracoke
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Very clean, comfortable we loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Very very clean, we enjoyed the pool, walking distance from good restaurants, the owner gave us good advice about the best restaurant for lunch or for dinner,we are going back next year.
make sure to reserve. Comfortable and nice decoration.
Suzanne and family

Room Tip: The night we were there it was really quit, not a place to party
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    15
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
25
24
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tennessee
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

I had never been to Ocracoke before but I would like to come back. The room at the Sand Dollar was a good value for the area. The room was clean and neat. The motel is located in a residential area but is close to activities. I had a small problem with the hot water in the sink. There appeared to be air in the line.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

Took an adventure to Ocracoke for the first time after staying in a timeshare resort in Kitty Hawk all week. Hope to return and would stay at Sand Dollar Suite with a pool again and again. Very private front porch, extremely spacious living room, full kitchen, dining room, king size bed, huge bathroom. Very clean and quite charming. Highly recommend. Planning to come off season too! Start a new tradition.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Egypt, New Jersey
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

This lovely little motel on a side street in Ocracoke Village is perfect for a family on a budget. The manager, Roger Garrish, is a nephew of Irvin Garrish (whom the main road in Ocracoke is named for), so you know you are in the safe hands of a local man with deep roots in the Village. Roger is Southern hospitality personified, a most genial, helpful and gracious host.

Our room was #11, the center room on the top floor. Although this is by no means a new facility, our 2-double bed room was spotlessly clean with a newly renovated bathroom. It had beautiful knotty wood paneling reminiscent of a hunting lodge, something you won't find in a chain motel. At a little over $100 per night, it is a real bargain in overpriced Ocracoke.

We had a scary, scary moment during the night when out of nowhere, a "tornado warning" was issued for Ocracoke Village after a violent storm. Our room was so quiet, we didn't even realize the storm was that bad until we got a text message directing us to hunker down!!Thankfully, the tornado fizzled out, and the next morning, everyone had a "tornado story". Roger confirmed that this was the first time in his memory that a tornado had threatened Ocracoke! He agreed that we are living in some strange times, weather-wise!!

Our only regret was that we only had one day to spend in Ocracoke, and so we didn't get a chance to take a dip in the adorable little pool in the back of the hotel. I did check out the bathers and can confirm that there was not a thong in sight. ; )

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We love staying here when we go to OBX. It has a cozy little but CLEAN pool. And we love to stay upstairs so we can over look the pool and hand out on the deck and grill. Great price and they are so friendly. Great location and not over priced at all. They have Wi Fi too. Lately this hotel has been very busy so make reservations ASAP. Seems like OBX best kept secret has gotten out! This is one of the cutest, and CLEANEST places we have been. Yes it is older but seriously, there is no Hampton Inn on the Island.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

The owners were friendly and helpful. The room was clean and quaint. It was close to everything. Would definitely stay there again. I am glad we stayed there for two nights instead of one. I didn't know they had a pool. Will have to check that the next time we are there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Our 2nd summer vacation to Ocracoke and again we stayed at The Sand Dollar Motel. We were glad to see Roger again. He is so friendly and makes you feel like family visiting. Once again, we loved our stay and we extended it this year. The room was spotless each adn every day, the pool area was clean, peaceful and inviting. The maid service was wonderful. I can't say enough about this quaint motel off the main road of Ocracoke. We will definitely be back again next summer!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sand Dollar Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sand Dollar Motel

Address: 70 Sand Dollar Rd., Ocracoke, NC 27960
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Ocracoke
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Ocracoke
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Sand Dollar Hotel Ocracoke

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sand Dollar Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.