We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Motel and excellent location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Silver Lake Motel & Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ocracoke
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Silver Lake Motel & Inn
Save Saved
You added The Silver Lake Motel & Inn to your Saves list
395 Irvin Garrish Highway, Ocracoke, NC   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Ocracoke
Cape Charles, Virginia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice Motel and excellent location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This is a nice motel and the location is excellent. It is right across from the Jolly Roger restaurant
which is on the harbor. The lounge is nice and the breakfast was good. The only problem is that the air conditioners are very loud. We stayed here with three other couples and all but one couple had very loud AC noise. The rooms were nice, a little dated, but very comfortable. We liked it and would stay agin just not when we needed AC.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a new air conditioner!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldobxer, Public Relations Manager at The Silver Lake Motel & Inn, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Thank you for your review here. I will forward your comments about the noisy AC unit. We aren't fancy but we hope our guests find our rooms clean and comfortable and our location cannot be beat. We do hope you come back soon and thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    29
    16
    12
    25
See reviews for
25
55
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hagerstown, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

This place is VERY friendly and accomodating for all your needs. Beautiful view, GREAT rocking chairs on deck, close to the music spots in the evening you can listen from your balcony. Very clean and comfy. Plenty of hot water (a plus!). Thanks for everything!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldobxer, Public Relations Manager at The Silver Lake Motel & Inn, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Well, thanks. We think we are friendly too. We like what we do and enjoy sharing our island with visitors. I especially like that you mentioned the nice views and being able to hear some good, local music from the balcony. Please come back when you can.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Absolutely wonderful people managing this Motel and the location is perfect! We needed a room on the Friday before Memorial Day and they came through for us and were such a joy to be around.
Having the Jolly Rodger restaurant right across the street was perfect.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldobxer, Public Relations Manager at The Silver Lake Motel & Inn, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Well, thank you! So good to hear that you enjoyed your time at the Silver Lake Motel and Inn. We think the Jolly Roger is a good choice too. Thank you for taking the time to let others on this forum know you had a good stay with us. We appreciate it. Please come back when you can.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

This hotel had everthing we needed for our 3 day beach vacation. The free breakfast was wonderful with plenty of options. The view of the harbor through the huge live oaks was so relaxing while sitting in our rockers sipping a few bevarages from the large balconies. Outdoor grills and tables make it convenient to cook up the local catch of the day or you can easily walk to all the restaraunts on the island. We plan to come back next spring for a whole week and get one of the suites with a private balcony and hammock!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldobxer, Public Relations Manager at The Silver Lake Motel & Inn, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
I am glad we were able to accommodate you. Your comments reflect exactly how we hope all of our guests feel when staying at the Silver Lake Motel and Inn. Those rocking chairs, along with the view of the harbor is relaxing, I agree. It sounds like you packed a lot of fun and relaxation into your mini vacation. Please do come back and thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manteo, North Carolina
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Just got back from our 3rd stay and as always very pleased! We have stayed in different suites each time and they have all been great. The beds are very comfortable, the view of Silver Lake is nice, the suite was very clean, the full kitchen is a great bonus and the fact that it is in walking/biking distance to everything, you could not ask for more. The staff was very friendly, we were even recognized and welcomed as being return guests. It was a great weekend getaway and we are already counting the days until we get to go back. The perfect place to just unwind and relax!

Room Tip: The corner suites have a larger balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
obxjm, Public Relations Manager at The Silver Lake Motel & Inn, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
We just re-opened for the season and it was so nice to get a great review right off the bat. You picked a wonderful time to come to Ocracoke and we are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Silver Lake Motel and Inn. New management as of last year and we are still working on getting things updated, improved and nice for our guests. Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Carteret, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

We thought we had stayed here once before but we were wrong. If so we would have known better. The room was terrible and over priced for a dump. The bed was worn out years ago and the whole room had a sour smell. We ending up moving to The Captains Landing for our last night and it was great.

Room Tip: Avoid try Captains Quarters
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
obxjm, Public Relations Manager at The Silver Lake Motel & Inn, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Well...I was really at a loss for words when I read this. First of all, I am very sorry you were so very disappointed. The inn is closed now or I would reach out to the manager to see if you had let her know how upset you were. We are closed for the winter and use this time to refresh the rooms, and buying new mattresses for some of them is on the agenda. The inn. although I would not describe it as rustic, certainly does not fall any where near a luxury hotel description and our rates reflect that. We do however pride ourselves on clean rooms and hospitality. Again, our apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

If you stay, expect VERY rustic accommodations. The room was tiny, there was no coffee pot and as far as we could tell nowhere nearby to get coffee before 8 am, the mini fridge was rusting and leaky, and the beds extremely creaky. Worst of all, the room we reserved was not equipped with heat (this was not mentioned when we made the reservation). Temperatures were in the 40's when we arrived, so obviously this was a problem. We were given a standard room in exchange (no balcony, double rather than queen bed, no view) but the front desk clerk would not adjust the rate. All in all, it was a very disappointing experience.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OcracokeBeachBum, Rental Manager Ocracoke Island Realty at The Silver Lake Motel & Inn, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you for alerting us to your disappointment in your accomodations. We are in the process of updating all the rooms at the Silver Lake Motel and Inn and appreciate the feedback. On our list for this winter is to evaluate the mattresses and look for additional amenities that we can add to increase your comfort. Coffee pots in the rooms are definitely on the list! Some of the rooms do not have heat, and we apologize for the inconvenience of having to switch rooms for you - depending on when your reservation was made the desk clerk may not have even thought about heat being an issue. We do hope that you will give us another chance, we ahve a great location and are working hard to constantly improve our amenities and service. Thank you for choosing the Silver Lake Motel and Inn for your getaway!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Silver Lake Motel & Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Silver Lake Motel & Inn

Address: 395 Irvin Garrish Highway, Ocracoke, NC
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Ocracoke
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Ocracoke
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Silver Lake Motel & Inn is under new management for the 2012 season. New mattresses, paint, artwork, power washing and more. We invite you to come back and see the changes we have made. The Silver Lake Motel & Inn on Ocracoke Island offers a combination of traditional motel rooms, suites, efficiency units and motel rooms that adjoin suites, allowing guests the availability of an additional bedroom. Many of our rooms and suites at the Silver Lake Motel & Inn have private balcony porches with hammocks for relaxing and for enjoying the beautiful harbor sunset view. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Silver Lake Motel And Inn
The Silver Lake Hotel Ocracoke

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Silver Lake Motel & Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.