We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunset Suite is the way to GO!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Silver Lake Motel & Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ocracoke
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Silver Lake Motel & Inn
Save
You added The Silver Lake Motel & Inn to your Saves list
395 Irvin Garrish Highway, Ocracoke, NC   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Ocracoke
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Sunset Suite is the way to GO!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My boyfriend and I spent 2 nights in the Sunset Suite at The Silver Lake Motel and Inn and we had an absolute blast! I basically stalked this room for months and although it was a bit more than we wanted to pay, it turned out to be worth its weight in gold for the porch alone. We spent both nights sitting on the porch listening to music and watching Ocracoke come alive, and then go to sleep. It was truly magical. The bed was comfy, the bathroom was spacious, and the bar area was so cool! Never had an issue finding close parking and the breakfast provided was perfectly fine.

Room Tip: seriously...if you are going as a couple, get this suite. its worth the extra $$$.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OcracokeBeachBum, Rental Manager at Ocracoke Island Realty at The Silver Lake Motel & Inn, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks for the review and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    29
    16
    12
    25
See reviews for
25
55
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Booked harbor view room with private balcony/hammock. Bed like sleeping on concrete. Roof leaked so could not enjoy balcony. No phone. Poor internet. No ice unless you pay. No microwave. Nice bathroom.no other rooms available to switch so checked out two days early

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
obxjm, Public Relations Manager at The Silver Lake Motel & Inn, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
I am so sorry you were not happy with your room at the Silver Lake Motel and Inn. Thank you for letting us know of your concerns so that we were able to refund the payment for the remainder of your stay. We do hope you were able to enjoy the rest of your time on Ocracoke Island. If you will consider giving us another chance we would be happy to have you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, North Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We went for a group trip 5/4/13-5/6/13. We rented two rooms for each family right down the hall. We got there early and they let us check in early. Staff was great. They served breakfast every morning which was also great. Lots of selections. The only complaint would be they need to update a little. Shower was hard to work and we thought the glass door was going to fall when we tried to shut it or open it. Also cable had to wiggle a certain way to make it work. You really don't spend much time in the room anyway while you are on ocracoke. Lots of things to do and lots of places to explore which the staff was also great at letting us know what to visit while we stayed!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldobxer, Public Relations Manager at The Silver Lake Motel & Inn, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Silver Lake Motel and Inn on Ocracoke Island. Sounds like you had a good time while you are here. We are always happy to help our guests with suggestions on places to visit and eat. Every review is read and all comments taken into consideration in the hopes that we may continue to improve our guests experiences while here at the inn. I sincerely hope you able to visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Freedom, Pennsylvania
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Great location -- the view of the harbor with the pelicans perched on the pylons. Especially as the sun sets! Large spacious suites, very clean -- a little dated on the fixtures but nothing that didn't work. Staff was amazing -- Maria the housekeeper was totally precious, the front desk staff was helpful with restaurant recommendations and the manager addressed any concern we had promptly! Only immediate downside was the internet doesn't work in the suite building -- but who needs internet when you're on vacation, anyway? Especially on an island as special as Ocracoke!

Room Tip: Didn't see the motel rooms but can definitely tell you that if you want a full kitchen and prepa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldobxer, Public Relations Manager at The Silver Lake Motel & Inn, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
You are right, the views are spectacular and I am happy to hear you were able to catch some of our Ocracoke sunsets. I will pass on your nice comments to the rest of our team...we do strive to provide great customer service to each and every visitor. Thank you for taking the time to post a review, we appreciate it and hope you will back and stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

This was my second time staying here. My complaint from my previous stay was soft beds. My bed was much better this time around although a friend in another room said her bed was too soft. My advice is to call them when you book the room and let them know you need a good bed. This place has a fabulous location. The decor is a bit dated but who really cares as you spend very little time in your room. They have fabulous front porches so it's worth paying the extra to to get one. The staff is great.

Room Tip: My advice is to call them when you book the room and let them know you need a good bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OcracokeBeachBum, Rental Manager Ocracoke Island Realty. at The Silver Lake Motel & Inn, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Sorry for the late reply but thank you so much for taking the time to post your experience! We do agree that we have a wonderful location! Thank you for choosing the Silver Lake Motel and Inn and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santee, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Under newer ownership, they are doing it right. We stayed in the second floor suite shown on this picture, great view and service. Rooms were being renovated. Newer mattress a bit hard for my taste but ok for one night. Rooms were very clean and Island was charming

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldobxer, Public Relations Manager at The Silver Lake Motel & Inn, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thanks so much! We agree we have one of the best views on the island. We worked very hard during the renovation process to make the inn as comfortable and welcoming as possible. I appreciate you letting us know we are doing it right. We hope you are able to make it back to Ocracoke and to the Silver Lake Motel and Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle Ground, Washington
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

The Silver Lake Motel and Inn is the perfect spot to stay in Orcacoke. It is right on the harbor, across the street from a Harbor Front Restaurant and the Marina. There is an ice cream parlor/coffee shop/bike rental next door to the hotel. (Renting a bike is a perfect way to see the village, and have easy access to the beach). There is also a surf shop right down the street which rents surfboards, kayaks, and SUP's. The hotel staff is very friendly and helpful. There is a small simple continental breakfast. The hotel is somewhat rustic, but clean. It reminded me of the guest room at my grandparents house. There is no elevators, but that is part of the charm. The best part... the hammocks on the balcony's of the harbor front rooms in one of the hotel buildings. Sigh. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldobxer, Public Relations Manager at The Silver Lake Motel & Inn, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
I loved that you wrote that your room "...reminded me of the guest room at my grandparents house". We do strive to make sure our guests are comfortable and feel welcome here on the island. We think we have the perfect location on Ocracoke too...and thank you for staying with us and for your kind comments. Hopefully you will come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Silver Lake Motel & Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Silver Lake Motel & Inn

Address: 395 Irvin Garrish Highway, Ocracoke, NC
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Ocracoke
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Ocracoke
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Silver Lake Motel & Inn is under new management for the 2012 season. New mattresses, paint, artwork, power washing and more. We invite you to come back and see the changes we have made. The Silver Lake Motel & Inn on Ocracoke Island offers a combination of traditional motel rooms, suites, efficiency units and motel rooms that adjoin suites, allowing guests the availability of an additional bedroom. Many of our rooms and suites at the Silver Lake Motel & Inn have private balcony porches with hammocks for relaxing and for enjoying the beautiful harbor sunset view. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Silver Lake Hotel Ocracoke
The Silver Lake Motel And Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Silver Lake Motel & Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.