We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Live Music!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Topless Oyster Restaurant

Topless Oyster Restaurant
875 Irvin Garrish Hwy, P.O. Box 453, Ocracoke, NC 27960
252-928-2800
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 29 Restaurants in Ocracoke
Price range: $7 - $26
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night
Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Live Music!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Very happy to sit and listen to a steel drum band while it rained like crazy outside. Even though we could only visit the beach once during our stay on Ocracoke due to the weather, hanging out at the Topless Oyster made it still seem like it was a tropical getaway. Good beer selection and friendly wait staff.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    34
    18
    9
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Merritt Island, Florida
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“drinks and an appetizer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

we stopped for drinks but the food they were carting to the patio looked great so we ordered some wings and oysters from the appetizers at the bar, very good, and the bartender was very cordial, informative, and on top of things . we had a good time so we stayed for a couple more drinks. did I mention they had live music?

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke Rapids, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice staff--good music!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

This place is nice and laid back--however, so laid back that cats wandered under and around our table while we ate, and the kids were entertained by the giant roaches climbing all around on the porch!! Wow! But, it's the beach...

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Not worth the money”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Our first trip to Ocracoke and we decided to try the shrimp and oysters happy hour special. One pound of shrimp, one dozen extremely small oysters, two small salads, and two beers cost over $40. Remember, this was happy hour! Only plus is that our waiter was very conscientious and service was good. With so many other choices on Ocracoke, I would advise getting more bang for your buck elsewhere.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budd Lake, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very different menu”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

They've recently changed their menu, so beware - the menu we saw online was much different than the one we saw when we got there. Everyone had their heart set on something from the online menu, and the new menu had none of those things. Tons of oyster options, but the rest of the seafood options were pretty uninspired. The food was just okay - a bit too salty, although we loved the pork tacos. The music inside was super loud, but the deck was nice. The service was great.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Topless Oyster Restaurant also viewed

Ocracoke, Outer Banks
Ocracoke, Outer Banks
 
Ocracoke, Outer Banks
Ocracoke, Outer Banks
 

Been to Topless Oyster Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Topless Oyster Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.