We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We keep going back” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pony Island Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ocracoke
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pony Island Motel
Highway 12, Ocracoke, NC 27960   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 9 hotels in Ocracoke
Glenshaw, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“We keep going back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have been visiting Ocracoke Island for many years and while we have stayed in various lodging vs, we return again and again to the Pony island. From our phone reservation to the check in and our stay, it is an easy and comfortable process.
The location is perfect and provides a central point for going to the beach, riding our bicycles and walking to meal locations.
The staff is efficient and the rooms clean and comfortable. Nothing fancy, but that is not we are looking for when we visit Ocracoke. Comfortable, clean, great location with relaxing porch seating for taking in the rest and talk about the day's activities.
Already thinking about our return

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    59
    39
    17
    5
    0
See reviews for
44
43
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
High Point, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Enjoyed our stay at Pony Island Motel. Our office side room was very clean and comfortable. Customer service was exceptional - really went out of their way to assist. Nice location for the activities that interested us. Plan to book again in the fall.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We did not make any hotel reservations before leaving for the Outer Banks but after realizing we would not make the ferry from Ocracoke to Cedar Island, while on the ferry from Hatteras to Ocracoke we knew we would have to stay in Ocracoke. Doubting there would be any vacancies anyplace in peak season, the first hotel we called was the Pony Island Hotel which had vacancies for two rooms, so we reserved them, not expecting much. We were pleasantly pleased to find the hotel in the not so crowded area of Ocracoke and within walking distance to eateries, grocery store and shops, and the only restaurant on the island that serves breakfast. Although the hotel could use some updating, the rooms were spotlessly clean as well as the bathroom. It even offered Wifi. The only reason for not giving it a 5 star is because the the TV was very fuzzy. If we traveled this way again I would not hesitate to stay here. Although the hotel is on Route 12, we did not hear any road noise. Check-in by Ella was efficient even though she was very busy. Would recommend to friends.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

We stayed here 1 night in June 2014 as we made our way down the Outer Banks. Check in was great - very pleasant lady. Answered our questions about the ferry times for the next morning and where we should go to reserve. This motel is very good value for the price. The bed could have been better as it was a bit lumpy and the pillows could have been better. Otherwise it was very clean. It is a three story building with outside stairs so if you have a problem with stairs make sure you ask for the first floor. Nice pool.

Room Tip: If you have trouble with stairs make sure you ask for first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knaresborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
238 reviews 238 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Without going in to too much rhetoric, let me summarise what this place is about.

It is ideally located for town.
The reception area is large, bright and breezy and the lady who booked us in was absolutely charming.
Our room, which I understand is at the more modern pool end, was roomy, well furnished and spotlessly clean.
The swimming pool area is roomy and very clean.
There is a diner/cafe alongside which is apparently ace for breakfast. I will review that separately.
The room rate is very reasonable for what you get.

In short - I can't imagine any better for the money in Ocracoke.

John and Karen Houston
Knaresborough
UK

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I’ve stayed here at least three times previously, and to me it’s the best choice on the island, or one of the best. It’s close to some of the best restaurants, and a 10-minute walk at most from the village. I’ve only stayed on the newer side (the “pool side”) and those rooms are clean and airy with refrigerators. One minor caveat, at the far end you may get some cooking smells from the restaurant next door. I did, but they all smelled good.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We enjoyed ourselves immensely at the Pony Island Motel. We must say how clean and comfortable the rooms were. This was our 2nd time in Ocracoke and I can say this will be our new place to come back to year after year. The woman who ran the front desk couldn't have been friendlier or more helpful. They also have a beautiful pool. So if you're in the area, drop by. You won't be disappointed.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pony Island Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pony Island Motel

Address: Highway 12, Ocracoke, NC 27960
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Ocracoke
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 hotels in Ocracoke
Also Known As:
Pony Island Hotel Ocracoke
Pony Island Ocracoke

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pony Island Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Pony Island Motel to your Saves list