We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This really is a top motel.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pony Island Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ocracoke
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pony Island Motel
Save
You added Pony Island Motel to your Saves list
Highway 12, Ocracoke, NC 27960   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Ocracoke
Knaresborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
345 reviews 345 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 143 cities Reviews in 143 cities
226 helpful votes 226 helpful votes
“This really is a top motel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Without going in to too much rhetoric, let me summarise what this place is about.

It is ideally located for town.
The reception area is large, bright and breezy and the lady who booked us in was absolutely charming.
Our room, which I understand is at the more modern pool end, was roomy, well furnished and spotlessly clean.
The swimming pool area is roomy and very clean.
There is a diner/cafe alongside which is apparently ace for breakfast. I will review that separately.
The room rate is very reasonable for what you get.

In short - I can't imagine any better for the money in Ocracoke.

John and Karen Houston
Knaresborough
UK

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    43
    18
    6
    0
See reviews for
48
47
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I’ve stayed here at least three times previously, and to me it’s the best choice on the island, or one of the best. It’s close to some of the best restaurants, and a 10-minute walk at most from the village. I’ve only stayed on the newer side (the “pool side”) and those rooms are clean and airy with refrigerators. One minor caveat, at the far end you may get some cooking smells from the restaurant next door. I did, but they all smelled good.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We enjoyed ourselves immensely at the Pony Island Motel. We must say how clean and comfortable the rooms were. This was our 2nd time in Ocracoke and I can say this will be our new place to come back to year after year. The woman who ran the front desk couldn't have been friendlier or more helpful. They also have a beautiful pool. So if you're in the area, drop by. You won't be disappointed.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfville, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

Stayed in early April on our way back north. Very dependable motel, clean with good beds. Got two rooms with kitchenette facilities that were very useful. Location is great, easy to get around village from there. Will plan on staying there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

We stayed here in March and liked it a lot and will definately be back. The room we had was on the second floor, like others have said it was very clean and spacious. We like to look for shells on Ocracoke so we don't spend much time in the room and this was perfect. We had stayed at another motel and it was nice but we did feel like the room was verrry small and it felt cramped. I am a light sleeper and had no problem sleeping here and could not hear any noise from other rooms. Good experience with the people that worked here and very easy to check in and out. I really like the beaches at Ocracoke and look forward to coming back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Virginia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

We planned a quick trip over to Ocracoke, however the weather turned rough and the ferry stopped running for the night. We had to rent a room. We stopped at the first hotel we came saw. The desk clerk was very pleasant and informative. The room was very clean. There was a small refrigerator in the room. Very reasonable rates at $75 a night.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

My family of four stayed in the new section of the 2nd floor. We were able to check-in early. The room was clean and spacious. Parking was right out front. We did have to walk-up steps, but they were wide and well constructed.

We rented bikes from the motel, which may not have been the best choice. They had seen better days--we were told they were scheduled to be replaced soon. The pillows were a bit flat and no extra's were provided. We didn't ask of more pillows.

The location of the Pony is ideal. Its close enough to the harbor and shops on back road, while just a short walk or bike ride from the grocery store, Howard's Pub, and other destinations on the way out of town.

I hadn't been to Ocracoke in almost 10-years and golf carts have become very popular. I prefer the bikes and wish the town would limit the number of golf carts. I can't imagine what its like during the summer.

Room Tip: We stayed in the new section, on the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pony Island Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pony Island Motel

Address: Highway 12, Ocracoke, NC 27960
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Ocracoke
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Ocracoke
Number of rooms: 41
Also Known As:
Pony Island Hotel Ocracoke
Pony Island Ocracoke

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pony Island Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.