We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Missed the last ferry back? No worries?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pony Island Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ocracoke
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pony Island Motel
Save Saved
You added Pony Island Motel to your Saves list
Highway 12, Ocracoke, NC 27960   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Ocracoke
Newport, Virginia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Missed the last ferry back? No worries?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

We planned a quick trip over to Ocracoke, however the weather turned rough and the ferry stopped running for the night. We had to rent a room. We stopped at the first hotel we came saw. The desk clerk was very pleasant and informative. The room was very clean. There was a small refrigerator in the room. Very reasonable rates at $75 a night.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    41
    18
    5
    0
See reviews for
48
43
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

My family of four stayed in the new section of the 2nd floor. We were able to check-in early. The room was clean and spacious. Parking was right out front. We did have to walk-up steps, but they were wide and well constructed.

We rented bikes from the motel, which may not have been the best choice. They had seen better days--we were told they were scheduled to be replaced soon. The pillows were a bit flat and no extra's were provided. We didn't ask of more pillows.

The location of the Pony is ideal. Its close enough to the harbor and shops on back road, while just a short walk or bike ride from the grocery store, Howard's Pub, and other destinations on the way out of town.

I hadn't been to Ocracoke in almost 10-years and golf carts have become very popular. I prefer the bikes and wish the town would limit the number of golf carts. I can't imagine what its like during the summer.

Room Tip: We stayed in the new section, on the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuarts Draft, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

Rooma are always clean and they will always go out of their way for you! Also have bikes you can rent. Yes the pony is a little more than some on the island but you get what you pay for. They also have a pool for the days you don't want to go to the beach! I have never had an bad stay at the pony and you should not!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Enjoyed the stay. We were there in the off season so the rate was great. The room was very adequate, as we just needed a place to sleep and shower. It was clean, updated bathroom. Slept great. They had bicycles, would have liked to have got to use one of them, but ran out of time.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crisfield
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

We stayed here in Dec. Will have to agree that the walls are a little thin. Plus anyone moving early on the porch did make a lot of noise.We had a full Kitchen in our room. Room was very clean. Staff were only there part time due to it being winter.They do have a newer wing that has no porch.

Room Tip: Ask for the section with out the pouch
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kill Devil Hills, North Carolina
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Pony Island is a cute, clean hotel, had no problem with the staff or room itself.... but the "sleep quality" here was very poor due to excessive noise. Maybe because the walls are thin (I could hear people talking in the room next door at what seemed like normal conversation volume), or the wooden porch outside conveys noise easily (lots of people walking back and forth at 2am), but it was difficult to stay asleep.

I'm a fairly heavy sleeper, and was still awoken numerous times during my 1-night stay. I have children, so this was with a noise machine cranking and the A/C unit coming on and off all night. My wife is a lighter sleeper and said she only got 2-3 hours sleep total.

The bummer was that there were very few people staying in the hotel (off-season). If my family had been placed in a different room or on the end the noise would have been considerably less. If you are booking here and there's extra availability, be sure to ask for a room away from other guests and I'm sure you'll have a better stay than I did.

Room Tip: Ask for room apart from other guests, maybe that will cut down on the noise levels and allow you to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kernersville, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

Stayed there in December 2013 on a honeymoon re-visit, first time was 1977! Good, basic room without frills. Room was as advertised and cost was reasonable for off-season, front desk lady was helpful and friendly. Would stay there again.

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pony Island Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pony Island Motel

Address: Highway 12, Ocracoke, NC 27960
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Ocracoke
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Ocracoke
Number of rooms: 41
Also Known As:
Pony Island Hotel Ocracoke
Pony Island Ocracoke

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pony Island Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.