We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pony Island Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ocracoke
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Pony Island Motel
Save Saved
You added Pony Island Motel to your Saves list
Highway 12, Ocracoke, NC 27960   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 9 hotels in Ocracoke
Woodridge, Illinois, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Affordable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

If you are looking for a fancy place,this is not it. If you are looking for a clean, friendly, affordable place to spend a few days with a pool this is it. Check in was a breeze, pool was nice, location was great. If I was in Ocracoke for a few days I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    61
    40
    18
    5
    0
See reviews for
48
43
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hickory, North Carolina
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed here in April, 2013; and were delighted with the cleanliness and modern updates to the efficiency unit we had. The first night, there were guests nearby us who were being noisy after hours; and we called the owner at the number given. She phoned them and explained the noise restrictions; then, actually physically went by their room to be sure they complied. We were impressed that the hotel cared about guests in that manner! It's a great place and the staff member we met, Candy, couldn't have been friendlier or more helpful. Highly recommend this place to you!

Room Tip: The office side efficiency we stayed in was a wonderful value for the money. So clean, too...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Just got off the ferry after a long drive and pulled into pony island! Nice small p.ace in the middle of everything. Nothing fancy friendly clean walking distance to everything g we needed. Good water pressure, lots of hot water. Towels could be a little bigger. GREAT dollar value.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Have stayed here before and decided to rebook for two nights. We appeared to be the only guests in the building we were in, then found that there was another couple in our building, in the room right next to us! The first night was extremely quiet, as the couple in the room next to us seemed to have left the island for the night. The next night was a different story. Out of the entire building, why did the front desk decide that the two reservations they had should be lodged side-by-side?! We think this couples room must have been equipped with a bowling alley, really, they were that noisy. Not the best night sleep! If not for this issue, we would have had a top notch stay. Room was clean, and bed was comfortable.
Only one choice for dining that we found while we were there, though we were told that the pizza place was open, we must have missed there open hours.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Second year to stay..cleanest and comfiest with nice refrig. Microwave sink and dishes etc. we are here for a basketball trip and wouldn't stay anywhere else....great friendly people at the front desk...wonderful breakfast restaurant.

Room Tip: Room 135 was wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, NC
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed here this past weekend after not finding anything that looked worthwhile in the B&B category. It turned out to be a pleasant experience. The front desk person was helpful. The room itself was very large, with small frige, microwave, coffee maker, etc. and two queens. Everything was clean and comfortable, and the price -- about $100 -- didn't seem out of line for Ocracoke at this time of the year. We rented their bikes for a few hours @ $2/hr.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wilmington nc
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Traveled with another couple to Ocracoke. We've been many times to the isalnd and always ate breakfast adjacent to the hotel but first opportunity to need a room on the island. Room was very spacious with amenities one would need, ie. microwave, fridge and table to sit and eat if needed. Very clean and comfortable.Prices were reasonable. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pony Island Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pony Island Motel

Address: Highway 12, Ocracoke, NC 27960
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Ocracoke
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 hotels in Ocracoke
Also Known As:
Pony Island Hotel Ocracoke
Pony Island Ocracoke

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pony Island Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;