We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value, spacious accommodations” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pony Island Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ocracoke
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pony Island Motel
Save
You added Pony Island Motel to your Saves list
Highway 12, Ocracoke, NC 27960   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Ocracoke
Beaufort, NC
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“good value, spacious accommodations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed here this past weekend after not finding anything that looked worthwhile in the B&B category. It turned out to be a pleasant experience. The front desk person was helpful. The room itself was very large, with small frige, microwave, coffee maker, etc. and two queens. Everything was clean and comfortable, and the price -- about $100 -- didn't seem out of line for Ocracoke at this time of the year. We rented their bikes for a few hours @ $2/hr.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    43
    18
    6
    0
See reviews for
48
47
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
wilmington nc
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Traveled with another couple to Ocracoke. We've been many times to the isalnd and always ate breakfast adjacent to the hotel but first opportunity to need a room on the island. Room was very spacious with amenities one would need, ie. microwave, fridge and table to sit and eat if needed. Very clean and comfortable.Prices were reasonable. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seville, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We stayed at the Pony Island Motel over a weekend in July. For an island motel I found the accommodations to be excellent – very clean and up to date. Their service was excellent as well – the owner picked us up from the local airport and dropped us back off. From what I could see, they have the largest swimming pool as compared to the other hotels / motels on the island. We liked Café Atlantic for dinners; the Flying Melon was so-so for breakfast.

Room Tip: Rooms on the west side of the motel have ample porches / seating for gatherings. Rooms on the east s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

My family of four has stayed at the Pony for several years. We have a favorite 1 bedroom suite on the third floor so I can't speak to other floors, but the room is always clean and well-maintained. We like being on the third floor for the view of the sunrise from the back and fresh air all around. You can't see the ocean from the hotel, but that is true of most places on the the island. I also prefer the taller building at the Pony because we are a little farther away from the trees and the mosquitos when they are in season. You will need bug spray on the island, but mostly only when you are in the trees/bushes, not when you are sitting on the porch in the ocean breeze. The hotel has several buildings (only one is multi-story) but all have porches with chairs. They also have barbecue grills and picnic tables on the grounds because no cooking is allowed on the porches. The kitchenette has a stovetop, microwave and medium sized refrigerator and all dishes and towels. You do need to bring your own paper products and dish soap (or buy them from the store across the street). We don't have a car because we fly in, but the Pony always arranges for a ride to and from the airstrip on our travel days and we rent bikes for a reasonable rate from the Front Desk for the rest of our stay. Everything in town (stores, dining, activity rentals) is within an easy walk or bike ride from the Pony. Their restaurant is a favorite of ours for breakfast and is one of the fastest places to eat when you are really hungry. The restaurant also opens early (7am). The pool is always well-maintained and there are 2 showers and a hose near the pool for rinsing off, along with a foot level faucet near the stairs for rinsing feet and gear. The parking lot does get crowded when the hotel is full, but all the trucks and SUVs do find a space. A nice feature about reservations is that your card isn't charged at all until you get there. The hotel doesn't have an elevator but it does have ramps to get to first floor rooms, but I don't know how accessible interior areas are. The room we like also overlooks a bar/restaurant, but the noise was never a problem in the room. Only downside is that the room air conditioners can be noisy, but I have that complaint about a lot of hotels.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Wonderful place for multiple families to stay. They have ample porch space which makes for easy get togethers at the end of a fishing day. Room are clean and organized. The staff is helpful and accommodating. Close to town, groceries, beach, and many good restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012 via mobile

Basic hotel but good prices for the island and the front desk lady was very nice. Nice pool. Parking a bit tight but ok. Clean rooms. Walls a little thin but not too bad. Don't allow pets unfortunately. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southeast USA
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

This is a super clean motel convenient to everything in Ocracoke. The staff are friendly and do a great job. The room looked be to recently renovated, and was very functional and attractive. Each room has a table and comfortable chairs outside to enjoy the weather.

It also has a fish cleaning station, picnic tables, and grills in a tree-filled area in front of the motel. The pool looked nice as well. There is an excellent restaurant right next door and Howard's Pub right down the street. The price was affordable as well. What else could you ask for! I will definitely return to the Pony Island Motel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pony Island Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pony Island Motel

Address: Highway 12, Ocracoke, NC 27960
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Ocracoke
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Ocracoke
Number of rooms: 41
Also Known As:
Pony Island Hotel Ocracoke
Pony Island Ocracoke

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pony Island Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.