We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not recommended” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Castle on Silver Lake

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ocracoke
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Castle on Silver Lake
Save
You added Castle on Silver Lake to your Saves list
155 Silver Lake Road, Ocracoke, NC 27960   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 Ocracoke B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Raleigh, NC
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Not recommended”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2009

I recently visited Ocracoke for the first time for a wedding and fell in love with the Island! However we were less than impressed with our choice of accomodations. The Castle on Silver Lake is a beautiful home, and our room (Sam's Room) was very spacious. Our friends' room was literally half the size of ours and they had no separation between the bed and their shower. The breakfast I will say was very tasty, however the stay was not relaxing.
Being on the first floor we heard anyone and everyone that was up (this starts around 7 a.m.) Housekeeping came by at 8:15 a.m. and after the first time, I placed my Do Not Distrub sign on my door and therefore my room was never serviced except once (even after we'd be out of the room by 10-11 a.m.) The housekeeping staff began to run the vacuum in the other rooms by 8-9 a.m. and we were kept awake. The pool table opens at 9 a.m. and we were kept awake also by people playing pool early in the morning literally on the other side of our wall.
My husband and I looked forward to sleeping in and enjoying the relaxing attitude we had heard so much about in Ocracoke, however if that is what you are looking for, the Castle is not for you. Especially for what you pay, I think there are many better B&Bs on the island with privacy and peace and quiet.

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldobxer, Web Services Manager at Castle on Silver Lake, responded to this review, November 11, 2009
We are sorry that your experience at The Castle on Silver Lake on Ocracoke Island was not what you had hoped it would be.

We do want all of our guests to be comfortable and truly feel relaxed while they are here. Most guests are very considerate of the fact that others are at the Castle, especially during the early morning hours and at night. I do apologize that your sleep was disrupted.

Glad you enjoyed the breakfast ... and I agree that it is delicious!

Hopefully you will be coming back to Ocracoke Island again and we also hope you will consider staying at The Castle.

Thank you for your review. We use all comments to help us improve our services and the inn itself.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    27
    9
    2
    3
See reviews for
14
78
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, VA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2009

We stayed 4 nights at the Castle and just loved everything about the place. The room was great, breakfast was amazing, views are gorgeous, and the staff very welcoming! The Castle has these amazing decks and screened porches - comfortable swings and chairs to relax in- felt like your own private porch! There are fun amenities like the pool, sauna, and pool table. The history of the house and the furniture make the place even more homey and comfortable. Great place to stay!!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldobxer, Web Site Manager at Castle on Silver Lake, responded to this review, November 5, 2009
Thank you for the nice review--we appreciate it.
Hope to see you back at The Castle on Silver Lake soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks, UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2008

Reviewer: Patrick & Shirley, Bucks. UK
Very disappointing. Not at all welcoming although we did get a suitcase carried upstairs. The room was comfortable with good views over the lake. The building is mostly wooden and could be attractive, but it is all a bit "utility" and has the feel of a hostel rather than a hotel but still at hotel prices. Breakfast is served at large tables in the kitchen and an adjoining room, again very "hostel like" and certainly not the refinement that we had found in the rest of the US. When I ask for some milk for my cereal I was presented with a 6 pint plastic container. Not recommended

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2008

Overall our stay was very pleasant. The innkeeper was extremely nice. We enjoyed our breakfast and the 'cozy' atmosphere. I will admit that I was shocked upon arrival b/c the website picture of the 'Castle' painted a VERY different, newer looking feel than the actual place was in real life. When we pulled up I felt certain I was at the wrong place judging from what I saw on-line; however, it was kept up well in the inside and all the balconies and sitting areas were quite quaint.

  • Stayed September 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville FL
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2008

While the facility is nice there are many other options on the island which are just as good. The innkeepers did there job but seemed pained to be there. They seemed bothered when you ask questions such as places to go, eat and tour. We flew our plane in to the local airport and the inn would not come pick us up. Instead a local restaurant named Howard’s Pub was happy to pick us up take us to the Castle. That is customer service. Doug & Pam Castro

Stayed October 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldobxer, Web Services Manager at Castle on Silver Lake, responded to this review, November 11, 2009
Thanks for your review. We do have a new innkeeper at The Castle now, as well as new staff and I think you will find them very friendly and hospitable.

We value every visitor and take all comments and suggestions seriously.

I do apologize that you were not made to feel as welcome as you should have been as it is our goal to have every guest leave The Castle feeling relaxed and refreshed and wanting to come back. Hopefully, you will return and give us another chance to show you we can get it right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2008

I was a little disappointed with our one-night stay at the Castle, in Jane's Room. I'd had pretty high expectations, based on pictures and reviews.

First, the positives: 1) The breakfast was excellent! A great selection of delicious, hot-cooked items; 2) We appreciated the assortment of drinks and snacks available to guests; 3) Great location and close proximity to restaurants, shopping, etc.; 4) Nice view.

Now, the negatives: 1) The young man who checked us in was somewhat apathetic and unwelcoming- obviously an employee and not an innkeeper; 2) The room itself felt a bit shabby, compounded by the fact that the window air conditioning unit hadn't been turned on prior to our arrival so the room was hot and stuffy; 3) The window a/c was a necessity and was unfortunately placed right next to the bed so created a lot of noise as it ran through the night; 4) Furniture (sofa, chairs, tables) was well-worn and in need of updating or replacing. Yep, I realize some were antiques, but some were just downright steps away from a garage sale.

Overall, it seemed to us that the Castle passed its prime a few years ago at least and may be in need of a little TLC, upgrades and greater attention to detail.

  • Liked — breakfast
  • Disliked — shabby room
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, North Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2008

We just spent 4 nights at the Castle on Silver Lake in Ocracoke over the long Labor Day weekend. Very nice place. We had Billy's room on the 1st floor right off the great room. We heard very little noise, there is a door to the hallway that separated our room and one other room from the great room. Very comfortable queen bed, the room also had a twin bed. The only downfall to this room was there was only 1 comfortable living room type chair and 1 straight back chair, so only room for one person to sit but we did not spend much time in our room, and with the great room right outside our room, we spent time sitting there. I believe most of the other rooms have sofas or loveseats. The bathroom was large and very clean with 2 sinks and a very nice shelf area for your cosmetics etc. The whole house is very unique, completely paneled in cypress wood, including the high ceilings. It was very bright and cheery and really a lovely place. Decorated with unique antiques and wall hangings. The breakfast was wonderful - full breakfast with bacon, saugages, eggs, biscuits, sausage gravy and on Sunday they even had Mimosas. We didn't even have to eat lunch the days we were there. Ocracoke is a wonderful place to visit, no stop lights, most people ride bikes that the house furnishes, no night life to speak of, the town kind of rolls up by 10 pm, but a very nice place to come and relax. We will come again!!

  • Liked — Unique Property
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Castle on Silver Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle on Silver Lake

Address: 155 Silver Lake Road, Ocracoke, NC 27960
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Ocracoke
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Ocracoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in comfortable, non-smoking rooms in this three-story inn. The rooms are tastefully decorated with antiques and each room has its own private bathroom. Other amenities include an outdoor pool, pool house with sauna & steam shower, a computer with Internet access in the lobby &wireless Internet access on the property. Enjoy a full buffet breakfast each morning. "Captains" enjoy complimentary dockage at the Castle docks with power hookups and a fish cleaning station. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Castle On Silver Lake Hotel Ocracoke

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castle on Silver Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.