We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short but lovely stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Castle on Silver Lake

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ocracoke
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Castle on Silver Lake
Save
You added Castle on Silver Lake to your Saves list
155 Silver Lake Road, Ocracoke, NC 27960   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 Ocracoke B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Miami Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Short but lovely stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We stayed at the Inn for only one night, but it was lovely. We chose a Villa, and were very happy that we did. We had our own fully-stocked kitchen, living room with flat screen TV, separate bedroom with king bed, and bathroom with jacuzzi tub and separate stall shower, as well as our own screened porch. Everything was clean, we had our own thermostat (which I understand the B&B rooms don't), and the bed was comfortable. The only problem we had was the ceiling fan made lots of noise so we couldn't use it. Although the villas don't come with breakfast, who needs it when you have your own kitchen?

Ronnie was very accomodating, and even gave us a ride to the Ocracoke airport (you're not allowed to drive golf carts past Howard's Pub). Ocracoke itself is charming- rent a golf cart and explore the island.

Room Tip: Get a villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldobxer, Public Relations Manager at Castle on Silver Lake, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
The Castle Villas are a great option for those who want a little more room and/or are traveling with children. We were glad to hear you found the villa clean and everything in order and thank you for posting that.

Ronnie and her staff at The Castle BB are always happy to go the extra mile to make their guests stays as pleasant as possible. They truly like what they do and it shows.

Thank you again for your post and we hope you are able to come back to Ocracoke and hopefully spend some more time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    27
    9
    2
    3
See reviews for
14
78
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

This is the fourth year we have stayed at the Castle B and B. I am very picky about how clean a place is and the Castle is always spotless. The food is AMAZING and is so generous that it should be factored in when conisdering the price. I find it humerous that someone complained that the food is not helath conscious. Fruit, cereal and oatmeal are available if you have restrictions. However, at a Southern Bed and Breakfast I expect a southern spread and they do that very well! We feel totally at home when we are here because everyone is so laid back. We feel free to sit on any of the decks, help ourselves to snacks in the kitchen (which is always completley spotless), sit in the living room, and ask questions. Ronnie and Jude are absolutely wonderful and make you feel very welcome. And they bake cookies everyday! I can't imagine anyone complaining about this place. There are other guests in the house and you will hear folks walking/moving around. That is to be expected. We have never felt disturbed. Ocracoke in general is wonderful. I love it that the beaches are undeveloped. I've been to some beautiful beaches in other parts of the world but this one feels like home.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldobxer, Public Relations Manager at Castle on Silver Lake, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Well, you made our day here at The Castle. Thank you for your wonderful comments, we appreciate that you have stayed with us in the past and that you found everything in order. Laid back pretty much describes The Castle...that is one reason people come to Ocracoke in the first place. Our breakfasts are just as you described, "southern" and while you would not want to eat that way every day we are sure our guests enjoy it while here. We do work very hard to make each sure each guest has a good stay with us and truly are thankful when they let us know they had a good and relaxing time here. Hope you come back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithfield, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We recently stayed at the Castle B&B in Ocracoke. The women who run the hotel are extremely
friendly and the breakfast in the morning is over the top! The rooms were clean with individual air conditioning units for personal comfort. The location is easy access to anywhere on the island and the bikes are great for easy travel anytime of day. The breakfast, which is held from 0830 -0930 was very extensive and delicious. All of it home made! We stayed in Patti's room, which is close to the kitchen, so each morning we awoke to the smell of bacon. The property also has a pool and a pretty view from the top deck. If you are looking for a nice, quiet B&B then the Castle is a good pick.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldobxer, Public Relations Manager at Castle on Silver Lake, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Charming and friendly place....that is how we hope everyone feels after a stay at The Castle. Thank you for your review here; we know that many travelers use this site to plan their trips and count on the feedback we get here to help us improve. It is always nice to hear when someone enjoyed their time here. Thanks again and we hope you come back and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

First, let's say that Ocracoke is an totally wonderful place to go to. Quaint, pretty, without the commercial giants that we find everywhere else (no McDonald's, no Walmart, no Sonic...), it is a place for the ones who like to be outside the typical touristy places.
The Castle on silver Lake is pretty, clean, fun, relaxing an the friendliness of the staff is impressing.
You can relax in the pool, or the spa, or the sauna, or play pool, or use one of their bicycles (the island is best discovered by bicycles or golf carts...). Everything clean, eveything in order.
The breakfasts are excellente and the room are very comfortable and clean.
I will definitely go back next year !

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldobxer, Public Relations Manager at Castle on Silver Lake, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
It is always rewarding for our staff to read these nice reviews. We do work very hard to make sure all of our guests enjoy their time here at the Castle and it sounds like you did just that. We are known for clean, comfortable rooms, our southern hospitality and of course those breakfast! Thank you for your comments and we hope you will come back to Ocracoke and our Castle soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, North Carolina
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Wonderful room, fabulous Jacuzzi tub, and an excellent breakfast - had an amazing stay at the Castle B&B. We sat on the lighthouse balcony and enjoyed wine and cheese we picked up at the local wine store while taking in the view of Silver Lake Harbour. We rode the complimentary bicycles all through town (always the best way to experience Beaufort). Be sure and check the bikes over, they're not all in 100% condition, but we ended up with two perfectly functional bikes.

Room Tip: Stay in the B&B itself if you want breakfast and I recommend the rooms with jacizzi tubs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldobxer, Public Relations Manager at Castle on Silver Lake, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Thank you for staying at The Castle on Silver Lake and also for sharing your comments here. It sounds like you got the full island experience while you were here. I think bikes are also a great way to get around on Ocracoke island. We will make sure someone checks out those bikes you mentioned. Hope you can come back and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

My wife and I decided to swing down to Ocracoke for a night to search for a future vacation location, so we rented the "Net House" villa, suite B, at this Bed and Breakfast. There was no one at the front desk when we "checked in" so I just picked up our key and we walked over to our villa. A mysterious and creepy old man appeared on the balcony above our screened-in porch, and began doing martial arts training with two scythes... this same man made banging sounds throughout the night until about 11:30, so when our 9 month old woke up at 4am and screamed for about 30 minutes straight while we consoled him, we didn't feel so bad. We could hear every move the man upstairs made, from walking across his floor, to peeing in the toilet (yes we could HEAR the sound of his urine going in the toilet), flushing, etc...

People who rent a villa are not allowed to have breakfast at this bed and "breakfast."

The bathtub was full of black curly hairs.

The deadbolt on the door going to the screened-in porch was near impossible to turn.

Room Tip: Unless you want to have to bring your own bacon, eggs, pancake mix, etc., don't rent one of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldobxer, Public Relations Manager at Castle on Silver Lake, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
First of all thank you for renting one of the Castle Villas...we appreciate that. I did forward your review to the innkeeper and she got right back to me. She did not hear from you during your stay and regretted that you did not contact anyone about the issues you mention. We cannot do anything about a complaint once you leave...if we are unaware of it.

I want to make it clear to others reading this that the Net House Villa is NOT one of the B&B rooms...it is a privately owned one bedroom condo that sleeps two people (including children). Yes, you do check in at the Castle B&B because that is more convenient for guests.

Hairs in the bathtub--unacceptable, I agree but we have NOT had this complaint before and if we had known we would have sent someone back to clean the tub again to your satisfaction. We pride ourselves on housekeeping and I am sure this will be addressed with the person who cleaned your villa.

The guests above you are known by the innkeeper and staff. He is very into karate and does work outs frequently. He is harmless...truly. We do not know what the banging sounds could have been but we apologize for that as you should not have been disturbed.

We have never ever heard from previous guests in any villa that they were able to hear guests in the bathrooms. I am not sure what to say about this at all...as we were all kind of shocked to hear about it.

Breakfast...that is served to the B&B guests only. We do state this clearly on the website...on each page for each room and in the pre-arrival letter we sent guests too. The B&B has eleven rooms and stays full in the summer so that keeps the cook busy. And, the B&B is owned by individuals who pay for those breakfasts that their guests eat.

The Villas are each owned by different people....and those homeowners are not charged for any meals at the Castle. We do try to make it very clear and are happy to provide information about where to eat on Ocracoke. We simply do not have the resources to provide breakfast to guests at the Villas.

The deadbolt: that is a French door handle and can be tricky sometimes but again, we did not know you had difficulty with it.

I do hope you were able to enjoy your time on the island and that you will come back in the future.

Thank you for your comments. We do read every one and use them to help us improve our customer services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornhill, Canada
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We had the pleasure of staying at this property for 2 nights. While our room was "Marys Room" and one of the smaller ones we could not have been more pleased. The Queen size bed was a dream and the rrom was immaculate. The staff were friendly and the ammenities were 1st rate for a B & B. Great Common Room. a billiard table that was actually level and a big leather couch to just chill in.
It is a short walk to almost all of the restaurants in the charming village but we really loved the freedom of biking everywhere. The Inn provides free bikes and if your legs get sore just rent a gilf cart! Somethung a little decedant about tooling down the road at 10 MPH!
I must admit that the breakfast provided were 1st rate and provided serious fuel for the day.
One of the mornings we were treated to Grits and Greens along with a chili reano cassorole that was to die for. The fact that the cook left out freshly baked cookies as a nightime treat was a bonus!
Each room has it's own little fridge for your beer and munchies but we were so well fed on that island that we ended up bringing our room goodies home.
The beaches are magnificent, the locals are all friendly and if the seafood got fresher it would still be swimming!
This property is well valued at $200 a night in High Season and we would not hesitate to give both the property and the romance of the Island a huge 2 thumbs up.
We know there are lots of choices for lodging but we know you will love it here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldobxer, Guest Relations Manager at Castle on Silver Lake, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Wow! Your kind review has made our week, thank you so much! You said everything we hope to convey to our guests about The Castle and Ocracoke Island....clean, welcoming, lots to do and beautiful beaches. We hope you are able to come back and thank you so much for sharing your thoughts on your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Castle on Silver Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle on Silver Lake

Address: 155 Silver Lake Road, Ocracoke, NC 27960
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Ocracoke
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Ocracoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in comfortable, non-smoking rooms in this three-story inn. The rooms are tastefully decorated with antiques and each room has its own private bathroom. Other amenities include an outdoor pool, pool house with sauna & steam shower, a computer with Internet access in the lobby &wireless Internet access on the property. Enjoy a full buffet breakfast each morning. "Captains" enjoy complimentary dockage at the Castle docks with power hookups and a fish cleaning station. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Castle On Silver Lake Hotel Ocracoke

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castle on Silver Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.