We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Make sure to stop & see this lighthouse in Ocracoke!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocracoke Lighthouse

Ocracoke Lighthouse
Lighthouse Road, Ocracoke, NC
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 23 things to do in Ocracoke
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The oldest lighthouse still in operation in North Carolina.
New River Gorge, WV
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Make sure to stop & see this lighthouse in Ocracoke!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

If you take the ferry to Ocracoke, be sure to stop and see the lighthouse. Even though I've been here several times, I still love seeing all of the OBX lighthouses on each visit. If you sit outside at Jolly Roger's or one of the other restaurants, you'll have a great view of it too.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    116
    78
    11
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fun destination in a cute village.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We had a fun time touring the village of Ocracoke island on our rented golf cart and the lighthouse was visible from a lot of locations. I agree with many reviews about the parking. VERY tight, but it is worth stopping and seeing this little gem. It is beautifully mantained and a fun stop.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Ocracoke Lighthouse, Beautiful and Historic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Although I have visited this light myself many times over the years, it was really fun to share it with my family during our March vacation to the Outer Banks of North Carolina. The grounds here are always well-maintained and the tower and Keeper's residence picturesque. I cannot visit Ocracoke Island without stopping by here to pay my respects!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
obx
1 review
“Wonderful! Can't climb it but it is so cool! Great history! We love lighthouses and it was nice to be able to see it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Oldest & shorest operating lighthouse in America! Nice clean grounds and the park service person took our picture!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Cool historic place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Since 1999, it has been always a visual pleasure to view the lightouse in daylight and at night. The only drawback is that they don't allow us inside the lighthouse, unlike Cap Hatteras Lighthouse. I wouldn't mind paying VIP fee (up to $50 per head) to climb to the top!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocracoke Lighthouse also viewed

 
Ocracoke, Outer Banks
Ocracoke, Outer Banks
 

Been to Ocracoke Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocracoke Lighthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.