We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable, quaint B&B” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crews Inn B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ocracoke
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Crews Inn B&B
Save
You added Crews Inn B&B to your Saves list
460 Back Rd., Ocracoke, NC   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 10 Ocracoke B&B and Inns
Morehead City, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Affordable, quaint B&B”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Nice little bed and breakfast, slightly tucked away off the main road so it was quiet. No TVs which was a nice break from the norm. Very helpful staff and delicious breakfast. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    7
    1
    3
    1
See reviews for
4
17
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fayetteville
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Loved sitting on the porch in the evening and chilling out. We were in the Parlor which was roomy and comfortable. Nice to have a simple cooked breakfast on our schedule. It was nice to have the option of a room on the first floor. My brother-in-law though loved the third floor where he had a great view of the sunrise and the sunset.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

I can not express enough how much I enjoyed staying at the Crews Inn. Fabulous service, great location and relaxing environment. I will be back for another visit! The ducks that live in the back yard are very charming as well. There were 4 ducklings and a mom duck. The rooms are cozy and have everything you need.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stopped here on the second night of a road trip having turned up without a reservation. Initially we found no one around and just as we were about to give up another guest arrived and helped us locate the owner.

It's a lovely old house and gardens and is very peaceful and tranquil. It's certainly different from the usual motels we manage to stop in on our road trip and was quite typical of everything we experienced on sleepy relaxing Ocracoke island.

The room we had (Danny's room) was basic but comfortable. It did share a bathroom but the other room it shared it with was unoccupied during our visit. One thing travellers might want to consider is that none of the rooms have locks and neither does the house. Hopefully this is because there is little chance of anyone just wandering in and stealing stuff on the island!

The breakfast was not as promised. We had the choice of oatmeal or oatmeal. None of the fresh breads/muffins etc mentioned in the property guides materialised.

Like I mention in the title, it's a culture shock from the usual motels we choose to stay in. However, it's a lovely B&B and hopefully you'll get a better breakfast if you choose to stay. I can't imagine many nicer relaxing places where you might want to while away a week.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We visited here to celebrate our anniversary, and for the price, you can't beat this B&B. We stayed in the Parlor and were very pleased with the A/C and the modern bathroom, although it did not detract from the history of this house. The keepers were nice but not overbearing (they talked when you wanted to talk, but otherwise left you alone). The location is a block to the east of the main road, but everything is within walking distance. If you want to go running on the beach, it's about a 1.5 mile easy run to ramps 72 and 70. Breakfast wasn't a full smorgasboard, but again, it was just fine for the price we paid.

The only issue we had was finding the entrance, as the sign is somewhat hidden by the foliage and the house is well off the road.

We decided on this trip that we really love Ocracoke, and our stay at Crews Inn was a great choice, as it contributes to what we enjoyed the most: the history, local flavor, and laid-back attitude of the town and island.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston-Salem NC
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

Can't believe when we read a few of these negative comments on this place, other than to assume that those nay-sayers wouldn't be happy anywhere.

No, this is not the Taj-Mahal; and no, this place isn't a full-scale hotel that offers matching shampoo and conditioner and a shower cap with your room. What this is, is a beautiful old home, tucked away in a neat part of the island, for a fabulous price. Picture having a well-to-do aunt or grandmother who lives in a perfect location and has a house you can come to any time you want. Come on in, make yourself at home, and relax. That's the atmosphere you get here. Laid back and relaxing.

The home was built around the turn of the century and has been well taken care of since. It retains that old Victorian-era charm. The furniture is period, but not too hoity-toity that you feel as if you can't relax. The inn keepers are welcoming and helpful.

My husband and I live in NC and we travel to Ocracoke several times a year. We're annoyed with ourselves for not having booked here sooner. We'll now be regulars there.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

The place has not changed a bit. Same charm. Same furnitue same skewky floors. The island has moved on, mutch to my dislike. They now bus in tourists by the busload. That is so wrong on so many levels. This is a small barrier island not kitty halk .BUT the Crews Inn is on a back rd. set back in the trees. It is quiet peasful and devoide of the tundering heard. It is not the Hilton, its just grandmas. Breakfast is basic but incredibly tasty. No tv, radio or flat screen in your room. They now have WiFi. Bring all your own personal needs and soap. The people I have met over the years have been interesting and down to earth. I mean 5 rooms in a house that was built in 1904. How uppity can you get. Over the years I have taken a couple of wives and a few girlfriends to stay there. Very romantic. I was down this April and going back next month. Mid week is the best. If you have a choice come in using the Swann Quarter Ferry rout. Kinda coming in the back door. Ferry wait can be long coming in through Hatteras. Remember the garbage trucks have to be on the same ferry some times first come first on. Lets be honest I live in Virginia Beach half mile from the ocean front with a ton of tourist. This is the place I go to get away. This place some people book a year in advance. Do not assume you can get one of the 5 rooms on the dates you want it. Remember you get what you pay for. They have the best rates on the island and have not change much in the 23 years I have called it Grandmas.

Room Tip: Call right away to see if they can event take you. Dannys room. $65 a night with breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crews Inn B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crews Inn B&B

Address: 460 Back Rd., Ocracoke, NC
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Ocracoke
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Ocracoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crews Inn B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.