We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bluff Shoal Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ocracoke
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bluff Shoal Motel
Save Saved
You added Bluff Shoal Motel to your Saves list
306 Irvin Garrish Highway, Ocracoke, NC   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Ocracoke
Manteo, North Carolina
1 review
“Fantastic experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

This hotel was absolutely fantastic. I loved my stay here and would definitely stay again. When we arrived there was a problem with the air conditioner in our room. Not only was it fixed promptly, but the management was also incredibly friendly and nice. The rooms were modest, but incredibly clean (something that is VERY important to me when staying in a hotel). The hotel is in a great location and close to most of Ocracoke's main attractions.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    10
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
7
16
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blacksburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

I stayed at Bluff Shoals for my second night in O'coke. I could not get a room two nights in a row but they had a Friday night open. LOVED it! Old school kind of room. Clean and comfortable as can be. No AC needed when I was there and good cross ventilation with open, screened windows. I could see the harbor from the back window. This place seems to be at the center hub of the village. I parked my car and never moved it. Had my bike which I could keep near the steps (but not up by the railing). In the evening, you can sit on the white wood chairs outside and hear the live music over at Dajio. It has only what you need and not anymore - really simplifies your stay. I'm already planning how I can stay a week there next year!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havelock, North Carolina
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Had friends visiting from England so wanted to spend a couple days on the Outer Banks. This motel is nicely located near the ferry and places to eat. The motel will remind you of the early 60's with parking in front of your door. The rooms are basic but have cable tv. We liked sitting in the backyard over looking Silver Lake and having the lighthouse as a beacon late into the night.

Staff was very friendly would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, SC
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

My wife and I decided we wanted to go on a nostalgic little getaway for a few days. Leaving from Charleston, SC we drove up US 17 known as the Ocean Highway. Stopped at Little River SC for the night and took a casino boat for a diversion.
The next leg we continued up the coast of NC and took a 2 hour ferry boat over to the lower NC outer bank island of Orcacoke where we found this quaint little 7 room motor court. The room was typical 1950 - 60's and exceptionally clean and comfortable. It is located in the heart of the village and on Silver Lake. Silver Lake is really a small bay that goes out to the ocean where the southern ferry arrives.
A car is only needed if you want to explore the entire upper part of the island to see the horses or go on a day trip further up see the Wright Brothers area. Other than that the bicycles were perfect to explore all that Ocracoke village has to offer. We found great little shops on the back roads of the village. The lighthouse on one end and the museum on the other end of the village near the ferry boat landing were a treat. A wonderful restaurant right across the street from the motel became our favorite even though we enjoyed several other restaurants as well.

Sitting on the dock at midnight overlooking the boats with a bottle of wine and a fine cigar was the most relaxing hours for us. The ice-cream and coffee shops across the street were so friendly. This may well become one of our most memorable short trips that we will cherish forever. And yes, even though it is a throwback to the 60's they have WIFI.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the righthand side as you face the motel. The dock will be right behind the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cicero, Indiana
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

The Bluff Shoals Motel is nestled in the heart of the village of Ocracoke on silver lake directly across from Dajio Restaurant .We Rode the Swan Quarter ferry in then drove two blocks to the Bluff Shoals. Spent three days and never moved my car, never watched TV, never looked at a clock and room didn't have one. Drove two blocks and caught the Cedar Island Ferry out. Heaven---1965----Mayberry----- A STEP BACK IN TIME. Awesome! Great location and DAJIO is the best....just rent a bike and enjoy the village by day and at night eat at DAJIO'S then sit on the porch of Bluff Shoals and listen to the music.Relax.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

Great little Ocracoke motel. A wonderful old-timey place. Very friendly, comfortable, neat and super-clean. You can park directly outside your room, so it's easy to get to fishing, biking, or beach equipment in the truck. There's a small private dock off the backyard on Silver Lake. The view there is beautiful. There's a shaded front porch with ceiling fans and chairs outside the room, relax, or chat with neighbors. Great location, right in the center of town, just a short bike ride to anywhere. We had an excellent stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

Needed a place to stay on Ocracoke for one night at the end of April. Many of the other accomodations on the island would only accept a minimum reservation of 2 nights that time of year. The Bluff Shoal gladly accepted my one night stay request and it was a good find. The location is right on the main drag through the town convenient to the waterfront shops and restaurants. The owner was very friendly and said that our room was recently updated. We found the room to be very comfortable including the 2 double beds. Guests have access to a private rear yard right on Silver Lake where you can sit, relax and just enjoy the peacefulness that is Ocracoke Island. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bluff Shoal Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluff Shoal Motel

Address: 306 Irvin Garrish Highway, Ocracoke, NC
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Ocracoke
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Ocracoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Bluff Shoal Ocracoke

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bluff Shoal Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.