We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful old time experience. Excellent for what we expected.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bluff Shoal Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ocracoke
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bluff Shoal Motel
Save Saved
You added Bluff Shoal Motel to your Saves list
306 Irvin Garrish Highway, Ocracoke, NC   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Ocracoke
Charleston, SC
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A wonderful old time experience. Excellent for what we expected.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

My wife and I decided we wanted to go on a nostalgic little getaway for a few days. Leaving from Charleston, SC we drove up US 17 known as the Ocean Highway. Stopped at Little River SC for the night and took a casino boat for a diversion.
The next leg we continued up the coast of NC and took a 2 hour ferry boat over to the lower NC outer bank island of Orcacoke where we found this quaint little 7 room motor court. The room was typical 1950 - 60's and exceptionally clean and comfortable. It is located in the heart of the village and on Silver Lake. Silver Lake is really a small bay that goes out to the ocean where the southern ferry arrives.
A car is only needed if you want to explore the entire upper part of the island to see the horses or go on a day trip further up see the Wright Brothers area. Other than that the bicycles were perfect to explore all that Ocracoke village has to offer. We found great little shops on the back roads of the village. The lighthouse on one end and the museum on the other end of the village near the ferry boat landing were a treat. A wonderful restaurant right across the street from the motel became our favorite even though we enjoyed several other restaurants as well.

Sitting on the dock at midnight overlooking the boats with a bottle of wine and a fine cigar was the most relaxing hours for us. The ice-cream and coffee shops across the street were so friendly. This may well become one of our most memorable short trips that we will cherish forever. And yes, even though it is a throwback to the 60's they have WIFI.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the righthand side as you face the motel. The dock will be right behind the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    10
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
7
16
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cicero, Indiana
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

The Bluff Shoals Motel is nestled in the heart of the village of Ocracoke on silver lake directly across from Dajio Restaurant .We Rode the Swan Quarter ferry in then drove two blocks to the Bluff Shoals. Spent three days and never moved my car, never watched TV, never looked at a clock and room didn't have one. Drove two blocks and caught the Cedar Island Ferry out. Heaven---1965----Mayberry----- A STEP BACK IN TIME. Awesome! Great location and DAJIO is the best....just rent a bike and enjoy the village by day and at night eat at DAJIO'S then sit on the porch of Bluff Shoals and listen to the music.Relax.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

Great little Ocracoke motel. A wonderful old-timey place. Very friendly, comfortable, neat and super-clean. You can park directly outside your room, so it's easy to get to fishing, biking, or beach equipment in the truck. There's a small private dock off the backyard on Silver Lake. The view there is beautiful. There's a shaded front porch with ceiling fans and chairs outside the room, relax, or chat with neighbors. Great location, right in the center of town, just a short bike ride to anywhere. We had an excellent stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

Needed a place to stay on Ocracoke for one night at the end of April. Many of the other accomodations on the island would only accept a minimum reservation of 2 nights that time of year. The Bluff Shoal gladly accepted my one night stay request and it was a good find. The location is right on the main drag through the town convenient to the waterfront shops and restaurants. The owner was very friendly and said that our room was recently updated. We found the room to be very comfortable including the 2 double beds. Guests have access to a private rear yard right on Silver Lake where you can sit, relax and just enjoy the peacefulness that is Ocracoke Island. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

Nice little seven room motel in an ideal location in the center of town. The friendly motel is an older property but spotless, comfortable, and reasonably priced. It is open year around. Right across the street is the excellent Dajio restaurant. The motel is on the waterfront on the main street. Coffee available in the office from 6 am. There was a handy small fridge in my room. Your parking space is right in front of your room. Will stay here again based on location, cleanliness, friendliness, and value.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mooviemadness
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

This mom-n-pop property is conveniently located near restaurants and one of the general stores. It's a short drive away from the beach. There are seven rooms, with one assigned parking space per room, located right in front of the room. You can sit outside your room on the porch and people watch or just relax. There is also a yard in back of the property with some chairs where you can also sit and relax. On our 2nd night there, a couple of us sat outside and watched the sun set. There was a couple who were also outside, enjoying their dinner.

The customer service was friendly and efficient. Although the rooms don't have microwaves, we were able to use the microwave in the rental office, which stays open nightly until 9 pm. The one drawback was that because our room was the farthest away from the office, we had trouble using the wireless network.

Room Tip: Book early since they only have seven rooms available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haw River, North Carolina
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

The Bluff Shoal is clean and reasonably priced and has an absolute perfect location in the heart of Ocracoke. It offers easy access to wonderful restaurants and shops and offers a great view from the rear deck. The rooms were clean and although the hotel is definitely on the older side the property has been kept up and is in good condition. An added plus is reserved parking directly in front of your room.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bluff Shoal Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluff Shoal Motel

Address: 306 Irvin Garrish Highway, Ocracoke, NC
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Ocracoke
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Ocracoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Bluff Shoal Ocracoke

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bluff Shoal Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.