We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming view but a bit dumpy for the cost.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Anchorage Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ocracoke
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Anchorage Inn
Save
You added The Anchorage Inn to your Saves list
P.O. Box 880, Rte. 12, Ocracoke, NC 27960   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
CLICK HERE SAVE $10/NIGHT
Ranked #6 of 9 Ocracoke B&B and Inns
Raleigh, NC
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Charming view but a bit dumpy for the cost.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2009

The Anchorage has a great view from the balconies of the harbor and big sailboats docked right across the street where Austin Boat Tours is also. If you don't mind the drunks from the bar across the street stumbling in late at night and you are the heavy duty party type that's fine too I guess. But for being one of the most expensive places to stay we thought it was a bit dumpy. Some of the finish in the room looked like it had been done by some homeless guy. The bathroom door wouldn't actually close and the old, worn out fixtures haven't been replaced in years. Ours was an efficiency with the kitchen area tucked into what must have been a walk in closet with a really cheap, tiny coffee pot and bar stools we thought were actually funny for the space. One night here for the view and location might be fine, but you would be much better off somewhere less expensive as your base to explore Ocracoke and it's great beaches.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    36
    20
    7
    3
See reviews for
24
45
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2009

The location was great and we really enjoyed listening to the music right across the street on Saturday night. There is no private balcony and the furniture in the room was old, although everything was clean. The pool seemed to attract groups of drinkers, rather than children or those who wanted to exercise. Overall, an okay value, although very basic.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda,Md.
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2009

The Inn is right on the harbor (Silver Lake) .We had the top floor suite and had a terrific view over 180 degrees of the Lake ,town ,ferry landing and the Sound beyond .On one clear day we could even see Portsmouth Island ,and could make out the buildings in Portsmouth Village.
It had a private balcony ,and windows in the other directions.A full kitchen ,dining table,balcony ,lots of seating made up for the dark and gloomy bedroom(no window).
Staff was very friendly and helpful and we enjoyed chatting w/ them about the town and othet things.
The drawback - when we stayed there ,they had a fishing tournament going on ,so the place was full of young men ,hanging out and drinking.They parked their pick-ups wherever they wanted ,which resulted in our car being blocked in .The party was on the balconies of the Inn ,it's parking lot and the docks and bar across the street. The good thing was that since it was a fishing party ,it reached it's peak between 4 and 8 pm and was quiet by 10 pm.
I'd recommend the Inn ,but would suggest you check the local calendar of events before booking.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kill Devil Hills, NC
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2008

We were planning a last minute getaway, and The Achorage Hotel was the only place on the island that had an available room. The staff was friendly, and it was nice to see that they do allow pets on the 1st floor. Our room was on the 4th floor, had a king size bed, and was clean. The fixtures were dated, and it smelling a littolem musty, but it was fine. Great water pressure for a long, hot shower. The view of the lighthouse was amazing.

  • Liked — It's close to everything, but everything is!
  • Disliked — smell
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queens, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2007

My sister and I stayed at the Anchorage Inn and Marina from August 26 thru August 30,2007. our accomadations were in the middle of the 3rd floor with a great view of the water! The pool is directly across the road from the Inn and you feel like your right on the water. The views of the sunset from the balcony in front of your room and from the pool are great. The pool water is just cold enough and the chairs on the desk provide a place for you to just sit and relax and watch the sun go down. The pool is open until dark, but the guy whos in charge of closing the pool is very lenient.
One thing I have to say is that almost every time we came into the room after the cleaning lady had cleaned the room and made the beds it always had a bad (poop) smell, maybe she was cleaning with old wags and mop. The continental breakfast is served in the front office and consists of pre-wrapped, sara lee banana nut, blueberry muffins, coffee, tea, hot chocolate, microwaveable oatmeal and juice.
All in all the Anchorage Inn was a great place to stay and my sister and I will be bringing more of our family with us next time.

  • Liked — The pool
  • Disliked — the smell in the room after the 1st day
  • Stayed August 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2007

This hotel is fine if you are looking for basic accomodations. The room was clean, with a hair dryer and coffee pot in the room, but again, basic. There is a breezeway in front of the rooms with Adirondack chairs where you can watch the sunset across the street, over the marina. There is a small pool across the road as well. The location is just down the street from the ferry, fine in March, but perhaps too busy in high season. For a longer stay, or a vacation, I would look for something more comfortable. It was a bargin at $79 per night.
Our dinner at the Flying Melon was great.

  • Liked — Price and location
  • Disliked — Basic accomodations
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2006

I stayed at the Anchorage Inn with my family and we were a little concerned when we made the reservation. Their brochure and web site give very little information (which usually spells disaster), but after reading some of the good reviews here, we decided to go ahead and book it. We are so happy that we did! The location is perfect. It is right on the harbor in the village. The breezeway faces the southwest over the harbor and provides a great view of the harbor, the lighthouse and sunsets. We were in a fourth floor room at the center of the hotel and sat on the breezeway in the provided Adirondack chairs and watched the sun go down. It was perfect! The location is also towards the end RT 12 so there is not as much traffic as some of the other choices. The room was a good size. It is older, but very well maintained. The bed was comfortable, the air conditioning worked very well. The pool is across the street next to the harbor overlooking the marina and was very nice. The owners were VERY helpful at check-in. They recommended places to see and restaurants based on type of food and how much you want to spend. Most who have complained about this property do not understand Ocracoke's charm. The island is a last getaway for those of us who do not want the crowds and cookie cutter hotels that have sprung up all alongthe east coast. On Ocracoke, places are older, people are friendly, the pace is slower, and the scenery and ambiance are wonderful. We will be back again next year and will stay at the Anchorage Inn - only for a longer period of time.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Anchorage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anchorage Inn

Address: P.O. Box 880, Rte. 12, Ocracoke, NC 27960
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Ocracoke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Ocracoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 37
Also Known As:
The Anchorage Hotel Ocracoke

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Anchorage Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.