We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and Accommodating” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anchorage Marina

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Anchorage Marina
205 Irving Garrish Hwy 12, Ocracoke, NC 27960
(252) 928-6661
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 12 attractions in Ocracoke
Type: Marinas
Attraction Details
Richlands, North Carolina
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Friendly and Accommodating”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

As a female, I have not always found dock masters to be very friendly or cordial. This is not true of the dock master and his staff at the Anchorage Marina. I was recently in charge of coordinating a trip to Ocracoke for our yacht club. Bill Gilbert and his staff at the marina were extremely easy to work with. They return phone calls and emails speedily and respond to queries thoroughly.

During our visit, they kept our boats together on a single dock, brought over a gas grill from home for a cookout the group held while we were there, arranged a charter fishing expedition, dealt professionally with an accident that occurred to one of our boats when it was hit by another boat in a hit-and-run incident, and assisted with docking on our arrival and departure in a friendly, expert manner.

We wish Ocracoke were not so far for us to come or we would return every year.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    6
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kill Devil Hills, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice little locals place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We sat outside at the bar and listened to music and had a few beers in a great outdoor atmosphere. Music at 2:00 in the afternoon was a pleasant surprise. Beer prices were reasonable. Boats come in at 4:00 and unload their catch from the day. Make this a must stop if you're on the island.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeKalb, Illinois, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Room on the 3rd floor was very nice with a 'picture perfect' view of the harbor. Very helpful staff with local recommendations. Would definitely stay again on next outer banks trip.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden, North Carolina, United States
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Perfect Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed at the Anchorage Inn for three days and two nights. It was a perfect location for exploring the village of Ocracoke by foot and golf cart. Golf carts were available directly across from the Inn. We explored the village by golf cart, and then walked for the rest of our visit. The inn was clean, and the proprietor was friendly and efficient. We discovered a special offer on their website, and received a great rate when we mentioned it as we made the reservations. A repeat visit is definitely in our future.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wake forest NC
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Dock the boat and get a room.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Docked a 50' at the marina and had guests over that filled the bedrooms. Decided to stay at the Anchorage Inn. Very nice clean rooms and great staff. Used to van to go to dinner at Howards Pub. Had lunch at the marina restaurant (wonderful hamburgers). They also had a reggae band playing so we did a lot of dancing in a very tight space. Lots of fun.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anchorage Marina also viewed

 

Been to Anchorage Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anchorage Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Anchorage Marina to your Saves list