We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved This Place!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pam's Pelican Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ocracoke
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pam's Pelican Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Pam's Pelican Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
1021 Irvin Garrish Hwy, P.O. Box 1569, Ocracoke, NC 27960   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rent 6 nights, get 7th on
Ranked #1 of 9 Ocracoke B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Fruitland, Maryland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Loved This Place!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

I decided to take a trip with my boyfriend before the new school year started, and since I had never been to the Outer Banks before, we decided to come to Ocracoke. I found this bed and breakfast using TripAdvisor, and I must say I definitely was not disappointed. It was a quaint beautifully landscaped house off of the main highway. It was close to the offroad beach and only a short walk into the village. Our room was bright and very clean with its own bathroom. But the main attraction would have to be the owners themselves. Pam and Mike did everything they could to make us feel welcome. And it does not go without saying that the breakfast they both prepared were phenomenal!! It ranged from delicious sweet potato waffles to an amazing breakfast pizza prepared with vegetables from their own garden. I cannot say enough good things about this place. I loved my stay so much that I booked it again within the next two months. Two thumbs up!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pamspelican, Manager at Pam's Pelican Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 23, 2011
Wow! Thanks for your kind words. Guests like you make running a B&B fun! See 'ya in October!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    8
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
10
68
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jersey City, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

My husband and I chose Pam's Pelican Bed & Breakfast because of its quaint charm, inviting nature and location (away from all the noisy hotels and restaurants). Our room was very clean, had a comfortable bed and a porch overlooking the trumpet vines and the gazebo. One flight up, and you can enjoy the view from rooftop and look a the stars at night. The fake shark head mounted over our bed gave the room just the right amount of quirky. And the breakfast that Pam cooked was fabulous,-sweet potato pancakes, bacon, good coffee, and anything else you wanted. Grab a bicycle from the gazebo and you can bike to the beach, the lighthouse or town in minutes. Pam and her husband were very personable and knowledgeable about the island. We'll definitely come back for an extended stay.

Room Tip: Each room has a different theme, so view all rooms before choosing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pamspelican, Manager at Pam's Pelican Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 7, 2011
Thank you for the kind words...Come back and see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

We stayed there at the same time as the reviewer below and we loved the experience. Pam and Mike are fun, warm hosts and we thoroughly enjoyed our conversations with them and the other guests. We stayed in the Zen room which shared a balcony overlooking the front garden, and for us it was perfect, comfortable, and a relaxed atmosphere. We caution that it wouldn't be for everyone, there are minor things you wouldn't find in other places (like the ashtrays fulls of butts on the decks, or maybe breakfast arriving a little later than planned, or the room not being made-up or cleaned between nights). But we will definately go back because it was a very enjoyable experience with the hosts, our Zen room was perfect in every way, and I know that Pam and Mike are working extremely hard at making it A+.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pamspelican, Manager at Pam's Pelican Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 29, 2011
Hi. We are glad that you had a wonderful experience at Pam's Pelican Bed & Breakfast. This is our third year and we have had a great time meeting all the great people like you who have stayed with us. We apologize for the butts in the ashtrays. We are a mom and pop business with no other employees besides Pam & myself. Sometimes a minor detail slips by...but we strive to make our guests happy. In order to respect our guest's privacy...we do not make over a room each consecutive day that a guest stays unless requested. Just ask us and we'll be happy to oblige. Coffee is ready every day in the dining room at 7 am and a full home cooked breakfast is served at 8:30 am. Some days it might take a few more minutes to get everything out there but we pride ourselves on providing a "Sunday Breakfast Every Day". Thanks for the feedback. We will work harder to make it even better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

We had a great time at the Pelican. Thanks Pam and Mike for the wonderful getaway. The kind hospitality, breakfast, amenities and watching the sunset from the roof made for a great time. Free use of beach gear, coolers, and bikes was much appreciated. The location is great. It was nice to park the car and forget about it until it was time to leave. Biking and walking anywhere on the island was a breeze. Very much looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pamspelican, Manager at Pam's Pelican Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 22, 2011
You're very welcome....Thanks for choosing Pam's Pelican!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, IL
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

This was the first time that we had ever stayed at a B&B and we enjoyed it. Pam & Mike were very friendly and couldn't have been nicer or more helpful. Loved the beach like decor, nothing fancy or stuffy here. Only 4 rooms but we loved the size. It was clean, quiet and very relaxing. Pam & Mike did a great job with breakfast; sweet potato waffles one day and breakfast pizzas the next. Both served with fresh fruit, coffee, juice, bacon & sausage. Loved the roof top desk. We grabbed some drinks and made our way up the spiral stair case. Lovely night, stars out, music from across the way and no bugs. We used the bikes as well each day which was perfect. We did have to go next store to rent a larger bike for my husband the second day to save his knees. He rides alot but has a taller model so he can stretch out his knees when riding. They have available coolers, beach chairs and the cargo puller for the bikes (to haul all our stuff) which made for a great trip to the beach. We picked up sandwiches from the great deli/bakery which is right next door and were set. We had such a nice time. You cannot beat the price. Thanks so much Pam & Mike. We hope to visit again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pamspelican, Manager at Pam's Pelican Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 22, 2011
Glad that we could make your first B&B experience an enjoyable one. Come back and see us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

Great beach atmosphere without all the frills. The house shows its age and the decor makes the place feel like Margaritaville, but Pam was very friendly and the breakfast was *delicious*. Home-made sweet potato waffles... wow. Orcacoke is small, and Pam's is slightly outside the village - about a 5-10 minute walk. We opted to walk instead of bike since the bikes were in very poor repair - missing grips, rusted, torn seats - not what we were expecting.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pamspelican, Manager at Pam's Pelican Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, June 27, 2011
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay but sorry that you were disappointed with our bikes. Living at the beach is great, but unfortunately, the coastal weather does take a toll on our bikes. Sometimes, a few bikes need to be taken out of rotation for repair...but we strive to have at least two working bikes available for each room. Thank you for your feedback. We are working extra hard to upgrade the fleet!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Pam's in the Sun Daze room for two nights in the summer. You can not find a better deal on the island! It is by no means a frilly-hoity-toity kind of place that you are afraid to breathe in. The house is decorated in bright, welcoming colors and is very comfortable and relaxed.
Our stay inclucded wonderfuly homecooked breakfasts each morning, coolers, beach chairs and our favorite: bicycles for getting around the village.
Pam and Mike are wonderful hosts and it's obvious they love what they do. We came home wanting to buy a B&B of our own so we could enjoy what we do too!
We also really enjoyed sitting on the top sky deck in the evening and morning with a cup of coffee listening to the sounds of Ocracoke village.
It's located perfectly just as you are getting into the village, so you are convenient to the beach or restaurants and shops. When we got there the first day we parked our car and didn't move it until it was time to leave. We rode the complimentary bicycles to all of the Island attarctions, including the beach.
We chose one of the smaller rooms in order to keep our costs down, and it was a bit snug but no more than some hotels I've stayed at and it didn't put a damper on anything. When you're on ocracoke you really don't want to be indoors much anyways =)
We would definitely stay here and recomend Pam's to anyone looking for a great stay on Ocracoke!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pamspelican, Manager at Pam's Pelican Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, June 27, 2011
Thanks for the kind words!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pam's Pelican Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pam's Pelican Bed & Breakfast

Address: 1021 Irvin Garrish Hwy, P.O. Box 1569, Ocracoke, NC 27960
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Ocracoke
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Ocracoke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
People friendly......Pet friendlyFree pickup from airport or marinaHome cooked sunday breakfast every morningFree guest use of bikes,grills,coolers,and beach chairsPrivate baths,heat/ac,mini-fridge,microwave,and coffee maker in every roomSatellite TV HBO/SHOWTIME and WIFIIce machine,drink machine and snack machine inside. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pam's Pelican Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.