We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW!!! Awesome all around!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dajio

Dajio
305 Irvin Garrish Highway, Ocracoke, NC 27960
(252) 928-7119
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 29 Restaurants in Ocracoke
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dahlonega, Georgia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“WOW!!! Awesome all around!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

My wife and I spent our 2nd anniversary dinner dining out on the pattio after watching the sun go down over Ocracoke in the lovely restaurant. We were already on cloud 9 but this place was the icing on the cake. Wonderful friendly service with a smile and absolutely amazing food. My wife had the tempura fried red drum and I had the Shrimp / Scallop pesto pasta and like always we split our plates between each other. Wow!!! We couldn't decide which one was better. One of the best all around dinners I've ever had. Great bottle beer selection on the island. AWESOME!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    281
    134
    43
    20
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
grosse pointe park mi
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Don't Just Walk On By....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We were walking around Ocracoke for the first time, and stopped to read the menu which was posted outside of Dajio. The hostess came right outside to greet us and asked us if we'd like to eat inside or out. We chose inside, and were surprised at the lovely atmosphere. The rest of my family had seafood of one sort or another, but I opted for a chicken sandwhich. We were all very pleased with the delicious food, and the pleasant waitress. I tried the clam chowder, as the menu suggested, and was amazed at the flavor. It was the best clam chowder I've ever had, and very different from the norm. I wish I could get back there to try the breakfasts, but it's over 1000 miles by car and then a ferry ride, so I guess I'll have to wait until next summer....

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Our VERY FAVORITE Place to Eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Every summer, when we return to Ocracoke, we look forward to eating at DAJIO's. This summer was no exception!!! The addition of the wood-fired Pizza was particularly great for a late night treat! There is nothing that we haven't found that isn't tasty and a bit different, which makes it fun to try. It is obvious that ALOT of thought and care goes into each dish, whether it is on the regular menu or a "special" for the day. Breakfasts at Dajio's are an awesome way to start the day (the Crème-brule French Toast and omelets are fantastic), and based on the size of the portions, often negates the need for lunch! But, stopping by between 3 and 5 PM for the Shrimp Hour is a must for at least one day. Dinners are our favorite and we really enjoy dining inside where we have always been warmly greeted and served by an attentive server. The evening music entertainment in the bar after dinner makes for a good stopping off spot before turning in for the night. DAJIO's is definitely more than a "cut above" all the other restaurants on the island!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Really good dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

A nice change from the t-shirt and flip flop restaurants on the island. Crab cakes were very good. My husband loved the chef's take on clam chowder. We'd certainly recommend his place.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Ocracoke!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

First ate at Dajio's two years ago while on a day trip to Ocracoke. Remembered the wonderful atmosphere and delicious food, so returned last week while staying on the island for a week's vacation. Dajio's did not disappoint...just as wonderful as we remembered. Food outrageously delicious, and waitress was very helpful in choosing the wine that would compliment our meal. Will definitely make Dajio's a yearly tradition!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dajio also viewed

Ocracoke, Outer Banks
Ocracoke, Outer Banks
 

Been to Dajio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dajio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.