We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best restaurant in Ocracoke!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dajio

Dajio
305 Irvin Garrish Highway, Ocracoke, NC 27960
(252) 928-7119
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 29 Restaurants in Ocracoke
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Reading, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Ocracoke!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

First ate at Dajio's two years ago while on a day trip to Ocracoke. Remembered the wonderful atmosphere and delicious food, so returned last week while staying on the island for a week's vacation. Dajio's did not disappoint...just as wonderful as we remembered. Food outrageously delicious, and waitress was very helpful in choosing the wine that would compliment our meal. Will definitely make Dajio's a yearly tradition!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    281
    134
    43
    20
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
NC
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“food poisoing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

EWWW....over priced and not at all what the reviews explained. WE got food poisoning from the sea food mac and cheese and the services are very small and over priced. They sat us next to the loud kitchen and we actually saw ALOT of food being sent back uneaten. Will not be going back. The menu describes food they don't serve...this was a very disappointing stop.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“Don't have it your way here!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

I ordered cheese grits and they arrived soupy and watery. When I complained, the staff told us that a lot of people complain about this but the chef "knows what he is doing." Southerners (like me) know grits--apparently the chef does not! I would not recommend Dajios.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kreskin2207
Top Contributor
243 reviews 243 reviews
192 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Good, but not great lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

I don't make it to Ocracoke often, but when I do I almost exclusively eat at Howard's Pub. Looking to mix things up a bit on this day-trip from Nags Head, my wife & I stopped at Dajio for lunch. We sat out on the patio and were taken pretty good care of by the waitress. My wife had a shrimp salad sandwich which was very good, but had a large amount of bread. She opted to eat it sans the bun and it was light and refreshing. I opted for the fresh local fish sandwich which was a good standard fish sandwich. The cole slaw both of us got was very bland and wasn't my favorite, also seemed it was leftover as it was just slightly brown.

All in all it was fine although a bit pricey. Nothing was really bad, I just kept thinking that I could have been having a crabcake sandwich at Howard's Pub the entire time....

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We went in for breakfast and were seated immediately. Our waitress was great, very knowledgeable and friendly when answering our questions about the island. The seafood omelet was incredible. My husband had the shrimp and grits and said it was also excellent. There was plenty of kid-friendly food, too. Ours had egg sandwiches and French toast. The house potatoes were so good too.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dajio also viewed

Ocracoke, Outer Banks
Ocracoke, Outer Banks
 

Been to Dajio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dajio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.