We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shady table in the brick courtyard” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dajio

Dajio
305 Irvin Garrish Highway, Ocracoke, NC 27960
(252) 928-7119
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 29 Restaurants in Ocracoke
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
West Orange, New Jersey
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Shady table in the brick courtyard”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

The shady table at Dajio provided a delightful spot to linger over lunch. I enjoyed a very fresh local fish sandwich and tried hard to resist the crisp, fresh-from-the-fryer homemade potato chips. The cole slaw was unique, not a mayonnaise sodden mess, but rather a crunchy combination of cabbage with some bits of seaweed. Even the tartar sauce was special!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    281
    134
    43
    20
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Missouri
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Nice atmosphere, friendly, good food! Very local like restaurant! Walking distance to almost any place you stay over there.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Best on the Island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

This was hands down our favorite restaurant during our 2-day stay. We had lunch on the quaint patio. Good service and great food.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“A nice burger served in a hideaway garden”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

This is a lovely restaurant with a nice patio. I sat near a brick wall covered with fragrant honeysuckle. Had a burger and coke...it was a generous burger that was juicy and well-cooked. My husband got fish that was fancily prepared, and his meal was fine. I would recommend the simpler fare, though.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We went to Dajio both for the late night and for breakfast and both were very enjoyable. Kindof on the pricey side but on par for most places on Ocracoke. Really good food and the atmosphere for late night was nice a relaxed with some live music. Sat out on the patio for breakfast and really had a nice time. A great choice on the island.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dajio also viewed

Ocracoke, Outer Banks
Ocracoke, Outer Banks
 

Been to Dajio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dajio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.