We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick, cheap thing to do.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Teach's Hole Blackbeard Exhibit

Teach's Hole Blackbeard Exhibit
935 Irvin Garrish Highway, Ocracoke, NC 27960
252 928 1718
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 23 things to do in Ocracoke
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Teach's Hole Blackbeard Exhibit is a unique attraction devoted to all things "piratical." Since 1992, the exhibit and its pirate specialty shop have been a favorite destination for families visiting Ocracoke Island. The exhibit features a life-like recreation of Blackbeard, a weapons display, old bottles, original art, a pirate flag display, ship models, and interactive activities. As visitors leave the exhibit, they enter a one of a kind pirate specialty shop. Kids of all ages will enjoy Teach’s Hole!
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Quick, cheap thing to do.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Stopped by the Blackbeard exhibit for something quick and cheap to do while on the island, it was informative, but nothing too exciting. Kids would definitely enjoy the gift shop.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    24
    24
    7
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
SF
Top Contributor
201 reviews 201 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Quick stop.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stopped here as it was a very rainy day during our visit to the island. The price seemed fair to us. The museum was good but best enjoyed by kids who like to read, there is a lot for them to read here. The artifacts are good but few. the shop in front, where most of the people spend more time has a great collection of touristy stuff. A great stop for kids 9-13 who are very into pirates.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Fun and Informative!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

I wasn't sure what to expect from this exhibit when I entered. However, I was pleasantly surprised by how much I enjoyed it. There were many informative descriptions to read and interesting displays to view. I would recommend it to all "pirates" who visit Ocracoke. It can be enjoyed by all ages!!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, North Carolina
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
55 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
“Teach's Hole Blackbeard Exhibit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Its a Blackbeard exhibit, what's not to love. This is one of our favorite spots in Ocracoke. Start by sticking your head in Blackbeards "face" and take your picture. Inside are exhibits and souvenirs. On the small island of Ocracoke, this is a spot you do not want to miss. Reasonably priced trinkets inside.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hico, WV
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fun exhibit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

It was very small but the exhibits were interesting and informative. We enjoyed reading about Blackbeard. It has a small gift shop too.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Teach's Hole Blackbeard Exhibit also viewed

 
Ocracoke, Outer Banks
Ocracoke, Outer Banks
 

Been to Teach's Hole Blackbeard Exhibit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Teach's Hole Blackbeard Exhibit, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.