We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this cozy resort!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Winds Resort Beach Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Winds Resort Beach Club to your Saves list
The Winds Resort Beach Club
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   310 E 1st Street, Ocean Isle Beach, NC 28469   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Cornelius, North Carolina, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Love this cozy resort!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Love staying at The Winds, not the typical beach resort. You get the feeling that you are part of the family upon arrival. The Tiki bar poolside serves the best wraps and sandwiches. Don't miss the yummy drinks too. The hot full breakfast is great. The rooms could use a little updating, but love the boardwalk balconies. What I love the most is the landscaping, really gives The Winds the feeling that you are staying at a well loved vintage resort!

Room Tip: They have many different types of rooms. I check the web site before calling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarketingMan310, Director of Marketing at The Winds Resort Beach Club, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your travel experience with us and with others. We love your description that "you get the feeling that you are part of the family upon arrival," because that is so true. So many of our guests that come stay with us do become part of our extended family! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to having you back to stay with us again soon!

Warmest Regards,
Gary Pope
Director Of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    87
    37
    17
    22
See reviews for
168
156
8
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

My wife does not like to go to the same vacation spot twice. We've been to the Winds 4 times in five years. I guess you could say we like it! She also did not want me to write this review. She wants to keep the Winds "our little secret". Well, the secret is out. We got an ocean front one bedroom suite and really enjoyed our stay. From the friendly and helpful staff at the front desk (with a nod to Gary), to Kim and Lorna at the pool bar, to the maintenance staff, everyone made our stay enjoyable. Rooms include a great buffet breakfast, not continental, a real breakfast. There is an ocean side pool, and another across the street, and an indoor pool for inclement days. The resort is set in a residential area, so it is quiet. Hey, you want noise? You're just a 30 minute drive to the noisy, touristy Myrtle Beach. I could go on, but many reviewers have already covered most of what I would say. We will be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarketingMan310, Director of Marketing at The Winds Resort Beach Club, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your travel experience with us and with others and thank you for sharing your little secret! We appreciate all the kind comments about our staff and the high remarks you gave about our property and all of our amenities. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope you'll be back for a fifth visit soon!

Warmest Regards,
Gary Pope
Director Of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I spent the weekend there with my husband. We were celebrating our one year anniversary- we were married at the winds last year. My only complaint was that we couldn't book the trip on that particular weekend, but thanks to the oyster fest that wasn't going to happen. The room was great, and the trip was amazing!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarketingMan310, Director of Marketing at The Winds Resort Beach Club, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your travel experience with us and with others. We are sorry you weren't able to book for the weekend of your actual anniversary but the Oyster Festival does book up far in advance. We are glad you still decided to come celebrate with us and we are so happy you had a great time. If you wanted to come next year, you can book now with one night's deposit and cancel up to the day of arrival before 4pm. Congratulations on your anniversary and we hope to see you again next year!

Warmest Regards,
Gary Pope
Director Of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lumberton, North Carolina
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed 2 nights - great location. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The breakfast buffet was good. The beach was not crowded. The pool and tiki bar were great. Hot tubs not working but it was warm outside so we didn't need it. We will be back!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarketingMan310, Director of Marketing at The Winds Resort Beach Club, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your travel experience with us and with others. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are glad you got to enjoy the beaches at a time when they weren't too crowded, fall can be a great time to visit! We hope to have you back again soon!

Warmest Regards,
Gary Pope
Director Of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clemmons, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We were there for a overnight stay Oct 5-6. The room was great, and the staff was very pleasent. This is a excellent place to relax and just enjoy the beach. The only thing we didn't care for was the loud air conditioning systems. Their buffet breakfast is awesome. It was well worth the money. We arrived about noon and enjoyed the grounds until our room was ready. WE WILL BE BACK.

Room Tip: Its worth the $ to have a ocean front room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarketingMan310, Director of Marketing at The Winds Resort Beach Club, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your travel experience with us and with others. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your weekend getaway! Thank you for your kind comments about our staff and our breakfast buffet. We are happy you were able to have a relaxing weekend and we hope to have you back soon!

Warmest Regards,
Gary Pope
Director Of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe NC
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Was there last week of Sept 2013. Nice location and room layout but extravagantly high prices and roaches. I won't be back. Stayed at The Winds several years ago and it was great but it has gone downhill substantially.

Room Tip: Try Ocean Isle Inn instead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarketingMan310, Director of Marketing at The Winds Resort Beach Club, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your travel experience with us and with others. We appreciate your comments about our rooms and the location of our resort. We hope to have you back to Ocean Isle Beach again soon!

Warmest Regards,
Gary Pope
Director Of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic City, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

excellent...The entire staff made our stay very clean,comfortable,and relaxing.Gary was very helpful in our reservation,I explained my wife's disability and Gary was able to get us a room near the resorts amenities.Kim's service at the thirsty tiki was outstanding.Robin ensured our room and linens were clean daily,and Denise and entire kitchen service was great.We will be back next season

Room Tip: many options,talk with resorts reservations team
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarketingMan310, Director of Marketing at The Winds Resort Beach Club, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your travel experience with us and with others. We appreciate all of your kind comments about our staff and we are so glad that they were able to help you find the perfect accommodations! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to having you back to stay with us again soon!

Warmest Regards,
Gary Pope
Director Of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Winds Resort Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Winds Resort Beach Club

Address: 310 E 1st Street, Ocean Isle Beach, NC 28469
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Ocean Isle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ocean Isle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Winds Resort Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A tropical island escape… closer than you think! An small, intimate island resort. Ideal for vacations, romantic getaways, weddings, honeymoons, reunions, golf excursions or small meetings. Located in the Northernmost subtropical region on the east coast. The Winds is set oceanfront surrounded by palms, banana trees and hibiscus flowers. Oceanfront rooms, suites and Resort Cottages. Three pools (one indoor), hot Southern breakfast buffet, oceanfront, poolside TikiBar/Restaurant (and more). Golf on over 90 Myrtle Beach area courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Winds Resort Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Winds Resort Beach Club Hotel Ocean Isle Beach
The Winds Hotel Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Winds Resort Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.