We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Winds Resort Beach Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Winds Resort Beach Club to your Saves list
The Winds Resort Beach Club
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   310 E 1st Street, Ocean Isle Beach, NC 28469   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Davidson, North Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Relaxing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Celebrated our 41st. wedding anniversary there. Room was very clean, but dated. The entire place could use a remodel. Nice pool overlooking the ocean. Good breakfast included every morning. Wouldn't go back because of the area. Wanted an upscale restaurant to celebrate "the day". Not to be found. All and all, it was OK. We love the ocean and will put up with a lot to be near it.

Room Tip: Water front only, but away from the pool and Tiki bar. Too noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarketingMan310, Director of Marketing at The Winds Resort Beach Club, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your travel experience with us and with others. We are sorry you didn't find Ocean Isle to be a more pleasant vacation locale, it is a more laid-back area with a casual feel. There are several upscale dining options in nearby Myrtle Beach and also in Wilmington, but Ocean Isle itself tries to remain less-commercialized. We are happy you enjoyed the beach, the oceanfront pool and the free breakfast while you were here. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and congratulations on your anniversary!

Warmest Regards,
Gary Pope
Director Of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    92
    39
    17
    22
See reviews for
173
164
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Ok here it go, The Wind Resort is not a Ritz or a Four seasons but it is a home away from home. Got lost getting there, but when I arrived the staff knew me right off, very pleasant welcome felt welcome right off the bat. The room was kind of tight for three kids and three Adults plus a dog that was my fault trying to save money lol. I spoke to the staff at check out about one issue with the room he said we will get right on it, so I wont mention that. Ok the set up was breakfast on the first day fried Apples was on the buffet after that the apples took a vacation too, they were good what a set up. The rest of the week no apples but every thing else was great trust me the food was good. Tiki Stop by the pool (what goes on in NC stays in NC) Get a bike ride around cool. To the Wind Staff thanks from the house keeping to the trash collector thanks for all your conversation and help.

Room Tip: Dont go cheap nice rooms I did stick my head in some others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarketingMan310, Director of Marketing at The Winds Resort Beach Club, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your travel experience with us and with others. You are so right, we aren't a luxury 5 star resort, but a nice place for people who love the beach! And thank you for your kind comments about our housekeeping staff and breakfast buffet. We hope to have you back to stay with us again soon!

Warmest Regards,
Gary Pope
Director Of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

If you are looking to stay at a place where you will be able to relax and enjoy the comforts of home, The Winds is your place. Our oceanfront suite (I call it an apartment because that's what it feels like, a cozy apartment) was wonderful. From the moment get to your room (with the island colored rocking chairs greeting you), you will feel at home. Four adults shared the two bedroom suite and it was more than roomy enough for all of us. There's a dishwasher, microwave and full sized fridge for convenience. Plenty of closet space and drawer space. The view was amazing. Full private access to the beach and viola! There you are walking on the beach enjoying the warm Atlantic! We didn't have any beach chair issues as they are taken care of by the front desk. We informed them at time of making the reservation we would need chairs and umbrellas and they were out there every day, except for the first day when there was a glitch. No biggie, we just used the chairs of someone who had already checked out.

It was pretty humid when we were there (the 17th-22), but the dehumidifier in the room and the three AC's kept us comfortable.

The complimentary breakfast buffet is good. Everything I needed to get started-eggs, bacon, sausage, biscuits, sausage gravy, grits, an assortment of breads, bagels, English muffins, fruit and make your own Belgian waffles. There's also instant oatmeal, and small boxes of cold cereals to choose from. Coffee and tea too! Really nice.

The pool and pool area is clean and the Tiki bar makes some pretty good drinks. If they have it try the Key lime pie margarita and the lemonade colada. Both come without alcohol as well for those that don't drink. The banana colada was tops too.

I really can't say enough good things about The Winds. I've stayed in many different types of hotels and motels over the course of the years and they all have their time and place on a vacation. This was our "relax and enjoy your time here" vacation. Those we were traveling with have stayed at the Winds many, many times and have been going to Ocean Isle Beach for years. This was our first time and I doubt it will be our last. It is a beautiful community and a beautiful part of North Carolina and I can't wait until we can go back again and stay at The Winds. Thanks Winds for being part of a great vacation!!

Room Tip: Ask for ocean FRONT not ocean view. Front means on the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarketingMan310, Director of Marketing at The Winds Resort Beach Club, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you so very much for taking the time to share your travel experience with us and with others. Wow! What can we say other than thank you for the great review, we appreciate all of your kind comments about everything from the rooms, to the free breakfast, to the Tiki Bar! We are so happy your first time here both at The Winds and at Ocean Isle was such a great vacation! We hope that you'll be back for many more!

Warmest Regards,
Gary Pope
Director Of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voorhees, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Great mom and pop hotel. Rooms pretty good, views great. Very relaxing. The resort does give you a great tropical island feel. Lots of cute little touches. Breakfast was an added bonus, Plenty of good food to go round. Only problem with breakfast is coffee was a little weak. Just don't trust the big hairy beach chair guy they recommeend bring your own. He ripped me off, never again,

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarketingMan310, Director of Marketing at The Winds Resort Beach Club, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your travel experience with us and with others. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to enjoy the tropical island feel! We regret that you had a problem with beach chair rentals. We do encourage all of our guests to book their chair and other rentals through the front desk to avoid confusion and to ensure that our customers get great service and always get what they pay for. We will bring this incident to the rental company's attention, we do not want their policies to affect our guests in any way or reflect badly on us. Please accept our sincerest apologies and we hope to have you back to stay with us again soon!

Warmest Regards,
Gary Pope
Director Of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Our room had an AMAZING ocean front view. hotel has incredible beach access and service at the tiki bar is amazing. food is great too! Rob the bartender is the man.. Tell him Dan and Robyn sent you! He gives great service and makes you feel at home. We will def be back next year!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarketingMan310, Director of Marketing at The Winds Resort Beach Club, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you so very much for taking the time to share your travel experience with us and with others. Also thank you for your kind comments about our beach and our Tiki bar, we will make sure we say hello to Rob for you! We look forward to having you back again next year!

Warmest Regards,
Gary Pope
Director Of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We've always had a rental house when going to the beach so we weren't sure what to expect from the Winds. We were pleasantly surprised -- the resort was built in the late 60's/early 70's, so the layout and decor were somewhat dated, but the room was very, very clean and had some nice, unexpected touches: wine glasses and corkscrew in the mini-kitchen (which also had a toaster in addition to the fridge, microwave and coffee maker); make-up remover towelettes in the bathroom. Despite the fact that all beach places in NC take an annual beating from hurricanes, nor'easters, heat and humidity, the Winds was well kept and had nice subtropical plantings around its buildings, especially on the beach side. The beach itself was wide, with soft white sand, and there was a nicely built stair/walkway over the dunes so you don't have to slog through the sand. The free hot breakfast was better than we expected. There were two drawbacks: the entire resort has only a single ice machine (on the beach side), so if you're across the street it's a bit of a trek for ice; and it would be nice if the rooms' balconies were a bit bigger. But we would definitely consider going there again.

Room Tip: I wouldn't pay the extra money for oceanside or oceanview in this case -- you're at the beac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarketingMan310, Director of Marketing at The Winds Resort Beach Club, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you so very much for taking the time to share your travel experience with us and with others. We are happy that your stay with us was a pleasant surprise, we try to make each guest feel as if they are staying in their own beach house with as many amenities as we can provide. We take great pride in the upkeep of our resort especially the gardens and outdoor spaces, as they do experience weather damage each year. We so elated to hear your kind comments about our property and we hope to have you back again soon!

Warmest Regards,
Gary Pope
Director Of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clemmons, North Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

The rooms are old and outdated but clean very humid could not regulate the A\C. The staff needs training. The grounds also need updating our hammock was missing the volleyball net at our pool was torn, two of the swings at our playground were missing, the vending machine at the oceanfront pool was broken during our entire 4 day stay. The breakfast was filing for the children but bland, the dining room small and again very outdated. Not worth the money, refrigerator went out didn't get compensated for their error and they are not taking accountability. What does that say?

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarketingMan310, Director of Marketing at The Winds Resort Beach Club, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your travel experience with us and with others. We do regret the incident with your refrigerator, but due to an island wide power outage combined with a low setting on the refrigerator there was some water leakage on your floor. We did compensate you a $50 credit for the loss of your food. As for the complaints about our facilities, the rooms do not come with individual hammocks and the volleyball net was not torn, but simply rolled up each day so that guests could enjoy the full use of the pool. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us more, we hope a few small incidents will not tarnish your impression of Ocean Isle Beach.

Warmest Regards,
Gary Pope
Director Of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Winds Resort Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Winds Resort Beach Club

Address: 310 E 1st Street, Ocean Isle Beach, NC 28469
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Ocean Isle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ocean Isle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Winds Resort Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A tropical island escape... Closer than you think! A small, intimate island resort. Ideal for vacations, romantic getaways, weddings, honeymoons, reunions, golf excursions or small meetings. Located in the Northernmost subtropical region on the east coast. The Winds is set oceanfront surrounded by palms, banana trees and hibiscus flowers. Oceanfront rooms, suites and Resort Cottages. Three pools (one indoor), hot Southern breakfast buffet, oceanfront, poolside TikiBar/Restaurant (and more). Golf on over 90 area courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your The Winds Resort Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Winds Resort Beach Club Hotel Ocean Isle Beach
The Winds Hotel Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Winds Resort Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.